We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Ranked #77 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Bateau Bay
1 review
“Friendly”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We are always made welcome each time we stay at Phillip Street. Excellent location close to Circular Key, Opera House, Gardens and of course the shops. We always enjoy staying at the hotel as it is not expensive



  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    743
    284
    87
    41
See reviews for
254
525
177
341
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lithgow, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stayed back in March of this year. I was on the 7th floor on the Elizabeth street side and I have to say the experience was a very pleasant one. Being in between Pitt street mall and Martin Place is a massive plus for this hotel and city hall and the QVB are just around the corner. Very clean.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Good hotel. Not to far from the Harbour bridge and the Opera house, but far for children. Clean and the staff is nice. No free parking, no free wifi and no free breakfast so the price for one night is a little bit high (200$). But overall, it's a good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama
1 review
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great location walking distance to the rocks and darling harbour. Room simple but clean. Helpful staff, able to full fill all requests. Parking close by. Snacks and meals available in the leagues club area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Lee M,
The team at Travelodge Phillip Street are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coombabah, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

If you want a fancy posh trendy hotel, this isn't for you. If you're in Sydney to see the sights, this is perfect. Excellent location and easy to find. 10 minute walk to Darling harbour, 10 minute walk to the opera house. The room is basic, but has everything you need. beds are comfy, showers fine, fridge and tv. The staff on reception are also very friendly and helpful. We requested a bassonet for our daughter and this was no problem at all. Theres even a small bottle shop on sight and plenty of restaurants within 5 minutes.

Perfect for a cheap and good value weekend of sightseeing.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Michael W,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our fantastic location. We look forward to welcoming you back if you visit Sydney again.
Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here over the long weekend and found the location to be perfect - central to everything with plenty of cabs going by. The room was clean and of good size (studio). A couple of things though; the windows do not open, the fridge is ridiculously loud (we turned it off over night) and the pillows are extremely hard. I also was not advised there was a buffet breakfast downstairs in the Bistro as we werent provided with a folder of local eateries etc so we relied on google alot. Other than these minor items it was a very pleasant stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank NatalieMc555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear NatalieMc555,
We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. I have addressed your concerns regarding the fridge with the Maintenance Department and taken appropriate measures to audit all of our fridges to ensure they are functioning correctly. We are always striving to improve our hotel product and our service and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed here for one night. Older style looking Travelodge. Close to Pitt St Mall and Martin Place. Room was basic and modern. Bathroom small and a little outdated, but clean. Bed was comfy, with soft pillows. Good for $150 a night. Microwave in room. I made a cup of tea using the kettle supplied. Don't know whether it was the old kettle, but my cup of tea tasted disgusting!! Maybe it was the supplied milk? The air cond if left on during the night is noisy. I could hear street noise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Travelpmrm,
I would like to thank you providing feedback about your recent stay and I was disappointed to hear aspects of your stay that were not up to standard. You have flagged some valuable points that I will be addressing with the team in order to improve guest experience with us. We are always striving to improve our hotel product and our service and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.
Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 174 in Sydney
4,578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 174 in Sydney
627 reviews
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#69 of 174 in Sydney
2,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Address: 165 Phillip Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place is in the heart of the city’s CBD, close to Hyde Park and many of Sydney’s major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Toga Hotels, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Sydney Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing