We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelodge Phillip Street Hotel get our vote”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Ranked #107 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Writing this review Tuesday 22nd July after spending a long weekend in Sydney at the Travelodge Phillip Street Hotel . I have read many reviews of the place, and following our very recent visit, I would highly recommend it. The staff are warm, friendly, and helpful. We have nothing but praise for them. Out room was spacious enough, until we unfolded the foldout bed for our grand daughter, but that really was little to complain about, as we were only there to sleep.
Facilities were good. Kitchenette with fridge, (Tea towel, and dishcloth changed daily) microwave electric jug, clothes iron, Bathroom spacious, towels would be changed daily if you wanted.
My only gripe was with regard to WiFi. Free downstairs in the lobby, but get ready for it............... $11.00 per hour in your rooms. We have stayed in hotels throughout Italy, Japan, Vietnam, Singapore, where residents don't pay for WiFi. $11.00 per hour? COME ON!!
The Travelodge Phillip Street Hotel is in a great location.
Oh yes, to those who wrote about the lifts. Sh't does happen from time to time that is beyond human control, so get over it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pbroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear pbroboy,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Travelodge Phillip Street recently and for taking the time to post your feedback. The comments you made regarding your stay with us are most appreciated. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from guests who have enjoyed their stay here at the Travelodge. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,899)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,421 - 1,427 of 1,899 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

Clean and modern room with enough space for luggage to be out of the way; microwave, kettle, iron+ board, TV all provided. Bathroom was spacious, shower had very good water pressure. Bed was a bit too hard. Took a while for the air con to heat up the room on a chilly night. Desk staff were pleasant .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mando185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Mando185,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our fantastic location. We look forward to welcoming you back if you visit Sydney again.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Internet was not free, but slow. The hotel was rather a business level hotel, and I expect a free Internet service. Access to the public transportation system is the best advantage you can enjoy from starting this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Julian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Julian K,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking the time to provide us with your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Thanks for the wonderful service. I had an eye surgery appointment and found the front office staff to be very supportive and understanding. I have to visit again for a follow up visit and will be staying again at the Travelodge. On top of this the location was wonderful and within easy access to all facilities.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Nikhil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Nikhil S,

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Phillip Street for another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Travelodge Phillip Street is an affordable and an excellent central location within the Sydney CBD. 10 minute walk to Circular Quay, and 100m from Martin Place. The room itself was very comfortable, had a small kitchenette with fridge/microwave/sink so that small meals could be prepared yourself. The bed was very comfortable and the room also had a sofa (that could be folded out) and a small table and chairs. The television facilities were also very good, with Sky Sports (for the blokes) and the normal free to air channels as well. The bathroom was also very spacious, everything worked as it should. The room had blackout blinds which were very helpful when you're getting over a bit of jet lag.

Overall a great experience, I would recommend this hotel to anyone, staff were very friendly and I will visit on my next visit to Sydney.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matt W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Matt W,

Thank you for your kind review. I am pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us, in particular our central location. I am also glad you had the chance to experience our many hotel facilities; please rest assured I will pass your lovely comments onto the Team. We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Phillip Street for another enjoyable stay.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Thank you Travelodge for outstanding service. The front desk staff were incredibly kind and helpful after an eye surgery appointment. They went out of their way to make me feel comfortable, safe and welcome.
The location is fantastic, rooms are modern with everything you need and great views.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Melster27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Melster27,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind comments about the service you received. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Comfortable and sizeable rooms with a great location. Had no problems! If you just want a nice place to stay for an affordable price, definitely recommend. Bathroom could use a bit of an update, but I've been told they are upgrading rooms soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 225Tara_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgePhillip, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear 225Tara_O

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our fantastic location. We are always striving to improve our hotel product and as you have mentioned we have several exciting room improvements scheduled in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back if you visit Sydney again.

Kind Regards
Francis DiMattina
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#108 of 186 in Sydney
5,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#70 of 186 in Sydney
340 reviews
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#139 of 186 in Sydney
2,360 reviews
Central Business District
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
#106 of 186 in Sydney
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place

Address: Nsw Leagues Club 165 Phillip St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £92 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place is in the heart of the city’s CBD, close to Hyde Park and many of Sydney’s major attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge
Sydney Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing