We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy, reasonable and friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Ranked #99 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
auckland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Handy, reasonable and friendly”
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Had 2 nights at the Wentworth st travelodge with hubby. It's a basic hotel but Nice and handy (10 min walk to town) room clean and quite spacious given price. Really quick service when we rang to say hair dryer not working (actually it was I had just not pushed right button...). Fan not working in bathroom so not ideal but we didn't report. Reception friendly. We ate at nearby 2 Good Eggs for brekkie both mornings which was charming.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mares71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi278, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be a handy location to explore Sydney.
I was also delighted to also to read that you found our reception team to be friendly and was quick to assist with the hair dryer, also that you found the room to be clean and spacious.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    834
    2,111
    1,238
    412
    263
See reviews for
1,014
1,532
608
792
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
KL, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Stayed in a 3 single bed room on the 6th floor in June for 3 nights. Room had a kitchenette
There's a city convenience store across the street in a corner. Or, a full sized Coles on Goulburn Street 3 blocks away.
Darling Harbour is 20 mins walk away on the same direction as Coles on Goulbourn, China town on Sussex Street 10-15 mins walk away.
Pitt Street mall : 20 mins, Circular quay: 30 mins walk. There is a free CBD bus route along George St or Elizabeth street to circular quay. buss 555.
The rooms were clean enough. The beds were made daily, but sheets not changed although towels were.
Provisions in toilet: 3 bath towels, 1 face towel, 1 floor mat, 2 soap bars, shampoo and conditioner.
Provision in kitchenette, 3 sets of cutlery, plates, bowls, cups, glass, dish washing liquid, tea towels, microwave, mini fridge

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank NG-Y-MY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi278, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.

I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be the perfect location to explore Sydney.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

- interior quite old and room slightly filthy
- even though requested otherwise, no queen size bed available but 2 wobbly single beds on wheels- we've slept better in cheap YHAs before
- TV disfunctional and only replaced after 2 days and

In conclusion: rates way too high for what you get- we didn't feel comfortable at all!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlepenguin123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi278, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not the positive experience that I hope our guests have.
I want to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

NSW
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

I stayed here the night before a half marathon in the city - it was very close to the start line and extremely well priced, which were my only requirements on this occasion.

It was a lovely surprise to arrive and find very friendly staff and a nice hotel - I've certainly stayed in some awful places whilst traveling to races and this wasn't one of them. The room was nothing to write home about, but it was pleasant and the kitchenette was a great bonus.

The bed was hard, but we managed to sleep well enough. Air-con worked well.

After the race we returned to the hotel for breakfast as we had a buy one get one free deal included with our booking. Buffet breakfast was nice, not extravagant but much better than a boring continental. I turned up in my post-race gear and staff didn't bat an eyelid. Much appreciated!

Parking isn't part of the hotel, but is very nearby. No problem at all to get to whilst carrying bags.

It's not for a special night away, but if I had to come to the city for a race, event or a function and needed somewhere simple to stay I'd book here in a heartbeat - especially for the excellent rate we got.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stay_far_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi278, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be the perfect location for the half marathon. I was also delighted to read that you found the team to be very friendly during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.
Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Hotel situated in CBD very close to Hyde Park with easy access to Sydney Opera either by walking (30 min) or by bus from the Museum Station. Hotel room was clean and the staff is very pleasant and helpful. The bathroom was small and the shower was rudimentary. The hotel does not have wi-fi and if you need internet access you will need to use the computers in the lobby. You also can take the bus to Bondi Beach from the Museum station (eg. 333). Buy bus tickets at a convenience store (7 Eleven is very close on Elisabeth street) since many of the buses are express and the drivers are not selling tickets. I will stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi278, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel room to be clean and the staff very pleasant and helpful.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I have stayed at the Travelodge Sydney several times, usually because of the price. Accommodation in Sydney can be ridiculously expensive at times, but the Travelodge is usually very reasonably priced.

I have found the standard of rooms can vary a bit, and the last room I stayed in was not quite as good as I remember. The bathroom in particular was smaller and dingier than I had remembered, and probably could have done with a good scrub, or even better, a renovation. The beds were comfortable and there was a small couch in the room that is a nice touch that even many expensive hotels lack.

Probably the worst thing about the room was the noisy a/c vent. It sounded as though a ball bearing was bouncing around inside the metal box all night. This in itself would probably be enough to put me off staying here for any considerable amount of time, but as we were only here a few nights I just put up with it and fortunately, was tired enough to sleep for most of the night.

The location is good, being just north of Central Station and close to Hyde Park, Oxford St and an easy stroll to World Square.

I really do like the convenience and affordability of the Travelodge, and it has long been my favourite budget option in Sydney, but I tend to feel that it is deteriorating into just another dodgy hotel at the lower end of the market. I really hope not.

Room Tip: Most room booking options will give you no choice in bedding preference, so don't automatically...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asia_short_tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi278, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your valuable comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney. Thank you for your continued support, I was pleased to read that we have been your favourite budget option in Sydney.

I have noted your comments in regards to the bathrooms and your feedback has been shared with the housekeeping team.
I am sorry to hear that your air conditioner was noisy, from what you described, it sounds like it had a maintenance issue which I’m sure we could have fixed or changed your room so you could enjoy the rest of your stay with us.
I want to assure you that any feedback is of the highest value to us, so if you would like to discuss any part of your stay in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.
Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

This hotel was a very good value for the price, The location is excellent and the breakfast is good. I especially appreciated the expresso choices in the morning.
The airconditioning worked well but there was some leakage. The response from the hotel staff was excellent.
Overall I would definitely stay here again to explore this amazing city.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi278, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 3 June 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Sydney.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be in a good location and that you enjoyed the breakfast we offer.
I am sorry to hear that the air conditioning was leaking; however I am pleased that you found the response from the team excellent.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Sydney sometime in the future.

Best regards
Heidi Huynh
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#103 of 179 in Sydney
1,799 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Vibe Hotel Sydney
Vibe Hotel Sydney
#73 of 179 in Sydney
3,029 reviews
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#35 of 179 in Sydney
4,142 reviews
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#80 of 179 in Sydney
2,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Address: 27 Wentworth Avenue, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney 3.5*
Number of rooms: 406
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Sydney Hotel Sydney
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing