We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"The best & finest accommodation in Sydney"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #48 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“"The best & finest accommodation in Sydney"”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I have stayed at The York by Swiss-Belhotel on numerous occasions. I highly recommend this beautiful establishment. Ideal location....close to the City Building District....close to the Harbour and only 10 minutes walking distance from Darling Harbour. I was sooo impressed by the friendly staff who made me feel most welcome.....very attentative, well mannered, efficient and always smiling. When I first entered the beautiful foyer....the music and the sparkling chandeliers and the friendly porter who greeted me.....made me feel as though I were in a different world. Suddenly the hussle & bustle of crowds outside were just a mere blur. It is soooo peaceful inside from the moment one steps into The York. Sunbaking beside the pool is euphoric bliss. After excercising in the gym...I decided to rest in the spa....which too is such a wonder....all this under the beautiful blue sky....amazing to relax in an Oasis above the 6th floor. It is truly an amazing place to stay at. Not only have I recommended the York by Swiss-Belhotel to all my colleagues, aquaintances, friends & family....I also highly recommend this beautiful establishment to all those for leasure, travel, business. I will be returning....soon. It is truly "Home away from Home". My desire is to become a regular guest at this establishment for all of the above. Sydney is the most beautiful, amazing & exciting city in Australia.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JeanSpajja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    411
    107
    39
    22
See reviews for
259
334
41
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2011

I stayed at The York by Swiss-Belhotel on my wedding night and we could not have chosen a better place to stay. The reception staff were very courteous and helpful, giving me a great first impression as soon as we arrived. The porter was very obliging and prompt and attended to our needs straight away. I found that all staff were very friendly and attentive......I've stayed in many hotels and believe that any hotel could certainly learn something from the staff at The York by Swiss-Belhotel as they have service excellence! When we entered our room it smelt lovely and the rooms were very clean. Personally I am very particular about bathroom cleanliness and I was amazed at the high standard at The York. Our balconies had partial harbour views and great views of that part of the city. I have no hesitation in recommending this fine establishment to everyone. I have certainly recommended The York to my family, friends and work colleagues. I will definitely be staying here again and look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenVan_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle,Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2011

Clean, pleasant and some of the staff are exceptionally good . Fell down this time round with the staff on the desk who were female & Australian born who gave me the impression they had to work sat night & resented it no sincerity there. . As staying previously on a Sunday night the quality of sevice then & next day was excellent. faultless.in fact ( March 2011 ) I think a weekend manager or 2 needs to train up their staff. Also room needed lamp & power points fixed & clean with average tiles in bathroom i say needed thorough clean. 6 TV etc remote controls & all I could view was buy a movie option . Too hard to try really . Good value place. Excellent weekday service.Spa clean & hot but no bubbles.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank over30stillcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
We appreciate the time you took to post your recent comments from your stay at our hotel.

Cleary the evening and housekeeping staff were not performing to our usual standards and for that I sincerely apologise. I have reviewed your feedback in detail with our Front Office and Housekeeping Manager. Due to similar comments regarding the remotes, we have recently changed to one user friendly controller.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The York by Swiss-Belhotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

Staying at the Swiss was an absolute pleasure. The rooms were very comfortable, the staff were fantastic and the bar had a great ambience.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I stayed here for the weekend with my husband and 2 kids (both under 8) and it was eactly what we were looking for. Lots of space, serviced apartment in the heart of the city.

Room Tip: Always request the deluxe or refurbished rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boodgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2011

We stayed here for 2 weeks as part of my relocation package with the company I moved to Sydney with. My partnet and I were given a one bedroom apartment which was very spacious and all furnishings were to a high standard. The bed was large and very comfortable. Lots of wardrobe space and had all the essentials - washing machine, kitchen utensils etc you needed.

The hotel is very centrally located in Sydney - 10 minutes walk to Circular Quay, 2 minutes walk to Wynard Station and 5 minutes walk to Darling Harbour. Close to all the tourist attractions as well as the CBD and transport.

No nice views though - something which is a must in beautiful Sydney.

Would have no qualms about staying here again and would recommend it to the business traveller in Sydney.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misslcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2011
Dear Misslcp, Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The hotel was only a short drive away from the Airport and very easy to find. Staff were very friendly and answered all of our queries. We were a family of 5 travelling (3 adults and 2 children) so a trundle bed was put in the lounge room. Trudle bed was surprisingly comfortable. Room was clean and we had glimpses of the Harbour. Large sliding doors opened onto two small balconies which was much nicer than being stuck in air-conditioning. All major attractions are within walking distance - The Rocks; Circular Quay; CBD; Queen Victoria Building; Harbour A bus stop for the double-decker sight seeing bus is just down the road. Only criticism would be the quality of the pillows in the master bedroom but all other family members happy with their bedding.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cadence05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2011
Dear Cadence05, Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to comment. We look forward to welcoming you back to The York by Swiss-Belhotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#70 of 178 in Sydney
2,118 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 178 in Sydney
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#43 of 178 in Sydney
696 reviews
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Property: The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TravelClick, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing