We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb location, mediocre hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #41 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Superb location, mediocre hotel”
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed here for six nights in July with the family (2 adults, 2 kids) in a two-bedroom apartment. We were OK overall with our stay, but there's lots of room for improvement.

On the plus side, the location is fantastic. Seven or eight minutes walk from Circular Quay, the Bridge and the Opera House. Very close to the CBD and shopping areas, and only a minute's walk from Wynyard Station (with trains direct to the airport). You can't ask for more. The rooms were very spacious and the only equipment we missed was a kettle. We were also impressed that the room was fully serviced every day (beds made, towels replaced etc) - in our experience, this is not normal in an apartment-hotel like this one.

Our experience of the staff was mixed. Checkin and checkout staff were excellent - friendly, efficient and professional - and the concierge was very helpful. For most of the rest of the time, the staff behind reception didn't even ackowledge us as we walked past. Similarly the standard of cleaning was mixed - for some reason the apartment was spotless on weekdays but not so at weekends.

On the negative side, the biggest gripe (and it was a big one!) was the complete lack of soundproofing. The roar of traffic from the roads below was quite unbelievable, even though we were on the twenty-somethingth floor, and it continued throughout the night. Other reviewers have mentioned this and said it's not the hotel's fault. Sure, but our room was single-glazed, something I thought had died out in the '80s. If this hotel has any pretensions of grandeur, it needs to address this issue a.s.a.p. Other niggles - the washing machine and dryer turned the bathroom into a steam room, there was no central heating or air conditioning (the main rooms had big old-fashioned rattly machines hanging from the ceiling to do this), and there was a notice in the kitchen asking you to open the balcony door when cooking to avoid activating the fire alarm (Really? Come on...).

Other than the road noise, which was unacceptable, the other niggles are minor and would not be a big deal in an average-quality, average-price hotel. But this place is not cheap. For my money, I expected more. Given the enviable location, if this hotel invested in a refurbishment (that included central heating / cooling and double-glazing all round), it could be an absolute winner.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisOnATrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear ChristOnATrip,

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

It is disappointing to read of the issues you had with the reception and housekeeping and these comments have been passed on to the relevant department heads and staff members. Thank you for bringing these issues to our attention, we welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us rectify these problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    403
    104
    38
    21
See reviews for
255
325
41
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Duck Key, Florida
Level Contributor
163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is not a normal hotel, but rather apartments for rent. We found the location to be perfect for walking around Sydeny. The rooms were very clean, the staff friendly and the view from the room spectatular. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joecooool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our guests experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Spent the weekend in city for a girls weekend away and the hotel was fantastic for our needs!
2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, huge lounge area, outdoor settings, kitchen. Very nice city views and walking distance to the rocks


Loved it will be back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Contoursmerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We are extremely glad you enjoyed your time at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We look foward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Plenty of space in the living area and all the usual mod-cons (washing machine, dryer, dish washer, etc) but the hotel is in need of a little TLC. It looks like it is in the process of being refurbished and the room we had would have benefited a picture or two so it didn't look so spartan. Can't complain about the service - the staff were friendly and very helpful and the location is great ie a short walk from the Rocks.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Peter
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our guests experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Stayed in a deluxe studio apartment for one night. Spacious, light room.

Large bathroom with laundry facilities. Room only has kitchenette facilities (no oven) but thats to be expected in a studio.

Bed was comfortable. Room had a small balcony, we could see the pool from our balcony.

Can be a bit noisy but this is no fault of the hotels.

Great location, we walked everywhere we needed to that night.

The heater works really well as well, we were quite surprised at the heat coming out of it on a low setting.

The only "negative" comment I had was if you want to watch TV in bed, you have to turn it and lay uncomfortably to watch it... and thats not even that negative!

Room would be comfortable for a couple of days stay.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JesskaTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear JesskaTwo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our guests experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We were looking for accommodation close to cruise terminal. The York was within walking distance not only to cruise terminal, but also to other attractions. Good size apartments and well maintained. Like for Sydney and location good value for money. Taxi fare from airport around $45.00.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christophoros57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear Christophoros57, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and it is through feedback such as yours that we can improve our guests experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We chose this primarily due to its location (walking distance of everything we wanted to see in Sydney (Harbour, the Rocks, Opera House, Pitt Street Mall). The facade of the hotel is uninspiring (boring old brick) and the lobby is totally underwhelming. At least things got better from there.

The rooms we stayed in was actually quite large, with a good size kitchen, bathroom (and laundry!!). The TV worked fine. My only comments would be that the decor is probably dated outside the rooms, and the service was pretty lacking.

That being said, if all you're looking for is a base in Sydney, and dont particularly care too much about service, then it's a good bet. It was adequate (but not much more) for us.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor are probably better, it's on quite a busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear TimC1, thank you for taking your time to provide constructive feedback.

The comments have been passed on to the relevant department heads and staff members.

Should you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact us on 02 9210 5000.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#66 of 174 in Sydney
1,952 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 174 in Sydney
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
1,242 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Property: The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, TravelClick, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing