We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sentrally located and but worn-out and shabby furniture!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #51 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We could reach most of the city attractions from this hotel. Our apartment was on the 11th floor with a nice view. We didn't bother much about the terrace because we didn't have time to sit and hear to the traffic noise, so we kept the door to the terrace closed most of the time. However, it was nice to get some air to refresh the apartment which smelled not so nice whenever we come back to after the A/C was turned off... There was a strange smell there. There were two TV's and vcr and DVD player.

The furniture is old, and shabby, needs to be changed and/or maintained! The carpeting is totally worn out and should be replaced and in the entrance area it would be better with tiles like in the kitchen.

The staff were helpful and friendly and we won't complain about that but there was much hair on the floor of the bathroom and the kitchen when we arrived!

The internet connection was TOO expensive!... in such a hotel I would expect some free internet connection or at least discounted amount of connection.

The dryer doesn't condensate the water drying but sends it out in the bathroom so it felt like steambath in the bathroom with water running down the walls! we told them about that.

The reception told us they were about to start reneovating and it's about time!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellerMan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
There are newer reviews for The York by Swiss-Belhotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

651 - 657 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2013

We like to stay at the York in Sydney. It's central and provides us with a good base for regrouping after travelling to visit relative in different parts of Australia. It provides in-suite laundry and a well equipt kitchen. The City Rail (trains to airport) is close at hand and it's a short walk to The Rocks and Circular Quay (ferries, Opera House). The rooms have a balcony with table and chairs and the hotel has a very nice pool. Not the choice for those who like luxury. We must comment on the friendliness and helpfulness of the Housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sasamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

The best point about this hotel is the location. It is a short walk to Circular Quay, where you will find the Opera House, The Rocks and other tourist attractions. It is also in the CBD, where you will find the biggest range of stores.
However the service is average, the reception staff looked like they would rather be anywhere else but there. (They did however kindly charge my phone for me which was really appreciated).
The room itself was not great (14th floor). It was large, with a kitchenette and seperate bathroom (including a washer and dryer), but the decor was tired looking and actually quite depressing. The room itself had very little natural light and the small balcony was extremely close to offices, so not much privacy.
The pool area didn't seem to get any sun on it (I was there end of day and around 10.00am in the morning) and the gym was teeny tiny.
If you are a business traveller looking for self service apt type rooms then this might surfice. If you are on holiday looking for upmarket, polished, modern 4 star accommodation this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rafstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The York is a hotel owned by the Swiss-Belhotel chain. However, most of their hotels are located in Asia-Pacific. The service is nice, the kitchen is well-equipped. The rooms have a balcony with some not so spectacular view, however, it is possible to grab some fresh air.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank pinta12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in a 2 bed apartment on the 17th floor. While it wasn't the most modern of apartments, it was comfortable and had all the amenities needed for a short break. It's a 5 minute walk from circular quay & darling harbour so can't be faulted by location. All in all a great holiday.

Room Tip: Reading some of the other reviews, there are some more modern suites. Also, ours was 2 bedroom but o...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlsween
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, General Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Dear jlsween,

Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We checked in and they gave us a room that was old and did not look refurbished. This is despite us booking a two bedroom apartment. Kettle was spoilt and was finally replaced. Not satisfied with the old worn out furniture at all.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Changkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, General Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2012

Dear Changkee,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your time.

With regards to the apartment style, approximately 85% of our apartments have been refurbished. Apartments listed as superior or standard are our unrefurbished and are sold at a discounted rate. Information about the refurbishment style and apartment decor is provided within the room description.

Our deluxe apartments are our refurbished apartment type and over the course of 2012 we have been doing extensive works to bring all apartments into the Delxue category. This is set to continue in 2013 however the works are being completed during quiet times to avoid disruptions to our guests.

Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for assistance with a future reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012 via mobile

Situated in the rocks area , it was brilliant walked everywere , rooms are great , spacious , well equipped , clean . The hot tub was lovely after a busy day out round Sydney. Great value for money , defo worth a visit :-)

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bangor_jo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#73 of 178 in Sydney
2,293 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#36 of 178 in Sydney
757 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#18 of 178 in Sydney
1,306 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £112 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing