We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had more than one night!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #51 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I had a whirlwind 24 hours to spend in Sydney, not nearly enough! The York was clean, comfortable, spacious and in a great location. I was able to easily walk to/from The York from the Wynyard Train station where the Airport Link train stopped. I strolled into the Rocks for a beer and dinner after my arrival and the next morning I was able to walk to the Opera House and other Sydney landmarks. When I return to Sydney I'll want to stay at The York!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
There are newer reviews for The York by Swiss-Belhotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

570 - 576 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2013

Whenever we travel to Sydney from the Central Coast we stay at The York. Great location. Friendly helpful staff. However why oh why are the lounges in each room we have stayed in so uncomfortable? Love the balcony and the spaciousness. Very clean. We love the kitchen to store your drinks and lovely snack food from David Jones food hall that is a must for us. Good quality coffee is a bonus.
I had a complaint last time and found the staff concerned and felt listened to.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bethmar2229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Where do i start,( rooms where large yes only good thing.) We travelled as a family of 12 had 4 rooms, of cause not on the same floor. We booked what we thought were the refurbished rooms not the case but you pay the price. Serviced daily well only half a job, no rubbished removed for 2 days, no toiletries replaced, no biscuits, only milk to have with coffee you had to buy, paper on floor when we got there was still there when we left. Something wrong with a TV in every room. We stayed Friday-Monday maybe good to stay during the week for business but not for a family holiday, we where told we could get breakfast next door, not open on weekends (not happy) Check the dates of the stock in fridge out of date beer and open packets of chips half eaten. I am sure there is better places to stay in Sydney.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Darnell M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here for days. Nice hotel, helpful staff, clean and the apartment was spacious. WIFI was reasonably priced compared to Melbourne hotel. But WIFI was very slow and we could not have more than one device on it at a time. Which was very inconvenient. Close to the Rocks and easy to locate from other parts of Sydney. For breakfast you had to go to the Travel lodge next door. Their full breakfast at $25 pp. Was terrible. Under cooked sausages and running scrambled eggs.

Room Tip: Don't eat breakfast at the Travel Lodge
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimmyJackk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear JimmyJackk,

Thank you for sharing you recent experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Convenient CBD location. Very large rooms with useful kitchen and laundry facilities. Be aware that the hotel is apparently built directly on top of the underground railway line so there is some train noise from early in the morning (about 4.45am).

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Philip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear Philip B,

Thank you for sharing your experience during your time at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

I was pleased to read you made use of the facilities in the apartment and found our location convenient.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Sydney.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

I can accept that a hotel might feel tired and worn but I can't accept a dirty apartment. There was rubbish behind one of the units in the bedroom, a cigarette stub on the balcony and I had the joy of finding someone else's tissue in the complimentary bath robes. Not nice and not acceptable. Stayed for 4 nights so plenty of opportunity to put right but nothing was done. I'm sure you can get cheaper and cleaner in Sydney.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
3  Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear Heather D,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

We were disappointed to learn of your experience at our hotel as we place great importance on exceeding our guest’s expectations, and value your constructive feedback.

I would like to express my sincere apologies that we failed to provide you with the high levels of service that you have come to expect. Please rest assured your comments have been shared with all the team to remind them of the importance of providing and maintaining our standards at all times.

To discuss these matters further please contact Christie Love on 02 9210 5000 or email on restysb@swiss-belhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Reviews indicated we would enjoy this hotel, but except for it's excellent location, we found it old and tired, with no services (even the coffee in the foyer cost $2.00). Our room was not very clean with a lot of dust and worn, stained furniture. We would not stay here again. However, the desk staff was always friendly and helpful and we did appreciate their consideration.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RayDar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear RayDar2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us.

I am sorry to learn that there were so many factors that resulted in a less than satisfactory stay for you.

Your feedback is vital in order for us to improve. I very much appreciate you sharing your concerns. I do hope that you will one day return to The York by Swiss-Belhotel and give us the opportunity to show you that we really can be exceptional in every sense.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#73 of 178 in Sydney
2,293 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#36 of 178 in Sydney
756 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#18 of 178 in Sydney
1,306 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £114 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing