We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #56 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Accommodation very good. Clean and comfortable, attention to details was great. Stayed in the refurbished appt,had well equipped kitchen with dishwasher, bathroom had washing machine& dryer and all very clean. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_C62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Hi Dave_C62,

Thank you for the positive review,
We are glad you were able to use the full facilities that our service apartments have offered.

We look forward to your future stays with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (974)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

584 - 590 of 974 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2014

We had a very nice one bedroom apartment on the 10'th floor,very clean,nice comfortable furniture in sitting room,big balcony with table and four chairs to relax,unfortunately the bridge and harbour views have disappeared over the years since we first started staying at the a York in the late eighties with many new buildings which have shot up over the last 15 or so years,still it is a good place to stay about 7-8 minutes walk to the ROCKS and Circular Quay and George Street 2 minutes away
Tip is to try and get up as high as possible as peak hour traffic noise can be loud,but all else about the York is Very Good,enjoyed our stay Again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0ck07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Hi R0ck07,

I am pleased to read your review and to hear of your great experience at The York apartments.
Sydney city has definitely changed dramatically in the past century!

Our location is one of our perks, especially with the amount of visitors coming into Sydney, activity convenience is a great benefit to holiday goers!

Once again, I would like to thank you for the review which you've given us at The York. We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Arrived early from Auckland and the room was not ready. The Duty Manager was happy to hold our bags what we wandered to Darling Harbour. When we returned we had been upgraded to an apartment. Fantastic accommodation. The hotel is ideally located for shopping and Darling Harbour. You can even park out the front! Wonderful staff and atmosphere.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank philrowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Much appreciative for your positive review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your upgraded room and made good use of our convenient location, which is ideal for all activities!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The York by Swiss-Belhotel soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Our apartment was ready early at 1.30 (as requested, but not promised).
The staff were efficient and checked us in quickly and with no fuss.
Our Deluxe Two Bedroom apartment was spacious and had plenty of room for two adults and two kids (11 & 13). It was a little short of cooking utensils, but was relatively modern, clean and well equipped. All the equipment worked well (including the tumble drier and washing machine).
We never had any issues with cleanliness or the quality of the beds. Although the windows did let in a lot of city noise (even though we were on the 16th floor) and we found this a little annoying when there was some machinery noise one night, but that happens in a big city.
Overall, a good stay and reasonable value for such a central CBD location. We were able to walk all over Sydney, from the shopping areas, to the Rocks, Harbour Bridge and Botanic Gardens.
The balcony was small, but useable with unspectacular views.

Room Tip: As high up as possible to reduce the vehicle noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneCruisers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

This hotel was marketed as a 4.5 star hotel. It is not. Hotel is old and dated. It's more studio apartment than hotel room. Was bitterly disappointed by the cleanliness and quality of furnishings, and lack of decent restaurant or even a bar. Would have been ok if it had been rated 2-3 stars and described properly as an apartment, not as a luxury hotel. Was also marketed as being in the rocks. It's near the rocks but more in a business area

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank addictable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Only stayed for a short breaks holiday, 2 nights. Dropped off out the front, hotel looked appealing and its most redeeming feature is its location to Darling Harbour, Circular Quay. Paddys markets, chinatown to name a few, all within walking distance. Front of house staff on arrival, appeared bored and found paperwork on the desk a priority. during our stay I found getting information from a couple of the staff to be an inconvenience. The room when we checked in was a studio deluxe and It was very spacious and well laid out and clean. The bed was the worst I have ever slept on and that includes roughing it out camping. they were so hard and unforgiving, every time you turned over you woke up. My traveling companion chose to sleep on the chaise sofa rather that the bed. Having stayed in self serviced apartments on many occasion, we found they did not restock the simple amenities such as teabags, coffee or sugar. there is a park across the road that is quite pleasant to sit in and catch ones thoughts. we booked through wotif and got a great deal on the accomodation, so glad we didnt pay top price for this experience, will give it another go due to the fantastic location, but if the beds and staff scenarios result in the same outcome, will not go back no matter how fabulous the location, after a day of walking up and down the hilly streets of Sydney a good nights sleep is vital so you can wake up refreshed to go out and do it all again the next day. There is so much to do, no one wants to feel tired and drained when in holiday mode.

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor and found it was a great location, loved the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

My family stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 3 nights and agree that this is the most disgusting place we have ever been to. It is beyond dated- the clothes dryer only had cold air blowing and wouldn't stay on longer than 10 minute; the dining room chair had NO padding left in them and we were afraid to sit on them in case we would fall through; the bathroom faucet dripped constantly; there was dust all through the place and worst of all, there was food on a chair in living room next to seat cushion!!!! Disgusting place!!!

Room Tip: stay in any other place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 258ppnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#40 of 186 in Sydney
848 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,425 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £111 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing