We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #41 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good overall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Very good apartment.

Although the location is in the centre of the CBD, it is ideal for good access to the harbour ports, the Bridge, Opera House etc.

Friendly staff. Wifi available and a good little business centre where you can print boarding passes etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purbeckwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    336
    403
    104
    38
    21
See reviews for
255
325
41
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

The apartment at the York is not as nice as I had hoped. I spent the extra money to get a deluxe apartment, i.e. one that has been recently renovated. Some features seem relatively new, but others do not, e.g. the carpet is fraying in places. There is noise from adjoining apartments and traffic noise even though we are on the 18th floor. Also, the Wi Fi connection is intermittent and the speed is often slow. OTOH, the location is great - close to Wynyard Station and a grocery store. All the appliances work, including the washer and dryer. And the staff is pleasant and helpful. Overall, it served my needs, but didn't meet my expectations.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Seventyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I stayed for one night on a work trip. This is one of the better business type hotels I've stayed in and I would stay again. The room was a good size, tastefully decorated and in good condition. Kitchenette and bathroom also a really good size. Large king size bed was very comfortable. All quite clean and comfortable. Reception staff were friendly and helpful and centrally located in Sydney so you can walk from the hotel and find cafes, shops, etc.

The only issue for me was the noise. I had a room on the corner with a small balcony overlooking the intersection at York and Jameson (?) streets and it was very, very noisy with traffic, trucks and trains rattling past throughout the night. I'd recommend asking for a quiet room at the back of the hotel and not one over looking York Street.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the street front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Stay in a one bedroom apartment with own kitchen and fitted out laundry in the middle of Sydney. 15 minute stroll to Circular Quay and Darling Harbour. Also a short distance to trains to the airports an other areas of Sydney. Apartment accommodation was a little old and tired but very roomy, neat and clean. Staff were very helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yelwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Hi Yelwah,

Thank you for taking time to review our property.

Our apartments are categorized in Deluxe and Standard types, but we are in the speedy process of upgrading our apartments to increase our quantity of Deluxe rooms.

Looking forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
726 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

I was only in the building for less than 12 hours so it's probably a bit cheeky writing a review. However, I was so pleasantly surprised by the size of the apartment that I though it was worth at least noting that. I have stayed in many serviced apartments in Sydney over the years and this was definitely the biggest with lots of light and even a balcony.

The staff were pleasant when I arrived late and helpful in the morning when I enquired about places for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. I am very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver, british columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

A recommendable apartment-hotel. The suite was spacious, bright, clean and pleasant, although it had an odd triangular layout which did not cause a practical problem but just always felt odd. Despite being in the CBD is was quiet and I slept well. There is a balcony but in my suite at least it offered a view of nearby tall buildings and the motorway so there was no view to speak of. There was a daily cleaning service which I did not expect from this sort of hotel but, there it was, and well done too. The desk staff was brisk, efficient and pleasant. The hotel's location is great: 10 minutes from Circular Quay, 5 minutes from Wynyard underground station and Coles grocery store. The suite's washer and dryer were appreciated.

After trying to find something to complain about for the sake of "balance," I can think of nothing to say against this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomFromVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent experience at The York by
Swiss-Belhotel. We are appreciative of your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

This hotel is in a great position so close to Circular Quay and many of the other attractions Sydney has to offer.
Initially we were disappointed with the apartment we were allocated. We had seen the photos of the apartments and were expecting similar especially as the booking had been made well in advance and our preferences noted by further emails. However we couldn't see over the balcony! It was only after the involvement of the duty manager that we were found one that we were happy with and had a balcony similar to those in the photographs.
We had a deluxe studio apartment which was well appointed and spacious. The washing machine and tumble drier were particularly welcome as we were mid holiday.
It was disappointing to find that wifi was not available in our apartment unless we paid for it but we could go to a specific area in the hotel to use it free of charge. The signal was not always strong enough to be able to send or receive emails.
However the position of the hotel overcame this inconvenience.

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel. I am very pleased that the location was desirable for your needs while in Sydney. I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#66 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#22 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Property: The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Southall Travel, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing