We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge Apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #39 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Doonan, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Huge Apartment”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very very good location, just a few minutes walk to the Rocks, Circular Quay and Darling Harbour. 2 bed apartment on 23rd floor was massive and the "study" area even had another double sofa bed if required. Staff very helpful at front desk. Minor negatives: No view of bridge as obscured by other buildings, internet isn't free (come on Australia times are a changing!) and carpets are a little old.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am pleased hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We currently offer WIFI connection in our lobby free of charge, and are working towards being able to offer this in the entire building.

I hope to welcome you back to The York by Swiss-Belhotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    406
    104
    38
    21
See reviews for
255
328
41
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were surprised by how large the apartment was. There was heaps of room in the 2 bedroom apartment for the two adults and three children. There was a full kitchen although we didn't really use it, it would be great for a longer stay. The hotel was very well located between Darling Harbour and Circular Quay and also very close to the Rocks area which is also fantastic for food and coffee etc.

The staff were very friendly and the kids liked the pool and spa area. Overall this hotel exceeded my expectations particularly in terms of size of apartment and location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julian_bartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

We are delighted to hear you had a fantastic time visiting Sydney and you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We are lucky to have some of the largest serviced apartments in the city.

We can't wait for you and your family to come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The apartment was much bigger than I expected, with a large bathroom and spacious balcony. The location was ideal - quite a quiet street, but in walking distance of Circular Quay and the shops.
I had a problem with the wifi, and they sent a couple of guys up who were really helpful, even though we couldn't get it to work in the end. It ended up on my bill anyway on check-out, but this was removed without question.
Excellent customer service and a no-hassle stay. Perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IbeKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

I am very pleased that you appreciated our spacious apartments and the convenient location while in Sydney.

I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk Island
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

I've booked and stayed at the York for many years and have always found the hotel and staff are eager to please and have looked after us.
The big pluses are the self contained units, washing machine and dryer which is a godsend after travelling for two weeks and space to move.
The car park facility is great for visiting family and the proximity to the city and circular quay, restaurants and shops makes this hotel a great convenient place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Poinciana54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

I am very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This was our second trip back to The York and as we were very pleased with the apartment we stayed in on our first visit elected to to pay the extra for a deluxe apartment. Unfortunately the standard of the apartments are not consistant as the apartment we were given on our second trip was well under par of the first one and very dated. The furnishings were definitely of lower quality and the carpet was stained in some areas. The use of outdoor furniture in the kitchen only cheapened the look of the apartment and it was disappointing to find the oven not working. When my husband investigated, he found it had been disconnected and the wires were sticking out.
On the upside, the location is great - between CBD and Darling Harbour with the train station close by however we are unlikely to return based on the last stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yeti99_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

We were disappointed to learn of your experience at our hotel as we place great importance on exceeding our guest’s expectations, and value your constructive feedback.

I would like to express my sincere apologies that we failed to provide you with the high levels of service that you have come to expect. Please rest assured your comments have been shared with all the team to remind them of the importance of providing and maintaining our standards at all times.

To discuss these matters further please contact Christie Love on 02 9210 5000 or email on restysb@swiss-belhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

this hotel had it all for us. clean great service. excellent well supplief kitchen. great location with lots of supwrmarkets close by. nothing lacking and staff amazing polite and super helpful. ships. restaurants. close to everything.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 9liz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and our great staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed with our 4 yr old and 5 month old. Rooms very clean, seperate toilet which was great. Bed a little uncomfortable and squeaky.
We purchased WiFi for our stay which did not work at all! The cost was refunded back to us, no questions asked. The staff were extremely lovely and always helpful.
Not alot of eating options very close and no inhouse restaurant. About 15min walk to restaurants (apart from noodle bars next door) which in winter was a very cold walk at night with children. Also, Wynyard train line is directly under the hotel which the rumble of trains kept us up the first night until 2am. Then we got used to it.
All in all, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review!

I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff lovely & helpful.

We are currently in the process of updating our in-room dining options, to make it more convenient for our guests especially on those cold miserable nights.

We hope to welcome you and your family back to The York by Swiss-Belhotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#70 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#46 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#19 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Property: The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing