We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent overnight stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #38 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Central west NSW
1 review
“Excellent overnight stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

We were in Sydney for a performance at the Opera House. We picked the York for its proximity to this venue, because we wanted a self catering facility, and because we needed to park a car without walking a huge distance to the accommodation. Our needs were more than adequately met. We've stayed at various other hotels in Sydney and in all respects this was the best: the de luxe apartment was spacious; you couldn't have asked for a better kitchen (including dishwasher and full frig and stove). The balcony, which you could actually sit on, was a big plus.
Despite the fact that wi-fi in the apartment was not free (which is unusual in 2013), we will definitely stay here on our next visit, and hopefully for more than one night.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Footloose2586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review.

I am happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and I am pleased to let you know that from September 1st, we will be offering free WIFI throughout the building.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The York by Swiss-Belhotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    332
    392
    102
    37
    21
See reviews for
247
318
41
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ulladulla, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Service was usually good. Room make up was slow but room size and facilities were very good. Room was close to Circular Quay and the Rocks. Parking was a bit tight. Saturday night there was loud late night noise on the floor outside.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

I'm sorry to hear you were disturbed by late night noise on your floor, if this occurs during future stays, please do not hesitate to call reception as we have a strict "no party" policy and a night manager on duty to deal with instances like this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I stayed at the York for 5 nights while on business in Sydney. The location was very central with Wynyard station barely 25 metres away making it easy to get to and from the airport by train. The staff were friendly and helpful and check in was a breeze.
The room, a one bedroom apartment, had all you would need: fully equipped kitchen with pots and pans, plates and other crockery and large fridge for all your supplies. There was a selections of drinks and snacks too at almost reasonable prices (for a hotel that is). Coles and Woolworths supermarkets are a block away to stock up. The Rocks / Opera house area are about 10 minute walk away, with Darling Harbour area a 10 minute walk in the other direction. The centre of town (shops etc) are about 5 mins away.
Bedroom was large with full wardrobe, TV and dresser. The bed was comfortable with lovely crisp white linen. Bathroom was also large with separate bath and shower (hurrah not shower over bath situation) and fluffy towels. There's also a washer and dryer. Leading out from the lounge room is a large balcony to enjoy the fresh air, overlooking the busy street below.
The bad points were the TV reception is flakey at times so the picture breaks up a lot. And the noise. York St is a main road so the noise of buses and traffic are clearly audible. Until later in the evening, it can be a bit annoying. And the train line runs directly under the hotel, so the whole place rumbles as one passes below, adding to the noise factor. So if your a light sleeper, it would be an issue.
All in all, I enjoyed my stay, but would have preferred somewhere more peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KGB_4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

Unfortunately, whilst we are in a great location for all things Sydney has to offer it does mean we cannot escape the hustle and bustle noise the city also offers.

We appreciate you taking the time to review us, and we hope to welcome you back to The York by Swiss-Belhotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Once again I was not disappointed and loved being back at The York for four nights in June. I always appreciate the handy location for shopping and there are always taxi's around the area as well as Wynyard Station a short walk away. I was on the 11th floor and had a great view of the Harbour Bridge. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and allocated me a lovely spacious apartment with self catering facilities provided.
The apartment is spacious and tastefully furnished with lovely artwork on the walls, making it most homely and pleasant to spend time relaxing after a busy day in the city.
I recommend this Hotel, not so much as the classic, quaint and charming hotel,but for visitors looking for a spacious, self catered apartment at good value prices, in a central location, The York is an inspired option.
Free WiFi is provided in the lobby and complimentary newspaper is delivered to your room each morning upon request at check in.
Everything clean and efficiently serviced each day by pleasant staff.
The York has a great atmosphere and a great place to stay when in Sydney.

Room Tip: Ask at the Reception Desk when checking in and staff will do their best to find the most quiet and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aucklandlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you, we appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

I am very pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doonan, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very very good location, just a few minutes walk to the Rocks, Circular Quay and Darling Harbour. 2 bed apartment on 23rd floor was massive and the "study" area even had another double sofa bed if required. Staff very helpful at front desk. Minor negatives: No view of bridge as obscured by other buildings, internet isn't free (come on Australia times are a changing!) and carpets are a little old.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cyberdoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

I am pleased hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We currently offer WIFI connection in our lobby free of charge, and are working towards being able to offer this in the entire building.

I hope to welcome you back to The York by Swiss-Belhotel soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were surprised by how large the apartment was. There was heaps of room in the 2 bedroom apartment for the two adults and three children. There was a full kitchen although we didn't really use it, it would be great for a longer stay. The hotel was very well located between Darling Harbour and Circular Quay and also very close to the Rocks area which is also fantastic for food and coffee etc.

The staff were very friendly and the kids liked the pool and spa area. Overall this hotel exceeded my expectations particularly in terms of size of apartment and location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julian_bartlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

We are delighted to hear you had a fantastic time visiting Sydney and you and your family enjoyed your stay with us! We are lucky to have some of the largest serviced apartments in the city.

We can't wait for you and your family to come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The apartment was much bigger than I expected, with a large bathroom and spacious balcony. The location was ideal - quite a quiet street, but in walking distance of Circular Quay and the shops.
I had a problem with the wifi, and they sent a couple of guys up who were really helpful, even though we couldn't get it to work in the end. It ended up on my bill anyway on check-out, but this was removed without question.
Excellent customer service and a no-hassle stay. Perfect!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IbeKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheYorkSydney, Guest Relations Manager at The York by Swiss-Belhotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at The York by Swiss-Belhotel.

I am very pleased that you appreciated our spacious apartments and the convenient location while in Sydney.

I will be sure to pass on your comments regarding the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#67 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,888 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Property: The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TravelClick, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelbag, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing