We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #51 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2010

To be honest after the wonderful reviews on trip advisor I was disappointed when we arrived at The York Swiss, the reception was very small and the staff seemed very young and inexperienced, we asked about our bill, an extra bed and a weekend travel ticket for bus and train at different stages of the weekend and each question seemed to cause the person behind the desk much confusion! The room itself was lovely, we had booked for 3 people and requested twin beds but got a double. The location of the hotel was excellent however the Travel lodge around the corner looked like a much better choice and I think that is where we will go the on our next visit. Again I loved the location but for what we paid I was let down by the hotel. I would only recommend this hotel if you got it for a very low price or other just as central hotels were too expensive or not available.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EireKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
There are newer reviews for The York by Swiss-Belhotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

773 - 779 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2010

Although the rooms themselves were fine, although the non-smoking accomodations had furniture and pillows that smelled of smoke, I found the service and management there very uncordial and somewhat rude in the end. They seem to disregard the privacy please door hangs on the door and just come into your room without much warning, one time the "mini-bar" checker basically gave one knock on the door, didn't wait for a response and just came barging in, luckily I was actually full dressed by then. No apologies, just that he has to check the mini-bar. Be very careful about the check out process, if they ask you if you want to be charged in US dollars instead of Australian dollars, say "no". What they don't disclose before charging you is their hyperinflated conversion and banking charge that ended up costing me an additional 6% of my total bill, plus, when asked if they could cancel this since they never fully disclosed the nature of the charge, they said that was fine, then charged me again in Australian dollars only to find that once I returned home to the states, they cancelled the Australian dollar charge and not the US dollar charge. When I called them to ask to correct the mix-up, the person who I talked to was basically laughing at me over the phone. Don't get screwed by this establishment, just don't bother staying here and go to another place that is more friendlier to travelers abroad. Very upset by them and left what should have been an incredible vacation to Australia with a bad sense of the people there.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetlegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

What a shame that this hotel has the best location for Circular Quay,The Rocks and shopping on George Street. Less than a block to Wynard Station for all train connections and a Woolworths for groceries.The lack of housekeeping was apparent upon entry into the studio suite. Carpets were dirty and frayed, the cupboards in the kitchen had food smudges and fingerprints on them and it looked like the floor in the bathroom had not been washed for days. Had to phone for hand soap as there was non. We had booked a refurbished, non smoking room but it was very disappointing for the price we paid. The bed was very comfortable and at least the sheets were clean.The front desk and bellman was very efficient.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsDucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Stayed at the York for 9 nights in a deluxe one bed on the fourth floor overlooking the pool. Room was very comfortable and serviced daily. The shower was excellent.Room had laundry facilities which was great and a small kitchen which we used to make breakfast each day.There is a Woolworths and a Coles supermarked in the nearby Wynward station. The staff at reception were very helpful, it was raining on the first day we arrived and they gave us a large umbrella to take with us.
Location of the York is fantastic, so central for visiting The Rocks & Circular Quay,Darling harbour,Chinatown,Haymarket, you could easlily walk everywhere.Wynward bus & train station were just around the corner for visits to Bondi/Manly.
Very quiet area at weekends as all the offices are closed, did hear the church bells on Sunday morning, so if you are a light sleeper you might need ear plugs.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KayHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

It's an older building that looks like it's been remodeled into a hotel. It claims to have refurbished a lot of the apartments; however, they're not completed. We stayed in Rm 1602 (2-bdrm apartment) which was "refurbished"....needs a lot of work. Some of the furniture, art work, and paint is new....but the bathroom and common hallway are in dire need of paint and touch-ups. The patio door handle/lock is almost coming off which isn't great if traveling with young children, as in our case.

Cleanliness is also a huge issue: moldy shower, hair in the shower on arrival, needed to be vacuumed on arrival (peanuts on the floor), dirty dishes in the cupboards, and the air conditioners spit out chunks of black fuzz so the filters obviously haven't been cleaned in ages.

In terms of maintenance issues, the A/C in the master bedroom woke us up one night as it was pouring out water. The kitchen is ill-equipped....no microwavable dishes. THE POOL IS NOT HEATED (albeit it is October in Sydney, but the site states it's a heated pool....we beg to differ).

The staff are friendly and helpful....they sent someone up to fix the A/C water leak in a timely manner the next day. The housekeeping staff are a bit dodgy....they wanted to clean our room at 11am one day and it wasn't a good time for us so asked them to come back in the afternoon. They replied, "Well, we're off at 12:30"....not impressed. How is that my problem as a guest?

The location is pretty good, just a short walk to Circular Quay & Opera House, right in CBD with lots of amenities close-by.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leanne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The York Apartments are great serviced apartments in the heart of city. We booked a two bedroom apartment and stayed for two nights either side of our wedding day. We were specifically looking for somewhere close to the Church and big enough to handle the volume of people on the morning of the wedding (without breaking the bank).

The two bedroom apartment was perfect for this. There is spacious living areas with ample seats/couches, whilst the two bedrooms (one double bedroom, one twin bedroom) were comfortable.

A good option for people looking for a tidy, serviced apartment close to the Rocks area of Sydney

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LilSco24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

I was on a business trip and this place found by using the internet. pros: it was near my business meetings and I had a nice view of the water. cons: the noise factor and also my colleague I was traveling with did not get a view of the water. When booking a room, ask about the view and the noise. Maybe they can give you a better room. The staff was mostly great, except for one person and I think she was a temp.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
2  Thank Sherry8itall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Mantra 2 Bond Street
Mantra 2 Bond Street
#73 of 178 in Sydney
2,293 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#36 of 178 in Sydney
757 reviews
The Rocks
Quay West Suites Sydney
Quay West Suites Sydney
#18 of 178 in Sydney
1,306 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £112 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing