We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and good location, would use again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Ranked #56 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2011

Stayed for 5 days 2 bed serviced apartment, couldn't fault location, price and staff. Would not hesitate to use again.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beckihk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (977)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 977 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2011

The reviews, taken together, are right
- good location (near rocks and darling harbour and circular quay) in business district
- even refurbished (1 bed exec) appartment is a bit tatty, tired and grimey (so imagine the unrefurbished ones are pretty poor)
- some staff a bit surley (clearning staff very helpful)

Washing machine and dryer a bit basic and harsh on clothes

Good things
- pre-order to fill fridge
- pool is in better shape than expected (sun on beds 11-2 only due to shadow from other buildings)
- reasonably well equipped kitchen

There are better appartments nearby - but more per night...so you get what you pay for (we will stay elsewhere next time at current rate differences - if york was cheaper we would return)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HadP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Very nice, clean, & excellent location. Apt made it nice not to have to eat out. There was a grocery store and Starbucks one block away. Very clean and modern furnishings. There was an issue with my room type when I arrived. The next day the manager Leslie made sure I had the room I requested. This place definitely aims to please!! Very satisfied.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler70816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2011

The location can't be beat. The room was spacious, comfortable, and well equipped. The furnishings were in need of a thorough cleaning. Our only complaint was the lack of concern and responsiveness exhibited by many of the staff. We really had to lean hard on them go get things fixed or replaced. "I will send someone up," became a standing joke. The attitude problem seems to originate with the manager who seemed to insulate himself from direct interactions as much as possible. Even so, we would stay there again. We also stayed at Oaks Hyde Park on this trip, and it did not measure up to the York.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeenThereDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in December 2010. Location is very good - right between the harbours. The view from the 9th floor was excellent, as well as huge private balcony. No downsides identified.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AwfulRussian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Having read many reviews on the York Apartments our party arrived with anticipation on what we would discover.

It all looked very promising with the marble lobby and ultra efficient air conditioning. We had booked a two bedroom deluxe apartment which was to be shared by myself, husband, son and his partner. We were informed that we had been upgraded and the upgrade included an extra bathroom.

We were on the 28th floor and the apartment was very good indeed. The kitchen was newly installed but I would have been happier if there had been a better selection of pan sizes and sharper knives for the times when we preferred to self cater. The fridge and freezer were large and the microwave new.

The bathrooms were in pristine condition and it was clear that this apartment had been renovated very recently. The main bathroom had two sinks, a bath, shower etc and the toiletries were of a good quality. The en suite bathroom for the main bedroom had a shower but no bath – all of good quality.

There were two balconies and the views of the city and skyscrapers were amazing. The main balcony had large plants in containers and a glass topped table and chairs for dining out. There was no traffic noise at all (being so high) and although we did not have views of the harbours, there were limited views between the skyscrapers of the Opera House and water.

The equipment in the apartment was of good quality and there was a DVD player and CD player for our use. The dishwasher worked worked well, but there were no tablets available for use – you must provide your own. There was a hair drier for use.

The laundry room contained a washing machine and tumbler drier, both of which worked very well. You need to provide your own washing powder but an emergency pack can be bought from reception. A washing basket would have been handy, along with a clothes rack for those items that are not tumble drier friendly. However, these are minor points which may be taken on board by the proprietors.

The lift to the apartments was slow and very warm, but it got us there eventually.
I tried the outdoor pool which was pleasant, but not for the faint hearted as it was quite chilly initially but pleasant after a few minutes. The Jacuzzi was of good quality, very warm with good bubbles. There was a problem with the sauna when my son and his partner wanted to use it and the reception staff promised to send someone to look at it right away. This did not happen. However on a following day, it appeared to be in working order again and it was very hot! There is a range of outdoor recliners and tables and chairs for use. Be aware that the pool is overlooked by skyscraper offices and for this reason does not get the sun all of the time (perhaps a good thing). The gym is very compact, but the equipment is of good quality. There was a treadmill, cross trainer, rowing machine and upright bike. There was also weight equipment too. Towels and water for drinking were provided.

I would really like to give a rating of 5 out of 5 for this complex, but we were disappointed by one of the reception/concierge staff. On one occasion we asked the young man for information about the nearest open supermarket and we were informed that it was a taxi ride away because the local shop, which was in the underground station, was closed for the evening. Upon further investigation, my son discovered that there was indeed a Coles supermarket open and it was a short walk away. On another occasion we asked for advice on the best way to get to the airport and were informed that we needed to go to the train station and the information would be on the information posters. A good concierge should have this information at his/her fingertips and it is for this reason I am only giving this facility 4 out of 5 for this 4 star property.

The location of the property is faultless being a very short walk from the Opera House, the bridge, train station, buses, the Rocks, Circular Key, great shopping, etc.

Sydney was very expensive, but this is probably to do with the weak pound against the Australian dollar.

All in all it was a very pleasant stay and I would be happy to stay again when in Sydney.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at The York. It was great location-walking distance to to rocks, down the street form a train station. The apartments were perfect for us-had in room washer/dryer, kitchen, balcony. The rooms were clean. Make sure to ask for a rennovated room, away from the elevator. Also , we found a lower rate on a different site, and they were able to honor that when I called them directly.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winerunna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#43 of 186 in Sydney
848 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,429 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The York by Swiss-Belhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The York by Swiss-Belhotel

Address: 5 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £111 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The York by Swiss-Belhotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The York by Swiss-Belhotel is located in the heart of the CBD offering a combination of Studio 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments. Each apartment offers a spacious living area, fully equipped kitchen, 1 or 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities and balconies. Most apartments have views that extend to the City SkyLine, and the Executive Apartments overlook Sydney Harbour Foreshore*.*Views are not uninterrupted ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The York by Swiss-Belhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The York By Swiss-Belhotel Hotel Sydney
York Apartment Hotel
York Apartment Sydney
Apartment Hotel New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing