We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Jewish/Holocaust museum”

Sydney Jewish Museum
Ranked #30 of 469 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Jewish/Holocaust museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

I was told by a friend to visit it was the best decision I made in Sydney my kids and myself found it awe inspiring. The staff are responsive, friendly and passionate. I would recommend this museum to all ages and religions. Also try come on Sundays where the managers are friendly and young.

Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    288
    88
    18
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“you don't need to be a historian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I wouldn't have gone to this museum if it wasn't for my history buff friend who wanted to go. However, it was a very worthwhile visit. The museum was great. Info is presented well and there is a lot of information presented. However, you can read as much or as litlle as you like. There Re many photos and videos tat also tell the story. It presents the history of the Jewish people and ends in the holocaust story. Very sobering but you walk out a better person because of the experience.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dip69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Well Worth a Visit - 3/2/2014”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This was our first attraction as we arrived in Sydney. It is so well reviewed in Tripadvisor, there really is not much to add. Excellent display of Sydney Jewish historical information. A wonderful and sobering Holocaust exhibit. Excellent knowledgeable staff and a very reasonable gift shop. A worthwhile and must see museum for people of all faiths.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AandDfromUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“a beautiful museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

i had never been here until recently when i attended a talk with a holocaust survivor. It's in a fantastic older building. great exhibition and space. al the staff were helpful and very friendly and made us feel very welcome, even the security staff were friendly!
there was lovely smells coming from the cafe within

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank haamsuplo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Richly educational, humbling and thought provoking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

Visiting the museum was the absolute highlight of our time in Sydney, more enriching than our rather more expensive tour of the opera house. The museum is expertly curated and very well presented. The layout and exhibits truly draw in the visitor.

The museum tells the story of the Jewish community in Australia. How some arrived with the first fleet and went on to make significant contributions to the development of Australia. It also tells the heart wrenching story of the Holocaust and celebrates the indomitable will of the Jewish people to survive and thrive. The account of the concentration camps and atrocities was, in my opinion, toned down compared to other accounts. That said, it sensitively balances the facts of what occurred during that time with deep respect for the people who experienced it so as not to sensationalize or overly dramatize for shock value.

The tribute to the 1.5 million children who perished during the Holocaust was particularly moving. The choice of a water display with droplets falling and reflecting light was poignant, quietly sorrowful and yet comforting. It is the place to spend some extra moments in contemplation, in respect, to feel grateful to be alive, to be thankful for everyday blessings.

My husband and I shared two Israeli dishes at the cosy cafe. The hummus and falafel plate and the vegetable soup. The simplicity of the food, coupled with all we had just seen and read, made this meal especially meaningful. I felt like my spirit was being nourished as well as my body. On the wall facing us was a tribute to the volunteers who had given many years of service to the museum. I was very moved when I saw that many volunteers were Holocaust survivors.

This museum is not just a place of history. It is a place of community. By providing education, it creates an appreciation for history along with empowerment for the next generation to shape the future. It is well worth a visit but only go if you have time to spare, to feel, to think, to experience.

The museum does not receive any funding from the government so donations, memberships and patronage at its store and cafe are ways you can show you value its contribution to society and help it continue doing the good work it does.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank DezLow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sydney Jewish Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sydney Jewish Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing