We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All those steps”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sydney Opera House

Sydney Opera House
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.41*
and up
Sydney Opera House Guided Walking Tour
Ranked #3 of 470 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Follow our friendly guide on an incredible tour of Sydney Opera House -exploring the World Heritage-listed masterpiece home to 1000 rooms, 300 corridors and hundreds of tales and secrets. Step inside the inspired venues where more than 1600 performances come to life each year and walk in the footsteps of stars like John Cleese, Pavarotti and The Cure. With audio visual aids you will be taken back in time to when the first concrete ribs were laid down at Bennelong Point and learn how Danish architect Jorn Utzon's ambitious vision for a world class performing arts came into existence. You can't experience Sydney Opera House without taking this tour! Tours run daily from 9am - 5pm. Available in English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean, French, Spanish and German.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“All those steps”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Attended Handel's Messiah which was brilliant. Just one problem with all those steps. Mum has NH lymphoma so we asked to use elevator but as the lift only went half way and our seats were up high Mum had quite a walk. I have since written to the Opera House for advice on areas with best access but unfortunately did not receive reply. Missed out on getting tickets while I waited and didn't really want to risk the same climb as before.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydneyoperahouse2014, Manager at Sydney Opera House, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Hi Diane, we apologies for any inconvenience you experienced during your last visit to the Sydney Opera House.

For future visits we would advise purchasing tickets in the Stalls section of the JST or Concert Hall as there is no lift up to the Circle and Upper Levels of these theatres unfortunately. Our Box Office staff can suggest upon purchasing tickets which seats in the Stalls are the most appropriate seats with the least amount of stairs when they book in. Our Access Guide with more details on all our access accommodations (including a Venue step count) can be found here and used to assist in identifying seats with the least amount of stairs to access:
http://d16outft0soac8.cloudfront.net/uploadedFiles/AP_FLYER.%20Accessible.%20pdf.pdf

Please email our Accessibility Manager Jenny Spinak at jspinak@sydneyoperahouse.com if you need any further information or to discuss your feedback in more detail.

Kind regards,
Sydney Opera House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15,538 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11,359
    3,276
    718
    119
    66
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Baguio, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Breathtaking is an understatement. You haven't been to Sydney if you haven't been to the Opera House

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank chehadie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Visit to iconic architectural feature”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I have been in Sydney a few times and impossible not to view the Opera House from the outside, but this was my first visit inside. Interesting tour of the different performances spaces and look at the architecture and design from the inside. Great views of the harbour and city from the balconies. Not a cheap tour but worthwhile to visit one of the distinctive buildings of the world.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jd135z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Magnificent ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

We first went on an Opera House tour. Our tour guide was delightful, entertaining, and intelligent. Every question we had (and we had a lot) was answered. At the end of the tour, he told us that because we'd gone on a tour we could get discounted opera tickets. My favorite opera, Carmen, was playing so we decided to go. It was absolutely phenomenal! I highly recommend seeing an opera in Sydney at the Opera House.

Helpful?
1 Thank Xelashay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
130 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Rigoletto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

I had never attended an opera before (with the exception of the Beijing Opera - which was quite different) but when we decided to travel to Sydney, I thought what better time! I knew that I wanted to do more than take a tour of the opera house and so at first I just searched for 'cheap' shows. However, upon floating the idea of a kiddie-type show to our Sydneysider friends at the opera house they responded via email "hey mates, it is called the OPERA house for a reason." Alas, we saw Rigoletto and it was magnificent. The sets, the building, the opera bar were all exceptional! I loved that you didn't have to dress in formal wear (business casual was fine) and that they sent an explanation of the opera via email beforehand. It was a bit pricey but the memory of attending an opera in the Sydney Opera House was worth every penny!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank CorgiButtercup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sydney Opera House also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sydney Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing