We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very underwhelming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #62 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 November 2013

As a weekly traveller to Sydney from NZ, this hotel whilst central was very underwhelming and I left feeling I'd been ripped off a bit. My party took 2 rooms that were sold to me directly by reservations as 'executive'. Whilst the rather high $540 per room per night rate made me wince a bit.... 'Executive' was to have wifi and be on a high level (the differentiator). Wifi turned out to not be free and the room number being 19XX turned out to actually be 4 stories from the noisy street looking into the side of another building across( despite the numbering). Room was clean and tidy although hotel services documents and materials were low quality and tired looking ( I could have done a better job with an inkjet from 1999 ). Entertainment guide folder turned out to contain nothing more than the relevant tv pages taken from the local newspaper..... Tv and supporting system was outdated and slow. Reception Staff were helpful polite and fast which was good..... Shower was powerful with great water pressure... But it felt 3 star and about $240 per night per room overpriced...... So it was close to 100% overpriced. Won't be staying again sorry....

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Mark T, it sounds like on this occasion we haven’t met your expectations. Our executive rooms are all on our higher floors and have complimentary internet, along with many other amenities that differentiate them from our deluxe rooms.

Kind regards
John McIlwain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,141 - 1,147 of 2,127 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

I have been travelling to Sydney for many years and just pick the best value 4star+ hotel. Occasionally stayed at Rydges World Square and fell in love with the place. The location is the best, stacks of great restaurants within 100 metres of the hotel open till late. A far cry from the CBD hotels, you can't get food anywhere after 8:30pm.

The rooms are slightly dated, but the beds are the most comfortable by far (yes better than the Westin/ Starwood heavenly bed). A/V is good and bathroom is fine.

Then there is the staff, many who have been here for 5 years+. Just great. Try the restaurant too, best hotel food ever (well mid priced hotel food).

In summary, highly recommended, if you can get in.

Stayed: November 2013
1  Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

GregSteer, many thanks for such an outstanding review and your continued loyalty to Rydges World Square. It’s always a pleasure having you stay with us.

I trust we will see you again very soon.

Kind regards
John McIlwain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I was sent on a course held at Rydges World Square so naturally, I stayed at this hotel for a period of 4 days and 3 nights. I was upgraded by the manager and I found my stay to be most relaxing. The manager personally wrote a note for my stay. All my colleagues were quite envious. I would freely recommend this hotel for my friends and workmates.

However there was one incident that caused you to lose that one star from me. Because of the excellent personal service from the majority of the staff, I am happy to overlook this incident. I will mention this incident briefly in my con.

Of course with all my reviews, I am quite forthcoming with my views.

Here are the pros:
- The MAJORITY of the staff members were generally helpful
- Facilities were excellent
- Food was excellent
- Location is prime
- Excellent view from my room into World Square shopping Centre
- Reasonably Priced rooms

Cons:
- A smile and some interpersonal skills can go a long way: I asked for a chargeback to my company and get my credit card refunded. A young Asian (male) staff at the counter at the time used a borderline condescending tone when telling me to get my office to call up reservations for this to be done. Its not that I can't understand English. This incident did leave a sour note at my departure.
- Main entrance to the hotel can be quite hard to find especially when one side of the entrance is closed for cleaning
- Gymnasium is very hard to find

Room Tip: Choose the side facing into the shopping centre
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasper H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review and it’s wonderful to hear our hotel would be a recommendation of yours. Overall it does sound like you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I will pass on your feedback to the reception staff to ensure our customer service standards are being maintained.

Kind regards
John McIlwain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

I loved this hotel. The staff were efficient and friendly. The room was a good size, the bed was comfy and they offered the pillow menu. The food and shopping on offer in World Square was great. I was here for three nights and ate at a different place, including cuisine type, every night. The breakfast spread was extensive offering cooked and continental options. I attended a conference in the hotel and having a cafe available for coffee throughout the day was handy. I would stay here for business or pleasure again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Pennie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Many thanks Pennie00 for your review. It’s always a pleasure reading positive comments about our wonderful staff and their customer service.

It’s great that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
John McIlwain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I travelled to Sydney for the long weekend this year to visit family and take my daughter (who is one) to the zoo and aquarium. Rydges World Square is not a child friendly hotel in the traditional sense, there is no pool or games room. However staff went above and beyond to accomodate both myself and my daughter. The staff steralised bottles for me, did not charge my daughter to eat breakfast, answered very diffucult questions I had in regards to the babysitting the hotel offers and were eager to help no matter what the problem. I am blown away by the service Rydges World Square showed to my family. I think I may have called reception at least 15 times. They provided me with assistance immediatly for a range of issues such as dinner reservations, taxi numbers, directions they even told us where a bottlo was so we could have one or two (IN OUR ROOM). Some hotels have big issues with this but Rydges World Square was very accomodating. The first night we arrived I went to the desk to pay. I was quoted a higher price than I had booked on the net, I did not have my paperwork but I queried the price anyway. The receptionist at the desk immediatly ammended it no questions asked, my bags were delivered to my room and every day the doorman would tell us to have a nice day. Rydges World Square you have hit the nail on the head I and my family plan to be back time and time again and I have already reccomended you to family members and friends. Thankyou for the lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mia-Shontashia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review on your stay at Rydges World Square. It’s very pleasing to hear that our staff were very friendly and accommodating during your stay. We do strive to possess excellent customer service at Rydges World Square and it definitely sounds like we have provided it during your stay. I will definitely pass on your wonderful comments to the Reception and Concierge team.

It was a pleasure having you with us.

Kind regards
John McIlwain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Finding an affordable hotel in Sydney on the budget allowed by my employer is a challenge. Being a member of Rydges Priority Guest program, I was able to take advantage of a special price on condition that check-in was not available until after 8.30pm. Check-in was smooth and the service was great - smiles are always appreciated. The room was a good size for one person on a business trip and the bed very comfortable. I especially appreciated the peace and quiet which made for a restful night. The bathroom surprisingly had a separate shower and the only negative for me was the vanity unit being somewhat lacking in surface space for cosmetics etc. A note for housekeeping - more attention to detail is required, the hair in the bathtub was not attractive.

Room Tip: Rooms looking out onto the central atrium are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyday59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

happyday59, thank you for taking the time to review. I will be sure to pass your kind comments on to our Reception team who provided you with a friendly and efficient check in. I will also pass your feedback on to Housekeeping to ensure we are maintaining our standard of service.

Kind regards
John McIlwain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This hotel is surprisingly good and in a great location. The service and check-in was easy and we were upgraded to a suite. The view was looking at another building. The room was very quiet and clean and the bed comfortable. The breakfast was also good quality with plenty of healthy options.

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade to a suite with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tania d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, General Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Many thanks Tania d, for your great review. I’m glad we were able to accommodate an upgrade to one of our suits on your stay with us.

I hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Sydney.

Kind regards
John McIlwain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#61 of 181 in Sydney
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#79 of 181 in Sydney
1,744 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#23 of 181 in Sydney
6,220 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 181 in Sydney
4,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £109 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing