We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #60 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I have returned to this hotel but this time with my 2 children. It is in such a central location for Paddy's Market, Chinatown, Darling Harbour and Central Station. All within walking distance. The staff are awesome especially in the breakfast room. Nothing was any trouble and the kids were treated like kids not like they shouldn't be there. We had a great time again and will certainly be recommending Rydges World Square to whoever I can.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Hi Neita,
What a pleasin feedback and above all a great stay for you and the kids. I am pleased that you describe our staff as awesome and that your recommendation to others.
I hope you will become a regular at Rydges World Square with your kids.

Thank you


Ali Ulus
Hotel Manager
Rydges World Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,065 - 1,071 of 2,114 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

We booked the Hotel for 1 night from a Our Deal voucher for a Sunday night stay. Apart from the drama we had upon checking in with the vouchers. Our Deal didn't state that we needed the initial our deal voucher and not the hotel confirmation. Once this was rectified we checked in for a very pleasant night. Location was very good & room was sufficient providing the usual comforts of a 4 star hotel. Although you could get breakfast at the hotel there were plenty of options around the hotel to choose from.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Hi Tracey,
Glad that the minor issues were resolved upon check in and that you a comfortasble stay.
Thank you for your feedback.


Ali Ulus
Hotel Manager
Rydges World Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The location was perfect, within walking distance of darling harbour and also Circular Quay. The staff where amazing and happy to help with everything. Had breakfast at the hotel which was one of the best buffet breakfasts I have seen at a hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sideshowrob04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Sideshowrob04,
Our central location is an added bonus for our guests as it was with you. Pleasing also that our buffet breakfast exceeded your expectation.

Thank you for your feedback

Regards

Ali Ulus
Hotel Manager
Rydges World Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Location was handy to meetings I attended. Lots of great eats nearby and only a few blocks from bus or train to my other destinations. Upon arrival I was pleasantly surprised to find that I'd been upgraded to a 1 b'room suite which was comfortable and quiet even though I was on Pitt St side. The bed was supportive without being hard and the down pillows were welcome. Great bathrooms - I had 2 so my wife had her own bathroom :). Breakfast was enjoyable. All staff were friendly and eager to assist. Happy to stay here in future.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on highest floors & Ask for quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LAR60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Dear Lar60,
Thank you for your feedback, our Rydges Dream Beds are always receive positive feedback and I am glad that you enjoyed the upgrade with an additional bathroom.
We hope to welcome you back again and appreciate your feedback.

Thank you


Ali Ulus
Hotel Manager
Rydges World Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed at the Rydges for a week in Feb 2014. Great location, with numerous eating choices at your door, and Town Hall station just a 5 minute walk away. Rooms are typically bland business style, but well equipped, comfy bed, fast (paid) internet and good selection of Foxtel TV channels.

Breakfast is pretty good: standard hot selection, but they have a barista making fresh coffees and have an excellent selection of dried fruits, cereals, yoghurts and nuts for a healthy brekky.

The front desk were very friendly and were very helpful when i needed to print & scan a couple of documents.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are at the centre of the hotel - facing a lane so no view but nice & quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbenne22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Hello dbenne22,
Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our services especiall our breakfast buffet service and variety on offer.
Thank you once again.

Regards


Ali Ulus
Hotel Manager
Rydges World Square

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We normally stay in a couple of blocks from Circular Quay, but in this instance, the hotels were priced to the extreme, so my wife booked the Rydges and we certainly weren't disappointed. Only one block from Museum Station (great to get from/to airport) and a leisurely 15 min walk to the Quay and this hotel is surrounded by better value cafes (for breakie) than you find in the centre of Sydney.Also, the building houses a major supermarket & a large selection of specialty shops, just one minute from hotel. The actual hotel rooms are more than adequate, clean & comfortable. Staff are very friendly & helpful. Only thing is the hotel is a popular venue for gatherings and was hosting a different conference/seminar each day for the three days we were there which filled the foyers with attendees sipping coffee & chatting, but no big deal. We will stay there again..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hi Gary,
Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback. I am very pleased that you were not disappointed with your recent stay at Rydges World Square. With just about every service available at our doorstep and the Museum Station just accross the road with a direct 10 minute service to Airport it can't get any better.
Hope to welcome you back for another great stay.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The location of this hotel is great: two blocks from Museum station and right in the hearts of the action on Pitt Street. The room was spacious and quiet so a good night's sleep was had.

The cafe outside the hotel (Kafe Kaz) puts on bacon and egg breakfast for $10.95 with a cup of coffee. Checking in and out was a breeze as was storing my bag for the whole day (prompt stowage and retrieval).

My only criticism was the room was not really clean which was surprising. It is never a good look when the carpet has crumbs from the previous guest(s) and there was an apple stalk visibly sitting on the carpet when we moved in. The bathroom had mould and someone's hair in the corner. These are matters that require attention by management, but did not really detract from the positives and for $179 per night for the middle of Sydney, I guess it's not that big a deal.

Room Tip: We were high up (18th floor) so very little street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank episode10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hi Episode 10
I would like to sincerely apologise for the issue of cleanliness with your room, I can assure that cour comments will be discussed further in an effort to ensure that we keep our attention to detail to our guest expectation.
I ma pleased to hear that you do enjoy our central location and I hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#61 of 179 in Sydney
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#31 of 179 in Sydney
1,111 reviews
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#77 of 179 in Sydney
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £91 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing