We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, quiet comfortable hotel, great sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #56 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Oztraylya
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Great price, quiet comfortable hotel, great sleep”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This hotel is toward the Central Railway end of Pitt Street; about an eight minute walk to the Pitt Street Mall.
We chose this hotel because of the price and our previous experience with Rydges hotels. It is a four star hotel but it compares well with the other five star hotels that we considered and were over twice the price. Good prices here; get yourself a Rydges priority card.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TuckerFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
I am so pleased to hear that not only did you enjoy the great benefits of being a Priority Guest Reward member which provides so many discounts but you also enjoyed our great service and competitive price.
Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    900
    372
    131
    63
See reviews for
376
625
174
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Nice enough,great for business travel.
Room was very clean, bed comfortable. Room was quiet, I was on the 17th floor. Gym is well fitted out, but the music was average, I'll take my own next time. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rounsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi Rounsie,
I am pleased that our clean and comfortable room met with your approval.
We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Booked to stay one night on April 15th. No issues booking in all the staff on reception very friendly. We were given a voucher each for a complimentary drink, a nice touch. However the room was very disappointing it really needed a complete reform along with the corridors leading to the room.
Shame really.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlannStourbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi Alann,
I am sorry thet the room and corridors did not meet with your expectation. I am pleased to advise that the full refurbishment of all guest rooms including corridors is planned to begin in a couple of months time and I hope that on your next visit you will enjoyed the new look decor of our guest rooms and corridors.
Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Checking in, our booking was unable to be found as it was "cancelled". After much discussion, it was discovered, and had even been prepaid. Of course the room wasn't ready to check in at 1.10pm, even though a special request had been made for a much earlier checkin upon booking. Neither was our request for a room on the higher floors. The rooms were nice, not large. The bathroom had not been cleaned thoroughly. The subsequent service post check in was prompt. Breakfast was basic, below expectation. Location was very good metres from George Street.
I would probably consider somewhere else the next time we stay in Sydney.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REDD29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hello REDD29,

Please accept my apology for any inconvenience caused to you due to not being able to deliver on your request. We always try to deliver on all requests but unfortunately due to occupancy levels we cannot deliver on some requests.
Should you wish to discuss this matter with me please do not hesitate to contact me.

Thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambewarra, Nsw
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed 3 nights. Booked a room with included breakfast, wifi and valet parking

Wonderful to be able to drive up to the front door and walk straight in with the bags rather than having to lug them from the parking myself

Service was friendly. Ate 2 nights in the restaurant and they had a dinner special 2 courses for $29 which was quite adequate for what I needed.

Location was great to access downing centre court complex. Also close to the capitol theatre and george st cinemas. Coles supermarket close by in basement of world square.

Room Tip: Sign up for the rewards program for possible upgrades and complimentary drink on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fangfluffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear fangfluffy,
It is good to hear that you enjoyed the convenience of our valet parking upon arrival. It also pleasing that our 2 course special in the Sphere Restaurant met with your approval.
Thank you for your feedback and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverell, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

As I indicated in an earlier review (2009), "that when staying in the Sydney CBD, I will happily return to stay at the Rydges World Square Hotel" and nothing has altered my earlier review. This is the third time I've returned to stay at the hotel and on this occasion we stayed in an 'executive one bedroom king suite', which was a large spotlessly clear and well appointed suite. The Hotel is within 200 meters of the George St., Cinema area, whilst an easy 10 minutes walk to Darling Harbour. Great service and remains an excellent location to stay. Booking on-line through the Hotels website as a Priority member can generally pick-up a good room deal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gamain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Gamain,
It certainly is pleasing to receive such positive feedback consistently from our regular guests.
It is a pleasure to welcome you back each time and hope we can welcome you back more often.
Thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had not had a break in Sydney since July 2013 and decided that it was time to return for a quick getaway.
Thursday & Friday nights 27-28 March were our preferred dates.
A quick email and we were booked in.
On arrival we were warmly welcomed by the ever friendly Concierge Serhan.
Our room was the amazing Bellerive Suite.
We had a busy few days out and about but had a relaxing haven when we needed to relax.
Always a pleasure to stay in this hotel

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calliegirl15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hi Calliegirl,
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your well deserved break and that our Head Concierge Serhan looks after you well.
Hope you can have a relaxing break at Rydges World Square more often.
Thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Hotel Manager
Rydges World Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#27 of 179 in Sydney
1,033 reviews
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#76 of 179 in Sydney
1,666 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Property: Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing