We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average at best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #52 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Average at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

Quite a dated hotel. Room was reasonably clean but extremely dark even with all the lights on. Room was ready when I arrived early. Location is great, about 5-10min walk to Darling Harbor. Staff at reception was very helpful. TV wasn't working at first and guy on the phone wasn't very nice to deal with although the person who came up to sort out the problem was very polite.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RudimaxOrion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Hi Prashil,
Please accept my sincere apologies for the issues raised in your feedback, I will ensure that your comments are passed on to ensure such issues do not occur again.
I would like to advise that we will begin the reburshment of all our guest rooms very shortly and the fresher new look rooms will also have ample lighting.
Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    576
    874
    362
    131
    61
See reviews for
365
612
170
561
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Let's start with the good stuff. The staff are professional and very helpful, the hotel location is pretty good (although World Square isn't one of my favourites), the bedding here is very good and the guy downstairs in the bar makes a mean Negroni. Areas that could improve - the rooms, whilst well equipped feel a little dated and stale. And I felt the value for money proposition wasn't great either. Don't get me wrong, i'm not saying they are bad, but its a competitive market and other Sydney hotels have more compelling offerings.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteKnightDBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi WhiteKnightDBS,
Great to hear that you enjoy our service and I would like to also reassure you that our rates are very competitive with our competitors.
On another positive, we will be starting the refurbishment of our guest room in the coming months and I am sure that our new look rooms will also meet with your expectation.
Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stay here so many times now. The staff would usually put me into my favorite room if available . Quite corner with view. The bed here and Hilton hotel is similar, I always get a good sleep. The gentlemen made coffee is kind, friendly and a very good memory of your cafe. I enjoy breakfast here too.

Room Tip: Ask for corner end room if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goexplorenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear goexplorenow,
I am very pleased to that you enjoy your stay and that we are uour favourite hotel.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoalhaven, Australia
Level Contributor
178 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

For the price, location and service you cannot beat this hotel. The location for shopping, transport and restaurants cannot be beaten in this price range. Always comfortable beds and well equipped rooms add to the value, plus valet parking.

Room Tip: I have stayed in every room type, and it is important to remember that there is no such thing as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellinallover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear travellinallover,
It is great to hear that you enjoy your stay each time at Rydges World Square.

Thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Have stayed a few times at Rydges World Square. Would recommend especially for a family in their family rooms.
Staff are friendly especially the parking guys who always have a smile.
Overall good value for Sydney given there is valet parking available.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank familytraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear familytraveller007,
Thank you for your recommendation and it was good to hear that we had once again met your expectation with our consistent high standards.

Thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

I stayed for a weekend with my daughter. On check-in, staff noticed that I was travelling with a child and I was immediately offered a family room with two bedrooms at no extra cost. Service was friendly and efficient. Rooms are dated but clean and tidy. Great location and competitively priced compared to similar hotels in the area.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danellaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hi DanellaMelbourne,
It is great to hear that our staff member was proactive and offered you a complimentary upgrade to make your stay more comfortable. I would like to advise you that we will be starting refurbishment of all guest rooms shortly and on your next visit I am sure you will also approve and enjoy our new look rooms.
Thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Hotel Manager
Rydges World Square
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed at numerous Rydges properties around Australia on business trips, this hotel is the best in the Rydges group I have stayed in thus far.
Food, service excellent and well priced for a CBD hotel. Room was very comfortable and had a separate shower, normally combined with bath. One of the better hotel gyms I have used.
Staying here makes business trips much more bearable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Hello Paul R,
I would first of all like to thank you for taking the time to give me your positive feedback. Such comments are passed onto our team members to ensure that they are aware that our guests appreciate their efforts in ensuring they have a great stay, so thank you once again for rating us as the best in the group and we look forward to welcoming back again.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#72 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Property: Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing