We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the staff make this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #56 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“All the staff make this place”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights for a conference in late May 2014. The rooms are clean and comfortable, though a little bit of touching up of scuff marks on the walls and the furniture wouldn't go astray in a Sydney CBD hotel that charges like it does. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was spacious and well stocked and I was fortunate to have a small balcony off my room.

Being in the city, you do, unfortunately, experience some noise from adjacent venues, even on a Thursday night. And, there were 1 or 2 noisy neighbours wandering the corridors of the hotel late at night, but that can happen in even the best hotel, so that's not really a Rydges issue. And, it wasn't for long.

The buffet breakfast that was part of the tariff would appeal to most tastes, though the hot selection should actually be hot, rather than the lukewarm that it was on both of the days I went down for breakfast. In saying that, there was plenty of choice.

My biggest gripe is in relation to the parking. There is no dedicated forecourt for this hotel, so if you can't manage to find a parking spot out the front, you need to double park in Pitt Street to unload your car. There is a dedicated Loading Bay outside the front door, but it would only fit 2 cars at most. The parking at $60 per day is pretty steep in my opinion.

The thing that really lifts this hotel are the staff. They were friendly and welcoming without being overbearing, in every part of the hotel - from front desk to wait staff to housekeeping. They were accommodating to requests such as late checkout and were always eager to be of assistance. I particularly liked the fact that the kitchen staff were able to work around my allergy during the morning and afternoon tea breaks and ducked back into the kitchen to bring me a special order treat. For them, it was no trouble, and all done with a smile. Whatever Rydges' procedures are in terms of team training and the way their staff are expected to deal with the public, it works really well.

I'd be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: Book a balcony room - it's great to not be air conditioned all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJR68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear DJR68,
Thank you for taking the time to give me a very informative feedback.
First of all I would like to apologise for the issue regarding the breakfast and your comments have been passed onto our Executive chef to ensure that it does not occur in futire.
Parking get get a bit hectic at busy times on Pitt street however, our concierge team are always at the entrance to assist guests with parking and luggage as they arrive.
I was very pleased to hear that our attentive staff members attended to your speacial dietry requirements.
Once gain, thank you for your feedback and I hope we will welcome you back soon.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,061 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    592
    902
    373
    131
    63
See reviews for
378
626
174
582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

we've stayed here many times. The levels of customer service have increased significantly. The rooms are spacious and the property is handy to everything in CDB. The bar for relaxing drinks or snacks is handy. Couldn't recommend it more.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozfarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi ozfarmer,
It is great to hear that you have noticed and also enjoyed the great customer service that we achieve.
It is always pleasing to hear from our regular guests and thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.
Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Rydges are generally reasonable hotels and I am happy to stay in them. This hotel was centrally located in Sydney - but I was staying here for business and the venue was the hotel itself.

A little disconcerting to be dropped off by the taxi at one of the two entrances, particularly the entrance that was closed and no clue which direction to walk to get to the entrance that was open. I arrived late on a Friday night and the area was very busy. Asked for a quiet room and got one on the 8th floor that overlooked the main square where lots of people were eating and drinking at the local venues - in other words NOT quiet at all.

I wouldn't choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrybelle1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi Terrybelle1966,
Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience caused to you due to the entrance on Liverpool street being closed. We do have a notice that the doors on this side close at 9pm on a friday night with a clear instruction on how to enter from the main entrance which is about 30 metres away.
Once again I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you and thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Went to Sydney to visit friends and attend 2 day meeting. Good location and comfortable hotel. Food at breakfast was overcooked. My wife had dinner at the same Resturant and her food was also overcooked. Breakfast was not worth the amount charged. Do not pay for it and go outside

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarkins99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Jarkins99,
I am disappointed to hear your comments regarding breakfast and the dinner. I have passed on your comments to the department managers concerned in an effort to overcome the issues.
Please accept my sincere apology for meeting your expectation.

Thank you for your feedback.

Yours Sincerely
Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights in May which was a really good choice because Sydney's "Vivid" light show was on ( every year in may for a couple of weeks). Phew... So much to see, walking distance to it all ! Our room was a good size., didn't get made up most days until later in the day and a couple of times the mini bar and fridge weren't replenished...Plse leave a reasonable amount of tea/coffee/milk ! Not just a couple of satchets... The "Sphere" restaurant offered a good variety and most staff were very obliging, we encountered one staff member in the evening that was rather pushy and overbearing but overall a nice place. One thing though... The breakfast food on offer. ....All hot dishes were covered with heavy lids and for some obscure reason., the wooden place mats to put the lids on while you were placing food onto your plate., we're BEHIND the dishes so you had to reach to the back of the counter to put the lid down while you put something on your plate. These lids are heavy and too bad if you are short because you can't reach to the back of the servers . And nothing was labeled so you had to lift all the lids to see what was on offer. It was all made easy for the staff ! How odd, I have never come across that before. The hotel is beginning to look tired and our corridor wasn't vacuumed while we were there and it needed it but on saying that, our room was very comfortable and clean. The concierge and front of desk staff were exceptional , very friendly and knowledgable . I would stay here again and would recommend it. Sydney has a lot to offer and Rydges was a good place to stay to "see it all"

Room Tip: I think all rooms would be fine. The mattresses are bliss, as are the pillows. I would imagine that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi Dianne,
Thank you for your feedback and your suggestions. The points you have mentioned have been passed onto the appropriate departments.
Please accept my sinere apology for any inconvenience caused to you and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon and your comments regarding your next stay.
Thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiama, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

after an overnight flight, we were hoping to leave our bags and return to the hotel later, however our expectations were exceeded when we were offered a room at 9am! So good to shower and change before stepping out. The hotel was central to both Chinatown for lunch, and Circular Quay, an easy walk to the harbour for 'Vivid Sydney'. We chose Rydges for the 'Dream Beds', always guarantee a good nights sleep. Only slight negative , but we didnt really care - the bathroom was a little dated, needs new tiles & a freshen up. Otherwise good stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi Lozmum,
That is a great stay, if we exceeded your expectations than our staff members are certainly doing doing it right.
I hope that you will return once again for a great stay.
Thank you for your comments.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A warm welcoming hotel, staff could not be more caring. Our room was ready at check in and we were assisted with parking our car.
What a great location for walking to the Chinese Garden of Friends, Darling Harbour, The Harbour Bridge and the Mall. So many places to visit and such a wide variety of restaurants in these areas a great place to holiday and enjoy a relaxing time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurora945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Hi Aurora945,
I am delighted to hear that our staff were welcoming and that you also enjoyed our central location.
Thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#75 of 179 in Sydney
1,670 reviews
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 179 in Sydney
1,036 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Property: Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing