We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #55 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrible Stay”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We have had the worst stay at this hotel for the last 3 nights. We were unfortunately for us given a room directly above road construction which went on all night! So we haven't had much sleep and have thankfully been given a new room in a quieter part of the hotel today. Overall feel there is a lack of care going on in this hotel. They could have communicated to us when we checked in regarding the noise and offered us options - this didn't happen! The breakfast is awful where all the hot food looked stewed! Unimpressive hotel.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Mimeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Mimeck,
Please accept my sincere apology for emergency roadworks that were carried out during the nights of your stay. Unfortunately we do not have any control as to when the works can be carried out. Following up on your comments I was able to see that you had brought your concerns to us on yhe 3rd night of your stay and our staff members immediately offered a room re allocation for you and also given you a reimbursement of costs incurred as an apology for the inconvenience caused to you.
I am sorry to hear that you felt that there was a lack of care.
Thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    903
    374
    132
    63
See reviews for
379
626
174
584
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Don't expect to find a grand street entrance as the lobby is one level up. An entry from two street makes up for this.
The lobby was clean but if entering from the secondary dntrance, not particularly well indicated.
Rooms are well presented with a generous bathroom. The staff were pleasant and always acknowledged guests with a greeting.
Each room is individualy climate controlled, however this seems to be a placebo with no noticeable change to the rooms environment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Lou B,
Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback. You are correct in saying that each room has individual teperature control and should an issue be reported regarding any matter with a room our staff will attend to resolve it asap. I am sorry that there was such an issue with your rooms temperature control and for any inconvenience caused to you.
Thank you once again for your feedback.

Yours Sincerely,

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Great location pleasant staff on arrival. Room was spaciousness enough clean and well maintained. Hotel bar was great bar staff that remembered your previous drink oder, the outside area was clean with heaters all around with was great as it was about 6 degrees C in the evening. The only let down was the service to the airport in the early morning, we booked with the concierge we had to be at the airport for 6 am so we were told it would take about 30 minutes and would cost around $35 we to the lobby at 5.20 am and the taxi was hailed trip took 20 minutes but cost nearly $50 when the metre in the taxi said $ 43 when ask about the difference was told abruptly its road tolls and would not give me a receipt for full amont.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank fremantle32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Fremantle32,
I am pleased that you enjoyed our services during your stay.
I would like to apologise for the incident with the taxi to the airport, the information given to you by our staff are correct in regards to time to get to the airport and the cost however they should have also advised that if the route taken is through the toll that it would cost more however the taxi driver should have given you the correct receipt.
I am sorry once again for the miscommunication from our staff.
I hope that we will once again have the opportunity to welcome you back.

Thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Was at this hotel with a group of 30 colleagues. As we were coming in late, the hotel made arrangement for us to receive our room keys very fast. Immediately after we left the coach, we started receiving our keys. Used their meeting rooms too, pretty nice. Staff were ever ready on hand to help with anything. However, the meals were too similar. We arranged for a lunch the day before another dinner at the hotel. The menu of both meals ended up almost the same. Also as the hotel is very packed, requests for late check out was initially rejected but finally after some pleading, one of the hotel staff helped to arrange for some rooms for late check out. The business centre could be improved though. The printer was low on toner and my printouts were looking very bad. I asked for help from the staff who didn't replace the toner but gave it a shake. That helped a little but I ended up having to shake the toner several times between printing!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hi Hazel,
It is good to hear that our staff ensured a fast check in process to you and your colleagues upon arrival.
I must admit that some of the other issues could have been handled better, I will ensure that your comments are passed on and followed up by the departments concerned.

Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The location of the hotel was vital for me cos the companion i was staying with had problems walking too much. I've stayed in this same hotel 4 yrs ago and after checking out the other hotels we decided to choose the same hotel this time as well. Service is so-so. Didnt booked the room with breakfast so not sure how was the breakfast selections. Rooms were clean and spacious enough. Bed and pillows were good and comfy.. we rested well.

What i really like about this hotel is location location location... and the TV channel selection.

Since the shops in Australia generally close early and we were situated right smack to a shopping and eatery mall, close by chinatown, lots of convenient stores, it was really very accessible to settle our meals, chill out at coffee joints or pubs, get our groceries and so convenient to travel around. Most bus services pass through our street and trams are close by.
we watched alot of TV as well right through the night.

Its a good hotel to stay in, if you could just ignore the 'fakeness' of their reception staff. The concierge was not sure how to advise travellers to move about, only 1 particular man on duty knew his stuff, the rest were just hopeless.

Room Tip: good location of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryGstark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Hi GerryGstark,
Thank you for your feedback and I was happy to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel.
I was concerned however to hear your comment in regards to our staff as our team members always go out of their way and above guest expectation to ensure that their requests are met and have an enjoyable stay. I am sorry that you had such an impresiion.
Thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Staying on the 13th floor (2 levels above street level). Quite a noisy room from the street generally and some roadworks all night last night and tonight not helping the cause. It feels like the windows are wide open (they are closed shut) for basic traffic down below. Furnishings ok and could probably do with a spruce up. Business facilities basic and scant.

First time stay and expected better from this chain.

Room Tip: Request a room from level 18 or above and on the eastern side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marjencait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Marjencait,
Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience caused to you whislt the council work was being carried out on the street below your room.
Unfortunately we do not have control of when emergency works are being carried out.
Once again I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused to you.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Stayed here twice both in similar rooms. They have the most comfortable beds EVER!!! would stay here again and again just for the beds! Never had any problems and would recommend to anyone wanting a stay in the city that is close to ust about everything!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank galface123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear galface,
Great to hear that you enjoy the comfort of our Rydges Dreams Beds which can be purchased on your website.
It is pleasing to hear of your recommendation to others and I hope that we can welcome you again in the near future.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#76 of 179 in Sydney
1,672 reviews
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#26 of 179 in Sydney
1,039 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Property: Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#51 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Prestigia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing