We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel in a very busy location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #59 of 180 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Rydges World Square is an ok hotel in a very busy street in the Sydney CBD, although they had valet parking ($60) it was hard to find an area at the front of the hotel to off load luggage, king room was large enough for 2 adults, room and bathroom was clean and tidy. Room was on the 19th level but traffic and nearby pub noise was heard throughout the night. Would reccomend this hotel, but other hotels in the area would be worth considering.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Mark W,
At peak periods it could be difficult to fing parking however our Concierge team members are always at the entrance of the hotel to take care of your vehicle without causing you any inconvenience.
Thank you for your feedback and hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,106)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

977 - 983 of 2,106 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were both really pleasantly surprised about the quietness of our room for such a central Sydney location. While the room didn't have a great view the trade off of peace and quiet was well worth it. Rydges give a good deal of publicity to their beds and we found the bed lived up to all their claims, it was very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful on every level. We had arrived quite early and they texted us as soon as our room was available, we found our bags had been moved there waiting for us. The Priority Rewards scheme is worth joining, at no cost, with the discounts, complimentary drink and 1pm checkout why wouldn't you? The only draw back was only two tea bags for two tea drinkers. The gym is well equipped with modern machines. We would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank david_chandler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear david_chandler66
I am very pleased to that you enjoyed the services during your stay and also took advantage of the great benefits of being a PGR member.
Our Rydges Dream Beds are always exceeds our guest expectations and can be bought through our website.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Booked a "special deal" where the site said 2pm check in. Paid and the confirmation had 2 checkin times. In bold 2pm and in small print 8.30pm. Of course that's what they tried on when we got there. Hotels.com sorted it. +1 hotels.com, -10 rydges. Basically hotels.com covered the cost of the "upgrade" to the advertised check in time. Additionally the free wife doesn't work (3 separate devices tried) and the ac in the room was out of gas. I'll never stay here again and I stay in Sydney all the time.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swamprat96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear swamprat96,
I am sorry to hear regarding the confusion about the check in, as you had booked a special rate with a 8.30pm check in. I would also like to advise that there has been no issues regardin our Wifi or airconditioning and all I can suggest is that it could be a simple human error.
I am sorry once again for the inconvenience caused to you and thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

A short 2 day trip to Sydney & whilst location was good, our executive king room was a little disappointing. Only 1 ceiling light in the foyer, so only other lighting was the bedside lights. The pillows were not good and the bath towels "scratchy". Only 2 black teabags provided each day, & both of us are tea drinkers, had to ask for more. Overall, OK, but for an executive king room and the price, we felt it was overpriced.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Sue L
I am sorry that we did not meet yopur expectation on your recent visit. I would like to advise however that we can supply extra amenities such as tea bags upon request and that we also have a pillow menu with a variety of pillows to suit your needs.
Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Visited with my daughter for a few days. Ideally situated for The Lion King show (5 minute walk), and close to Museum Station (5 minute walk) so getting to and from the airport was a breeze. Room was quite small but adequate - lovely beds! The only (minor) complaint I would have is that the lighting in the room was really poor. Only one ceiling light and that was at the entrance, so the main part of the room was very dim. The staff overall were very helpful - the person on reception when we tried to check in before 2pm was very offhand, but other than that everyone was very nice. As it is part of World Square there are heaps of options for meals if you don't want to eat in the hotel.

Room Tip: There were roadworks going on while we were there but as we were on level 17 they didn't bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Deenew22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Deenew22,
I am pleased that you enjoyed our central location on your recent visit. I would like to apologise regarding the check in as per your comments, our team member has been briefed of your feedback.
Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed for a weekend and I must say the service we received was first class. Nothing was to hard and the staff were very friendly and polite. We had room service while there and the food was excellent and affordable. Rydges world square will be on top of the list next I need a hotel in the city....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank borg69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear borg69,
It it great to hear that we are your first choice if ever in Sydney. I am pleased that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Stayed in a 1 bed king suite and it showed a bit of wear & tear. But it was very comfortable, especially the bed. All the staff were friendly & professional and the room service was very nice. The bar was a calm, relaxing place to sit in a booth & enjoy their boutique tap beer. My advice - hotel is affordable so go for a suite!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Lounger99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Lounger99,
Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that you also enjoyed the our services.
We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Rgards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#29 of 180 in Sydney
1,095 reviews
Meriton Suites
#8 of 180 in Sydney
5,646 reviews
Central Business District
Meriton Suites
Meriton Suites
#49 of 180 in Sydney
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £91 - £286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing