We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware of Internet - Not reliable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #62 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Firstly the good - Great location, comfortable beds, good overall service.

Not so good - They offer free wifi, but unfortunately I found it did not work on both my personal and work mobile phone with common apps e.g. Email, Facebook, Twitter, Instagram. Only internet I was able to access websites through the internet browser but that was it. Speed was very slow throughout, and and some times could not get websites to load at all. I asked about this at reception and they said this is something they are aware of.. but they don't have a fix for it. If you're a business traveller and need to access emails on your phone/tablet make sure you can do so via your web browser.

Also not so good - Stayed in an executive room, which they state is a larger room vs. Deluxe. Thought it was a standard sized room, so would hate to see how small the deluxe is. Rooms are dated, but haven't stayed in any other Sydney hotels to compare.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CashKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hi CashKiwi,
Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you with the internet service which has now been resolved.
I would like to advise that we are about to start the refurbishment of our guest rooms and I am sure the new look rooms will meet with your approval on your next visit.
Thank you for your feedback.

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

985 - 991 of 2,127 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Checking into the World Square Sydney I was greeted with a friendly face that did all she could to make sure my stay was comfortable. I was upgraded without question to a very nice clean suite with all the comforts. The room was neat and well made up. The bathroom was a generous size with a deep bath. The hotel location is a short walk to Darling Harbour, Central Train station and China town! The hotel "square bar" and "Sphere restaurant" offer service and hospitality equal to the best in Sydney, prices are reasonable and the food is wonderful with a great selection of wine and beers. They offer a great rewards scheme in priority guest, with savings on accommodation, food and drinks! I have stayed with the Rydges & QT chain over 5 states and know exactly what I'm getting! Sydney world Square is no exception to excellence, and I fully recommend the hotel as a great comfortable place to stay, with fantastic staff that help as much as possible to assure a satisfying stay. I will choose to stay there for my Sydney visits! I can honestly say this review is based upon my true experience when staying at World Square. Stuart.

Room Tip: Talk with the staff about your stay, they will try their best to cater for your needs if it is possi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stu C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hi Stu C,
Thank you for such a great feedback. Above all It is great to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of our services. I am very pleased to hear that you are a member of our Priority Guest Rewards program and enjoy all the added benefits.
Thank you once again.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Location is the best thing about the hotel which seems well overdue for an upgrade. Accommodation and restaurant is not up to the same level as Wellington or the new Christchurch Rydges that rate significantly higher. Buffet breakfast very bland and worth missing.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank JWALK007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Jwalk007,
I am sorry that we did not meet your expectation on your recent visit. I would like to advise that our refurbishment will begin shortly and I hope that the new decor will meet with your approval next time you visit.
Thank you for your feedback.
Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Rydges is a great option in this price bracket in this central part of Sydney. The rooms have a bit of style and are cosy and pretty. The staff are really helpful. It is big enough that they can deal with all your concerns. Nice breakfast too!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmandaG509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Amanda G,
I am pleased to hear that youy enjoyed all aspects of our hotel on your recent visit.
Thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Located in a very busy part of town, entrance is quite small from the street so parking can be a challenge as you must offload ON THE STREET and then hand the keys over for valet parking. If there are coaches present, then good luck!

Polite and helpful staff.

Rooms are clean and functional, not spectacular, but value for money compared with the more central hotels. Rooms are usually available so very reliable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Hi Nick W,
Thank you for your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I would like to inform you that there is no need to offload luggage yourself, please keep in mind for your next visit just to hand over the keys of your vehicle to our concierge and they will take care of luggage and parking of your vehicle.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel on a work trip as company has a contract with Rydges. As a Rydges priority guest member, I was welcomed to the hotel well and my special requests such as high floor request was taken care off.

I was given nice room on 20th floor and it was nice spacious room. Room had nice dream bed and with everything that you need a room. Because hotel is located in the middle of the city, there is not much views from the room.

Hotel is located in world square area which is close to lot of attractions, shops and restaurants. Hotel provides valet parking service which I absolutely loved it and it was convenient. When I first got there at the hotel, valet parking stag were not very attentive and had to wait where staff member didn't acknowledged that I am in front of the hotel wanting my car to be parked. However, throughout my stay and at check out concierge staff were great and I was greeted every time I got to in front of the hotel and when I left.

Hotel also has a restaurant which provides buffet breakfast which I thought was bit disorganized as for some of the items there was no labeling to what they were. When you get to the counter, staff asked that you can seat anywhere but doesn't explains where things are like any other buffet restaurant would do. Good quality was ok.

Otherwise the stay was wonderful and no doubt I will be staying here for work trips. In fact, I'm coming back next week.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Rameez H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear Luxurious88,
Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback. It is pleasing to hear that we met your expectation on your recent stay and that you will be returning once again.
I have passed your comments regarding the breakfast to our executive Chef for follow up and action.
Thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards

ALi Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed there for 1 night while in Sydney earlier this month. The rate wasn't cheap but we just wanted to be close to our family. We could have paid a little bit more and stayed at the Hilton or Sheraton! The room and bathroom were old and small. Concierge was super friendly though and the check in and check out was efficient which was good. But some renovation is definitely needed!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HKLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Dear HKLouise,
I would like to advise you that we are about to begin the refurbishment of our guest rooms and I hope on your next visit our new look rooms will meet with you approval.
Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#61 of 181 in Sydney
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#79 of 181 in Sydney
1,744 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#23 of 181 in Sydney
6,220 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 181 in Sydney
4,984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £109 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing