We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #56 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    912
    377
    132
    63
See reviews for
382
628
176
590
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel location is very good because the important tourist spots like the Sydney Opera House, Souvenir Market, Restaurants, China Town, Malls and The Westfield are very accessible within walking distance. The hotel is even near the shopping places and a nearby Cole's grocery is just behind.

I had a peaceful sleep in this hotel, the rooms are spacious and very clean. What I've observed though is that Cable channels are not too much wherein all channels are the same.

Please don't expect any free slippers and toothbrush / hygiene kit other than soaps in your bathroom. It was said that hotels in Sydney don't generously offer those "usual" amenities you get from a 4-5 star hotel. To add to my dismay, during our time of stay there was NO FREE wifi access which was really a major setback becuse this is the only hotel I've stayed that has NO free wifi access to all its guests otherwise, I could have given a 4 or 5 star in my review.

The staff are helpful but don't expect free butler service if you're used to someone helping you with your luggage. Butler service is with charged. As they say, nothing is free in Sydney. Everything comes with charge.

Breakfast buffet is ok but on the 3rd day I couldn't force myself to eat with gusto just what I did during my first day in Rydges because everything was all of the same. Maybe they should consider a change in their breakfast menu every other day.

Overall, it is still good to stay in this hotel because of its location and good sleep quality. Something to consider when in Sydney.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Foxykix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Foxykix,
Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.
I would like to advise that we do provide extra amenities such as slippers and added toiletries with our compliments upon request.
We also do provide free Wifi access to all our inhouse guests so I am concerned that you were not aware of this.
Our Concierge team are always attentive to our guests needs to assist with luggage upon arrival and departure. This of course is quite different to a butler service who assist with your packing and unpacking which unfortunately we do not provide.
Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience might have caused to you during your stay by not meeting tour expectations and should you wish to discuss the points raised in your feedback please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Yours sincerely

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

World Square Rydges is so centrally placed. 10 minutes walk to Capital theatre and to the light rail at Hay Market and Paddy's Market.
The Japanese restaurants near by are fantastic as is the mall downstairs with access to Coles, ATMs and desserts ($1 macaroons) to take back to your room.
The hotel staff are all friendly, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Family Room for sure if travelling with 2 kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Danielle B,
Great to hear that you enjoyed our location and the friendly service from our staff.
Thank you.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed four days in Sydney on our last leg of our holiday. The whole idea was to meet up with our daughter and to catch the sites and see The Lion King. Rydges was the perfect spot to do it all. The breakfast offering was very average, but ok.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi TriciaC,
Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I thought this was a well locateed hotel, staff were friendly and welcoming on check in. Rooms a little small but was all we needed, very clean and comfortable. The bar was a good place for a drink and had plenty of atmosphere.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salesrepman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi salesrepman,
Glad you enjoyed our central location and of course the friendly and welcoming service from our staff .
Thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wisemans Ferry, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed for three days recently after a month long holiday in USA so we could have a rest before returning to our jobs. The location meant that we had (walking distance) access to the China Town and Darling Harbour areas of the city and all of the great eateries. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was more than adequate and very well kept. We will definitely stay there again.....

Room Tip: We stayed on the 20th floor and had no issues with noise or anything else at all!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Ron B,
It is great to hear that you had a restful stay after a long trip overseas. Thank you for your feedback.
Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queanbeyan, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2014

What an outstanding hotel. The bed was so comfortable and the staff were amazing. The breakfast accommodated for all diets. AMAZING!
We had the romance package and the bubbly was delivered within 5 minutes of checking in. It was cold and the chocolates were beautiful. We thought we had a $20 voucher for breakfast but it was room service. It was changed for us with no additional fees which saved us $30.
Great place and we will definitely saty there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Hi Sam G,
I am very happy to hear that your stay was absolutely magnificent. The service from our staff and the comfort of or Rydges Dream beds are always a positive with all our guests.
I Hope that you will return soon for another magnificent stay.
Thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 178 in Sydney
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#76 of 178 in Sydney
1,682 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Property: Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#52 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing