We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #52 of 176 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Two night stay”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

My son and I had a two night stay at the hotel as we were going to The Lion King and WWE. Check in was very quick and we were given a room with two double beds which was great! We arrived early due to flights, but we were able to check in straight away. Our room was on eighteenth floor and I must say it was the quietest hotel room I have ever stayed in. Not sure if the hotel was very busy, but it was very quiet. Beds extremely comfortable. Hotel within walking distance to theatre. Only complaint was on return from theatre we decided to have late room service dinner. Our call went through to reception and the girl who answered was not to receptive to my order and after waiting an hour and a half I called to cancel order only to discover the order had not been taken. This was the only disappointing thing about our stay. We did order at 1105pm, but if you do not want to offer 24 hr room service, don't offer it! Other than this our room was clean and comfortable. Checkout was quick and concierge looked after our bags as we had a late afternoon flight, which was great! We would stay at the hotel again, great location.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Janine H,
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay however I was disappointed to hear the issue with the room service order, please accept my sincere apology for the issue and the inconvenience caused to you.
Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Yours Sincerely

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    887
    365
    131
    61
See reviews for
369
616
170
573
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jervis Bay
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

I have stayed at this motel several times and each time I'm never disappointed. Rooms fantastic, customer service Excellent and efficient Valet Parking.
The reason we keep going back is not only is this a lovely motel with excellent staff, the location is fantastic. A brief walk to China Town, Paddys Markets and Darling Harbour.

Also you are not affected by the street noise. The rooms are soundproof from the nightlife in the street.

Thanks for another fantastic stay and looking forward to our next trip.

Room Tip: Room with a Balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FijiIsMyDestination
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear FijiIsmydestination,
It is always great to hear from our regular guests. I am pleased to hear that you always enjoy your stay with us and I do appreciate you taking the time to give me your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

From the moment I walked in the room and saw the toilet hadn't been flushed ( had toilet paper in it ) and long black hair on the bathroom floor I was surprised to say the least .

To making a cup of tea on the sat night and the milk was off . Called housekeeping who at 8.30 said they would send done up . At 9.30 pm I gave up and went to bed .

The hair dryer blew up and was not replaced .

I never got the paper delivered to my room I'm sure as a priority guest I should ?

Just feel very let down .weve stayed there the last 4 years for city2 surf And I normally share a room. This year decided to get my own room .

It's certainly not cheap so I expect better service .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleBTau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear LittleBTau,
Please accept my sincere apology for the issues during your recent visit, I can assure you that this is not the service standards that we provide and your comments and issues have been passed onto the departments concerned for further follow up.
I appreciate you taking the time to give me your feedback and I do hoipe that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Yours sincerely

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location: right in the city and accessible by train, buses and taxis. The World Square mall is right next door so there are plenty of restaurants, cafes, shops and a supermarket nearby.

The hotel was clean and the service was good. We booked a standard room and asked for an extra bed, which the hotel prepared for and the room was sufficiently big enough for us. They even sent our bags up when the room was ready since we were early to check in. Our room on the 15th floor was clean and comfortable, with all the standard amenities including tv with satellite channels, safe and wifi. The bathroom was also clean and properly stocked. We didn't eat in the hotel since there are so many choices right outside and in the mall.

All in all, it was a great place for us who were visiting Sydney on holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KL_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Clmhome,
I am pleased to hear that our location,cleanliness and service met with your approval and I hope that you will visit again soon.
Thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This place is in sore need of a renovation and at least a good cleaning.

Most of the floors are covered in dirty old wall to wall carpets and it stinks to high heaven.The cutlery in the dining room is often unwashed and the food is presented in a rather undelicate fashion in old rusty pots.

The overall impression of this place is that everything is sticky, smelly and dirty.

Stay clear!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AMSo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Sear AMSo123,
Please accept my sincere apology for the issues raised in your feedback, this is certainly not the standard of service and facilities we provide and your comments have been passed ointo the department managers for follow up to ensure that our attention to detail is always at highest levels possible.
I appreciate you brining the issues to my attention.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
washington, dc
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I came here on business, but I would not recommend this hotel for business of pleasure.

The rooms are quite old and a bit shabby. The walls had dirt on them and the bedside table was sticky the first night when I went to put my alarm clock on it. Half the desk was taken up with the "mini bar". Even after I moved it, there wasn't enough room for all my work materials on the desk. Then I come to find out that the internet blocks VPN usage! Completely unacceptable for working.

The bathrooms are odd, without enough space by the sink for toiletries. The only clothes storage is at ground level, which is completely useless. And the gym is carpeted - which is just unsanitary.

The staff is nice, but completely unhelpful and not very responsive.

Location is decent - 10 minutes to the Harbor and 40 minutes to the Opera House. Lots of places nearby to eat, and is on the edge of China town. Don't eat in the hotel, as it is not worth the money - especially breakfast.

My goal each day was to spend as little time in my room as possible. Difficult when I needed to get work done. Good thing there was a cafe across the street with free wifi!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vkb1922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hi VKb 1922,
Please accept my sincere apology for not meeting your expectation during your stay. It seems that the party that you were part of and travelling with have also pointed out same issues in their feedback.
Please be assured that I will be following up on the issues raised and I do appreciate your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nice place to stay in the centre of the city as it is close to George st, the museum, china town and darling harbor. Rooms are nice and clean. Restaurant and bar are also good. Breakfast was great. If you love Asian cuisine this is the place to stay as outside they are all around and china town is a 2 minute walk away. It is also close to the entertainment centre, Capitol theatre and State theatre. Stay here if you want a great hotel within close proximity to everything in the city. We stayed for the Bridge run in September and then again to watch the Lion King at the Capitol theatre in January.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Hi Steven,
It is great to hear that our central location met with your expectation.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#28 of 176 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#74 of 176 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Property: Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing