We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rydges hits the family mark.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #67 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

The Rydges World Square suited my family situation very well. Two bedrooms sharing a bathroom and most importantly no second door to the kids room like would have happened with an interfconnecting room. We ate breakfast in the hotel and the staff were great. We ate dinner in the restaurant and the service like breakfast was excellent. The valet parking and bell staff could not have been more helpful. I think the best service I have had a a hotel in a long while.

Room Tip: The family room was a very good option for a small family
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Wayne B
Thank you for your feedback, it is great to hear that we met all your expectations during your stay.
We hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

975 - 981 of 2,151 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here to go to the Lion King which was a short stroll down the road there are lots of pubs and cafes around so we had a choice of where to go the room was roomy and the shower was to die for.... would definitely stay again

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovedup2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hi Lovedup2014,
It is very pleasing to hear you had such a great stay and also enjoyed our central location.

Thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Have stayed at this hotel a couple of times. It is in a good location to explore Sydney, or adventure further afield. The rooms are comfortable and quiet. The staff were friendly and helpful especially at reception. The price is average for the location and rating. Would stay there again. Had a drink in the bar, prices reasonable and good selection.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noddy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hi Noddy,
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed in this hotel. It is extremely clean and the staff are extremely friendly.

The location is very convenient and there area many shops and restaurants in the world square area.

I definitely recommend this place to all and look forward to staying here again next time I am in Sydney.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ioannis86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hi Ionnis86,
Glad that your expectations were met on your recent stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Just what a hotel in the middle of Sydney for its price should be. Stayed here for a few nights for work. a reasonable sized room that was a bit dated but well maintained and clean. The free Wi-Fi was a plus, but a bit of a hit and miss sometimes. location was great with Coles in the basement for an easy quick snack. The only negative was the lighting in the room. No real main light only lamps so the room was always dark, where the bulbs had been changed to LEDs, which is good but they now don't put out enough room to effectively light the room as a regular bulb would have. All in all a good stay and I would go back.

Room Tip: the higher the better for road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr0wingFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hi GrOwing Family,
Thank you for your feedback and suggestions, I do appreciate your honest feedback.
I would like to advise that the issue of lighting is being attended to as you have suggested.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I arrived at the Rydges after a very long flight I arrived at the hotel very early in the morning and although my check in time wasn't till 2pm they told me I could go straight to my room which was a blessing as I was so tired. They also gave me free wifi to use in my room which was an extra bonus as i was expecting to pay from what I had read on there website. The gentleman at reception was lovely and very helpful. A young gentlemen helped me with my bags and brought them to my room he was very helpful and even helped to show me where my room was located. The room was everything I could have asked for very clean and bed was so comfy. Bathroom was great I had a shower and a bath which was just lovely. I ordered room service one night and was lovely, staff again were very friendly and had my meal brought to me within 20 minutes. The hotel is in walking distance to everywhere which was fab. On checking out staff were lovely once again, I asked the gentleman at the front if he can get me a taxi there were non outside the hotel but were a few just around the corner of the other side of the hotel, he walked me round and carried my suitcase for me and made sure I got in the taxi ok. This was a great stay at the Rydges I can't thank the staff enough for there kindness. I would definitely stay here again when I visit sydney.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Faye151,
That is certainly a great stay.
I am very pleased that to hear that your expectations were obviously met by the standard of service from our team members.
Thank you for your feedback.

Regards
Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Start with the positive: great location, great concierge, good bed.

But there is room for improvement: Rooms are outdated, in need of complete refurbishment. Stains on the wall, stained and damaged furniture. My room was not clean at check-in, the carpet was very dirty and the toilet and shower not properly maintained/cleaned, and there was a sticky substance on some furniture. Had to complain to front desk, and problem was solved for a day. Insufficient space in the bathroom for toiletries. Bathroom amenities mediocre. Insufficient space for my clothes, half my shirts were hanging on top of safe. Black-out curtain sticky, other curtain grey-brown (as one would normally expect in a smoking room). Window difficult to open, but aircon not effectively working (noisy air recycling system). Noise from the street (especially on Saturday night). Wifi very slow, VPN services are blocked. Housekeeping not doing its job: hairs on the toilet, forgot to give new towels, forgot to replace soap, dust is everywhere and a big stain right next to the mirror was never cleaned. The housekeeping carts left overnight in the corridors are very uninviting (and a fire hazard), but the aim is probably to hide some of the damage to the walls. Can’t really work at the desk, it is cluttered with min-bar items. No power sockets next to the bed, only near the desk. Breakfast priced AUD 27, or AUD 18 for some lucky ones, but it is not worth that much. The hotel caters mainly to package tourists who probably get a free breakfast and this shows: coffee is bitter and weak, hardly any egg options, chewy danish, warm milk. Many front desk staff focus on fun and chatting (except when the manager seems to be present) and give inconsistent answers to the simple questions, like if breakfast was includes and why VPN was blocked. Stayed with a group of 10 and our experience was pretty much consistent.

Should I continue, or should you stay somewhere else?

Room Tip: Good room?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank DutchTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear DutchTree,
Please accept my sincere apology for not meeting your expectation during your stay. It seems that the party that you were travelling with have also pointed out same issues in their feedback.
Please be assured that I will be following up on the issues raised and I do appreciate your feedback.

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#63 of 186 in Sydney
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,425 reviews
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#79 of 186 in Sydney
1,777 reviews
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#60 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £116 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing