We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite Hotel in Sydney Central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel
Ranked #62 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Been staying here a couple of times whenever I am in Sydney.

Pros:

Excellent location to QVB, metro, walking distance to Darling Harbour. I like it especially because it is near my Australian HQ office in George Street and Kent Street
Excellent restaurant and Asian eateries especially Korean as well as shopping around the vicinity
Spacious and well-kept room; fresh and neat

Cons:

So far all my rooms faced office buildings; no nice city views
Adequate breakfast
Crowded lobby at times and you got to wait your turn (A favourite hotel for many airlines' cabin crews)

At the end of the day, it is down to a personal choice of central location versus tranquillity (which means farther away from the CBD)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Edmund K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Edmond,
Glad that our central location met with your needs and you also enjoyed our clean spacious room.
Hope to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

940 - 946 of 2,127 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2014

Very quick one night stay, but overall a good experience. The hotel is very central, and most things are well provided. Some good options to eat or drink on site, but so many other options right at your doorstep.

Rooms are clean, relatively modern, and great comfortable beds. They continue to commit the normal sin of no powerpoints beside the bed, but this is minor. The most irritating thing is a tv system that takes an unusually long time to change any channel. Not a good thing.

Rooms are clean, shower is great and hot. I'd recommend it for an average price, central city stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TravelAl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hi TravelA12010,
Glad to hear that yo enjoyed your stay especially the comfort of our Rydges Dream Bed.
Hope to welcome you back again soon.
Thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We opted for the Rydges hotel as we wanted a hotel in a good location of a certain standard (!).

The location of the hotel was perfect for us as we wanted to do some touristy sightseeing, some shopping, close to China Town and great food plus easy return after going to the Lion King at Capitol Theatre. It was also an easy 5min walk to the train station for the airport connector. We enjoyed being easy walking distance to Darling Harbour and the attractions there! Despite being further away, we were still able to walk up to the Harbour and The Rocks for the weekend market.

The hotel itself is well presented, and although the access was a bit funny, it was not as bad as some reviewers had led me to expect. There is shopping centre below, but it still has dual sided private entry off the main streets.

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a "Double Double" room during our stay due to some issues with our booking (not the fault of the hotel). The room itself was a good size, with comfy beds, good pillows - all the things you would expect. My only negative would be there were a number of scuff marks around the room - I felt it was ready for a deep clean and bottle of cream cleaner. This was not representative of a "dirty" room though - everything else was to standard.

The only facilities we used was room service. The service itself was excellent from the staff, but the food was average. We went with "can't get it wrong" club sandwich and pizza, which were okay but quite expensive for what was received.

The reception staff at the hotel were also excellent. They handled our agency reservation issues very gently and were very aware that we were tired from our trip so did their best to help us resolve our issues then find us (an upgraded) room for early check in. They were a credit to the company.

Overall I'd recommend this hotel. The main reason I drop one "star" is because of the high prices. While I can appreciate that there are "Sydney normal", it is hard to get my head around the cost/benefit compared to other locations!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canoes_Over_Taxis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Canoes_Over_Taxis,
Thank you for taking the time to give me a in depth feedback on your recent stay.
I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our staff members made sure that you were given a room after a long journey.
I was disappointed however in regards to the marks in your room and have passed on your comments to our Housekeeping to ensure our attention to detail is always up to high standards and meets with our guests expectation.
Thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Spent 4 nights in Sydney and booked a deluxe king room. On arrival we were upgraded to an executive king room. Very nice room, nice and clean, quite spacious with 2 armchairs for relaxing. Very comfortable bed and opening windows. Now that was a bonus for us, we really love to feel fresh air especially of an evening. large bathroom with a bath and separate shower. Rose from housekeeping from just lovely, nothing was any problem for her. The location was just great. Right above World Square shopping centre with a supermarket and plenty of eateries. There was also plenty of restaurant's within walking distance. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear LarryH
It great to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit and that our staff were able to offer you a complimentary upgrade.
Rose is one of our longest serving members of our housekeeping team and your comments have been passed onto her.
Thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback and I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back again soon.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

A great week end in Sydney at one of the most convenient locations that you could choose. We went to the Theatre - two blocks down; Paddy's Markets - three blocks down; out to dinner - across the road; out to breakfast - next door; and shopping - under the hotel in World Square. The only taxi fares were to and from the airport! And you have to love a hotel where you make a mistake in your booking, resulting in two double beds rather than a double and two singles, and they fix it for you by upgrading you at no charge. Super clean, comfortable and great staff. We will certainly look to staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J-Tasfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear J-Tasfoodie,
I am very pleased to hear about our stay and the complimentary upgrade given to you to make up for the incorrect bedding configuration.
We also look forward to your next stay and thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We 've stayed here before, this time was only a one night stopover to go to a theatre production at Capital Theatre. This hotel is less than 10 minutes walk to theatre. Valet parking was expensive $60/night; service was good though; we had to park down the street a bit as there is no assigned area for hotel parking, but the valet walked down , really there was no hassles.
Our room was clean,quite ,well appointed, bonus a window you can actually open for fresh air -no need for the aircon. We had a great deal on the room. It would be nice if they had a small cafe area for coffee& cake, this section is lacking for such a nice hotel.
We received a complimentary drink voucher-!! But only for one person,yet there was two of us!! Who gets the voucher?slack! Should be a voucher per person,not one per room. The reception said :- sometimes they give out 2 vouchers: but this was not our lucky night! We had dinner there too, they mixed our orders up, we ordered calamari & got ravioli instead, we accepted it, but didn't really enjoy it. Meals are small & the pizzas are lacking ingredients, very very skimpy on the meals - wouldn't eat there again . Breakfast was average, however no one to make you fried or poached eggs, you get what's there. They forgot our lattes, waited forever to get them,in fact we had finished breakie when they came.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stanely2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear stanley2010,
I would like to firstly apologise for the issues that occurred during your recent visit. Pleasse be assured that your feedback has been passed onto and discussed with the departments concerned to ensure that they do not occur in future.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again and if I can be of any assistance during your next visit please do not hesitate to contact me.

Yours sincerely
Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a suite with an extra rollaway bed as there were 5 of us. The beds were very comfortable and the room was lovely and clean. The first night I was feeling very hot so rang down for a fan, one was delivered to the room within 10 minutes. The mini bar was well stocked but we didn't partake as the goodies were cheaper in the store on the opposite corner. Would stay again if I visit Sydney

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennet200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerWorldSquare, Manager at Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Jennet,
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit and we look forward to your next visit.
Thank you for your feedback.

Regards

Ali Ulus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Radisson Hotel And Suites Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Chinatown
Novotel Sydney Central
Novotel Sydney Central
#61 of 181 in Sydney
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#79 of 181 in Sydney
1,744 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#23 of 181 in Sydney
6,222 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#64 of 181 in Sydney
4,985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel

Address: 389 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Avillion Hotel)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £109 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 454
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges World Square Sydney is centrally located on the corner of Pitt and Liverpool Streets, within the World Square shopping and business precinct in the CBD. This great contemporary hotel has a fantastic location with easy access to Sydney's major shopping areas, theatres and tourist attractions like Darling Harbour, either by Rail, walking or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rydges World Square Sydney Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges World Square Sydney
Rydges World Square Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing