We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very disapointed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Crown Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Crown Motel
Ranked #162 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
tahiti
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very disapointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2008

I have reserved the hotel for 5 nights on the website and when I arrived at the hotel it was very small no elevator and for the price we can get better HOTEL so the receptionist was give us the choice to pay now the 5 nights or to pay only one night to try, we had chose to pay one night and to try, she said there will be no fee if we choose to leave after this one night. After a poor night we have decided to change hotel and we were leaving and another young receptionist had confirm that there will be no fee so we were happy to change hotel.
Big surprise when I arrived to tahiti my bank told me that city crown have count 1 more night for the two rooms!! unbelievible!! I try to contact them for refund me but they don't want.
I will complaint with office of fair trading.

  • Liked — Not much
  • Disliked — Comfort, superficy, no elevator, crowed, remote
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank brylit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    27
    11
    8
    24
See reviews for
11
25
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2008

I stopped in Sydney in advance of my trip to check out accommodations, and was shown a small but nice room with outdoor seating area and booked it. When I arrived with my family, I was told that room was unavailable, and was given a dirty, small room without outdoor area--a classic "bait and switch." I would avoid this place.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Hotel
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AJS49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2007

Worst problem was that when I arrived my reservation (which had been confirmed by exchange of e-mail with the hotel) had somehow been lost or deleted, so I had no room reserved. Fortunately, there was space capacity and I was therefore able to check in. The bedroom had a rather musty smell to it and was quite unclean. My initial thought was to check out and find somewhere else to stay.

However, I stuck with it and things improved subsequently. The room smell went after a day or so (I suspect the previous occupant may have smoked in the room although the hotel is non-smoking). Hotel staff were all helpful and friendly except for one of the reception staff. There is a cafe connected to the hotel which was very good for breakfast, lunch and coffee. Bathroom was very clean and shower good. TV had no satellite channels.

  • Liked — Cafe, helpful staff, location and clean bathroom
  • Disliked — Bedroom initially was unclean and had musty smell, reservation was lost and no satellite channels on TV.
  • Stayed February 2007, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Bruno, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2006

Friendly Staff and excellent location. Accomodations were basic, great water pressure in the shower which was a plus. Would stay there again.

Stayed May 2002
Helpful?
Thank ixchel94610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2006

I stayed at the City Crown with my daughter for a week in January and was thrilled with our find.
Room rates are very competitive (we paid around AU$100 for a double room), and due to a last minute cancellation we were upgraded to a deluxe room for no extra charge. As was expected, the room was quite small, but had everything we needed (TV, DVD, bar fridge, new ensuite bathroom, desk, balcony, coffee/tea, wireless internet etc) and had obvously been recently renovated.
The staff were incredible, unlike any we have experienced before, and made us feel at home straight away. Location was brilliant, 10 minute walk to Hyde Park/CBD, 2 mins to Oxford St, heaps of great bars and restaurants very close.
The on-site Cafe was also excellent, particularly the breakfast menu.
The only negatives would be the appearance of the hallways (we were told that the owners are still in the process of renovating), size of rooms, very limited lock-up parking (book ahead), and minor damage to some of the furniture.
Overall a great stay and I would recommend to anyone looking for affordable accommodation in central Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Abey Hotel
Abey Hotel
#116 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#126 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#120 of 179 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Y Hotel City South
#115 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Surry Hills
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#134 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Crown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Crown Motel

Property: City Crown Motel
Address: 289 Crown St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Crown Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your City Crown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Crown Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing