We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of City Crown Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
City Crown Motel
Ranked #162 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Warsaw
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location, good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2013

Sydney is an expensive city. It's hard to find accommodation for two, bathroom included, for a little over 100$. This is what Crown Motel offers, but don't expect any luxuries. The rooms are clean, but worn-up already and rather small. Internet is free, although you rarely get the signal anywhere outside the reception. Still, The Crown Motel has several indisputable advantages: location (right in the heart of Surry Hills, with quick access to Oxford Street, Paddington, Central Station), proximity to several good places to eat, drink and have fun in, and friendly staff. In the end, being in Sydney, you will be spending majority of your time outside, so Crown Motel can be a good choice for those traveling on lower budget, but still wanting to stay in the city center. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcinPWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    27
    11
    8
    24
See reviews for
11
25
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Very clean and relatively quiet budget motel. Staff are lovely and helpful. Free DVDs, A/C. We got 2 queen beds for the price of one - bed on the left was a dream (room 33). Shower squirted mostly everywhere but down, enough to do the job though. Would definitely stay here again, given the price of other central Sydney accommodation. Gay couple (late 20s) - staying 2 nights between moving house and attending job interviews (iron and ironing board in the basement).

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dobsul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Beautiful Manning Valley NSW
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2013

Basic but clean comfortable safe & friendly. I had rm 25 up one flight of stairs. A small balcony overlooking a quiet leafy street. So quite we left the sliding door slightly ajar at night to let the fresh air in. It is very hard to find a hotel of this price in central Sydney these days. Keep your expectations at a realistic level and go for it! Also a good value cafe (great coffee) downstairs. I will stay hear again when price is an issue for me.

Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Kolodong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

I booked this hotel last minute, then read previous reviews saying avoid at all costs. I'm not belittling anyone else's opinion or experience, but given the price (equivalent of around 60 British pounds for a double room in one of the world's most expensive cities) and the excellent location (15 minutes walk from Central Station, 5 minutes walk to Oxford Street and 35 minutes pleasant walk to Circular Quay) it represents pretty good value for money.

I had a balcony, clean ensuite, free WiFi (which granted, didn't always reach as far as my room, so if this is an important feature then request a room on the lower floor nearer reception) and air conditioning. It's not the Ritz, but was the same price as a room in a hostel and definitely quieter and with better facilities. Although there is definitely a party element - I woke up to a couple of drunk girls discussing the late check out option (which is a bonus if you're there for a night out). This didn't bother me in the slightest but, maybe not an ideal family place. Really nice little coffee shop attached as well, that does room service if requested.

It's not luxury, but the staff are friendly and if the purpose of your trip is to explore the city and you don't want to pay over the odds for somewhere reasonable to rest your head then I would go for it. Also ideal for groups who are going out in Sydney and don't want to travel home, as it is walking distance to the nightlife. I've given it 4 - this is based on the cost for location.

Room Tip: If free WiF is in your package request a room on the ground of first floor, as my room was on the 2n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PollyR_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

We arrvied at the motel to stay 5 nights over new year. We had booked the family room as there was a group of 5 friends coming and we wanted a kitchen. When we checked into the room, it had an awful smell coming from the kitchen which just would not go, had no windows and overall was really dirty. After one night we asked for it to be clean and to get rid of the smell, the room was barley cleaned and we returned to all our toothbrushes covered in bugs from the cobwebs being cleaned. The smell still lingered, you were unable to go into the kitchen it was that bad.
We were then put into 2 different rooms and although a bit nicer, still dirty. We had to request a microwave and toaster after buying food to cook and now not being able to cook it. They did not seem to happy with this. We had lots of unexpected guests inlcuding cockroaches (many of them!) and lots of ants! After chasing down the manager for 4 days we got a refund for the first night and the inconvenience, but I recommend to not stay here! Awfull and we will NOT be going back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Have just had 4 nights at this very basic motel. Whilst I say basic, and I mean basic I have given them a 4 because it is in a fantastic location, it is quiet, the beds are comfy and the staff are friendly, it is reasonably priced and really just ideal for a base. My dad was in St Vincents Hospital so it was perfect for us being just a brief walk away.

There is a great cafe as part of the complex, an even better one next door and an abundance of wine bars, pubs, cafes and cool shops all within walking distance. The city is an easy walk away and the buses also near by.

Sure it could do with a really good make over but if you are willing to compromise fancy for reliable, reasonable rates and location then this is perfect. There is also secure parking underneath and a reliable shuttle service for just $14 to the airport available,

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AusNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bungendore, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We have been staying here for over eight years and I thought it was time to write a review.

We go up to Sydney to go to the footy and go out at night, as well as the occasional performance and a bit of walking (working our way round the harbour). The motel is perfectly located, on the edge of Darlinghurst and Surry Hills, so you can walk to the SCG and SFS, Kings Cross, the bars of Oxford Street, Paddington and the CBD. Central Station is close but it's a fairly steep walk back up. this does make it noisy in the neighbourhood until quite late.

Car parking is limited but secure under the motel; you need to book in advance for a car space.

The owners and their staff are great. It's a hectic family-run business, so the owners are occasionally a little stressed/frazzled.

Ensuite shower, toilet and vanity, with soap and shampoo supplied.

Rooms are serviced daily except Sundays (the busiest turnover day) but if you want fresh towels or more toilet roll you only need to ask.

Aircons and TVs have all recently been changed, as far as we can tell; we haven't stayed in *every* room yet.

Staff on site 24 hours, so you can always check in.

The rooms are definitely on the basic side and storage space is limited, but we've always found the beds comfortable, the facilities serviceable and the room clean.

The only time the room wasn't spotless was when I found myself unexpectedly stuck in Sydney one evening. I called to check and the last room had gone, but was called back to be told that some members of a larger group had gone and the rest had asked to downsize. The duty manager tidied the room and changed the bed. I was so grateful!

No stairs, three floors plus car park basement, stairs up to reception/ground floor.

Great cafe attached.

Room Tip: Rooms face front/east (Crown Street - noisy with people passing by till late), side/north (Reservoir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConradHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Surry Hills
Abey Hotel
Abey Hotel
#114 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Darlinghurst
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ibis budget Sydney East
#122 of 179 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#127 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#102 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,639 reviews
Y Hotel City South
#117 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
DeVere Hotel
#140 of 179 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Crown Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Crown Motel

Property: City Crown Motel
Address: 289 Crown St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — City Crown Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your City Crown Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Crown Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing