We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Ranked #94 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The room we had was very small. It was hard to place two suitcases in it and open them. But still I enjoyed the hotel. It was lovely old hotel. But everything was good quality. It just had this old atmosphere which I loved. Located right in the city centre. Very close to the train station from where you can get to the airport. Longer but walking distance to the Sydney Harbour and Opera House. I recommend that place. Really cute one.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mmm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (684)
There are newer reviews for Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

433 - 439 of 684 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

Awful does not begin to describe the night we had here last night. This is the first time a bad place has actually been so bad I feel like I need to warn other travellers.
At 2:30am we moved rooms twice from unbearable noise best described as having a construction work use a hammer drill on your head. When we complained to reception we were first told it was indeed a construction worker being that it was 2:30am we very much doubted this. We were moved to a slightly smaller slightly less noisy room a floor up, comparable now to a dentist drill in your ear but still not anything that would allow any sleep. From here my partner complained this time and was offered a room another floor up on other side and finally we had a room with just a low dull noise however now our room is the size of a shoe box. Seriously the reviews about the smallest room ever were completely right. Given that we had paid for queen room this room was no less then half the size of our first and given that my partner is 6ft 2 the bed significantly smaller.
This room was clean and less noisy but that is where my praise fort his place ends. This hotel would be perfect fort hose on a bucks weekend who won't sleep or who may just be capable of passing out. The location is fine but earplugs just won't cut it I'm afraid.

We are due to be in a bridal party in a few hours and despite getting to bed nice and early we have not slept more then 3 hours but hey they have photoshop don't they?

Room Tip: Ask to see room before you pay a cent and definitely read a variety of reviews. Seriously regret not...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I'm surprised to read the other reviewers' comments about the rooms and staff. Ours was perfectly ok - standard size room for this type of hotel. We had a spacious, spotlessly clean bathroom with plenty of hot water. The staff were without exception all friendly and helpful. One cleaner offered to help me with my bag when we were looking for our room. Their was plenty of choice at breakfast which was a good rate compared to most hotels. The location was excellent. It was a 3 minute walk to Hyde Park which led onto the Botanical Gardens, so we had a lovely walk down to the harbour area every time we headed that way. In the other direction it was about a 15 minute walk to Darling Harbour where there were some great restaurants and a firework display on a Saturday night. All in all, we thought the Castlereagh was very good value for central Sydney.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I thought I would book a nice 4 star hotel for the last leg of our holiday and go out in style!
How disappointing......
The lobby area is magnificent, but when you see the standard double room my heart sank. We had two cases and a couple of bags. One had to go on the table the others on the floor, which meant jumping over it each time as that took up the space between the wall and bed. There was about a 12 inch gap between the end of the bed and the toilet sliding door. I must have banged my leg 3 or 4 times trying to negotiate around the room.
The toilet has a sliding door that doesn't fit very well. Come in main door and you can see if anyone is in there. The door also had a habit of coming off it's runner and locking you in.
We fancied a cup of tea and tried to find a plug for the kettle? We ended up with the kettle on the floor as this was the only place it could be plugged in.
I complained about the issues and they gave me keys to 2 other rooms. They were identical, so it wasn't like I had just been given "the duff room".
If you take a look at the web site it all looks wonderful, but note that there are no pictures for a standard double room.... No wonder.

Room Tip: Do not pick a Standard Double room. Can't swing a cat.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimulationTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Positive things first: great location in the heart of the CBD. Rates are very reasonable given location. Across the road you would spend $700 per night. Decor very Edwardian and beautiful if you are into old hotels and museums especially if you are a Mason and this is the Mason's lodge!
Negative things: Staff need to go to the same smile school the flight attendants go to.
The restaurtant is magnificent to look at if you are lucky enough to get in without there being hords of attendies for some function. The food is mediocre but there are fantastic restaurants just outside the front door.
Now the very negative: The rooms are little more than a broom cupboard and Fawlty has ensured you cannot look out of the windows which are welded shut and opaque.
I would be lucky to wash my daugter's pet mouse in the shower, there is virtually no stream of water and the it takes ages to respond to the taps commands, almost like there is someone in the dungeon reading a print out of what water temperature you would like then adjusting the boiler but not very effecively.
Good for shopping or business in the CBD, and soft on the wallet but try and avoid sleeping there too often or showering and probably best not to try engage the staff with any converstion or requests and avoid food and drink there.

Room Tip: Ask about size of rooms and windows
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

The hotel is within walking distance of most of the places one would want to visit in the city centre, so perfect in that respect. It is also an historic building with a great deal of character and charm. But, while the public areas seem to have been well maintained and are quite impressive, our room (assuming it was typical) was somewhat disappointing. The vomit-inducing 1980s mustard yellow paint suggested the room hadn't had a facelift in a couple of decades and the room was cramped, with no drawer space to put clothes. However, the bed was comfortable, and the shower hot with good water flow, so we can't complain too much for the price. Staff were very helpful and friendly too, which is a big plus. Overall, reasonably good for the price, but certainly not 4 star.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

The pluses are that it's a good location and a relatively cheap price. The check in staff were pleasant and the room was very clean. However, you definitely get what you pay for. My room was tiny. I could barely fit between the base of the bed and the wall. The very small bathroom is behind a dated sliding door and the bathroom fixtures are also dated and the paint work is chipped. The lifts are in an "original" condition and very slow. I don't think it's a four star hotel..I stayed in better 3 star hotels in Vietnam!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank btc863
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#127 of 178 in Sydney
2,176 reviews
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#68 of 178 in Sydney
291 reviews
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Park8 Hotel Sydney
#59 of 178 in Sydney
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Best Western Plus Hotel Stellar
Central Business District
Hotel Coronation
Hotel Coronation
#120 of 178 in Sydney
217 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlereagh Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

Address: 169 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £85 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlereagh Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlereagh Boutique Hotel is an elegantly restored, heritage-listed property ideally located in the heart of Sydney's commercial, retail and entertainment centre. The Castlereagh Boutique Hotel has a variety of public bars and dining areas to suit the needs of casual visitors and hotel guests. No stay at the Castlereagh would be complete without dining in the splendor of Cello's Restaurant, our Grand Dining Room, one of the last of its kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Castlereagh Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlereagh Boutique Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing