We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very central small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Ranked #89 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very central small rooms”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Good points
Very central location , between 3 rail stations, St James, Museum and Town Hall.
Lovely old world feeling about the hotel.lots of old photos, potted palms and quality furniture. Nice foyer.
Towels were soft and the bed was comfortable. Room was clean.
The pre purchased breakfast for $15.00 was fair value. Beautiful old dining room. Fresh fruit, real scrambled eggs and bacon, plenty of cereals yoghurt etc.
There is also a small trendy restaurant next door where you can get also get smaller breakfast. Laundry was at the end of the corridor.
Major plus was the free fast internet. My wife and I able to watch different downloads simultaneously.
Not so good.
The only real let down is the size of the rooms. Only about 40cm between the wall and the end of the bed.
No daylight. Only frosted glass on the curtain covered window.
To sum up.
If you are out all day and only back at your hotel to shower and sleep and answer your emails this will do fine.

Room Tip: Perhaps it is worth paying extra for a bigger room, calling the hotel direct or staying for 3 nights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichardSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    281
    156
    70
    49
See reviews for
69
301
64
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, WA
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great location. Nice to be in a boutique hotel. The rooms were small, but the bathroom was huge, it had a big tub and separate shower.

The best part: free washer/drying machines, including the soap.

It was an old-fashioned hotel, a little dark, but with plenty of character. The people at the front desk were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Save your laundry for this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bbwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The minute you step into the hotel you feel like you stepped back in time. Such a beautiful old hotel right in the center of Sydney. The room was a bit small, but the style and decor was quality and charming. The room was clean and well maintained. The Concierge was wonderfully helpful. Parking was not as convenient, but not bad. I would definitely stay there again .... and recommend it highly (if old world charm is your style).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gerielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

The hotel is right in the centre of Sydney making it very convenient. The hotel staff were extremely polite and helpful, we managed to get a late checkout. Free WIFI. The room was a nice size, although we couldnt see out the window, it was snug and there was no noise or disturbances.

I definitely recommend this hotel to those wanting a nice well located hotel without paying a huge price.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kryptinine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The room we had was very small. It was hard to place two suitcases in it and open them. But still I enjoyed the hotel. It was lovely old hotel. But everything was good quality. It just had this old atmosphere which I loved. Located right in the city centre. Very close to the train station from where you can get to the airport. Longer but walking distance to the Sydney Harbour and Opera House. I recommend that place. Really cute one.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mmm18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Awful does not begin to describe the night we had here last night. This is the first time a bad place has actually been so bad I feel like I need to warn other travellers.
At 2:30am we moved rooms twice from unbearable noise best described as having a construction work use a hammer drill on your head. When we complained to reception we were first told it was indeed a construction worker being that it was 2:30am we very much doubted this. We were moved to a slightly smaller slightly less noisy room a floor up, comparable now to a dentist drill in your ear but still not anything that would allow any sleep. From here my partner complained this time and was offered a room another floor up on other side and finally we had a room with just a low dull noise however now our room is the size of a shoe box. Seriously the reviews about the smallest room ever were completely right. Given that we had paid for queen room this room was no less then half the size of our first and given that my partner is 6ft 2 the bed significantly smaller.
This room was clean and less noisy but that is where my praise fort his place ends. This hotel would be perfect fort hose on a bucks weekend who won't sleep or who may just be capable of passing out. The location is fine but earplugs just won't cut it I'm afraid.

We are due to be in a bridal party in a few hours and despite getting to bed nice and early we have not slept more then 3 hours but hey they have photoshop don't they?

Room Tip: Ask to see room before you pay a cent and definitely read a variety of reviews. Seriously regret not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I'm surprised to read the other reviewers' comments about the rooms and staff. Ours was perfectly ok - standard size room for this type of hotel. We had a spacious, spotlessly clean bathroom with plenty of hot water. The staff were without exception all friendly and helpful. One cleaner offered to help me with my bag when we were looking for our room. Their was plenty of choice at breakfast which was a good rate compared to most hotels. The location was excellent. It was a 3 minute walk to Hyde Park which led onto the Botanical Gardens, so we had a lovely walk down to the harbour area every time we headed that way. In the other direction it was about a 15 minute walk to Darling Harbour where there were some great restaurants and a firework display on a Saturday night. All in all, we thought the Castlereagh was very good value for central Sydney.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Park Regis City Centre
Park Regis City Centre
#127 of 178 in Sydney
2,137 reviews
Central Business District
Megaboom City Hotel
Megaboom City Hotel
#69 of 178 in Sydney
282 reviews
Central Business District
Park8 Hotel Sydney
Park8 Hotel Sydney
#56 of 178 in Sydney
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#54 of 178 in Sydney
1,414 reviews
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castlereagh Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castlereagh Boutique Hotel

Property: Castlereagh Boutique Hotel
Address: 169 Castlereagh St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Castlereagh Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castlereagh Boutique Hotel is an elegantly restored, heritage-listed property ideally located in the heart of Sydney's commercial, retail and entertainment centre. The Castlereagh Boutique Hotel has a variety of public bars and dining areas to suit the needs of casual visitors and hotel guests. No stay at the Castlereagh would be complete without dining in the splendor of Cello's Restaurant, our Grand Dining Room, one of the last of its kind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Castlereagh Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castlereagh Boutique Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing