We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleseant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Ranked #94 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Sydney
1 review
“Pleseant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Good value for money . Good location withing walking distance to Opera House , Harbor Bridge . Rooms very clean. Helpful staff. Very noisy from street traffic all night long.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Hannelore C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
The team at Travelodge Wynyard are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I would like to thank you for sharing this feedback with us.
I have passed your comments onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    1,843
    1,074
    380
    199
See reviews for
754
1,493
393
964
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra Aust
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

With this hotel, the name over the door says Travelodge, and that is what you get - a three star chain hotel. What is outstanding is the location - right in the heart of the city and a five to ten minute walk from The Rocks, Circular Quay, the Qeeen Victoria Building and other major sites. In ten to fifteen minutes you can walk to Darling Harbour. It is next door to a major railway station (Wynyard) so it is a simple matter to get to most places you would want to visit. Our room was on the 17th floor facing the street, however there was no traffic noise. The hotel has limited parking available (AUD30 per day) however you cannot reserve a space.

Rooms were pretty much standard for a Travelodge, although a good size for Sydney. Ours was well fitted and maintained. We did have some problems with sloppy housekeeping however. We reported this to the front desk staff who arranged for the duty manager and housekeeping manager to inspect the room. They agreed that the maid's work was not up to standard and the room was remade immediately. The state of the room was something that would have meant that we never stayed at the Wynyard Travelodge, but the way the issue was handled ensured that we will be back. Problems happen in all hotels, it is the way in which they are handled that keeps clients happy. On the whole, a good three star chain hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors often have (limited) harbour views and little traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ROHCanberraAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear ROHCanberraAust,
The team at Travelodge Wynyard are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

Good location. Close to Sydney harbor, the rocks, draggling harbor and other areas of the CBD. There is a subway right across the street. There is also a Starbucks right next to the hotel. It is not a fancy hotel, but it is comfortable. It was a good price. If you want a cheap place that is near many things and is clean this is what you want. We did seem to smell cigarette smoke a couple times even though the hotel is non-smoking. It wasn’t that bad. We didn’t eat at restaurant but the room service food was not that good. Cheap, convenient hotel in the hear t of the city. Great place if you are staying one or two nights and plan on spending your time out sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TIm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear TIm C,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Wynyard.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be a good location.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and do not hesitate to contact the hotel if we can be of any further assistance.
Kind Regards,
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canberra
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

please do not be fooled by the glossy photos,they are no where near the mark,the hotel is tired,needs lots of attention,we stayed a total of 40 minutes,before booking out,leaving behind my money i had paid to last minute .com...in good faith i went on the photos,so please beware,have more respect for your money.......internet was charged per 30 mins,and the heater didn't work........

Room Tip: can't help you there,my daughter and i didn't stay long enough........
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank diannecaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear diannecaldwell,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am concerned with your feedback as our photos are a true reflection of our rooms, some rooms may have different bedding configuration but the outlay and facilities are the same. There are also traveller photos on Tripadvisor that show our rooms. Can I ask that you contact me directly at the hotel so I can have the opportunity to assist and clarify this personally.

In regards to our internet, we have various options : 30mins, 1 hour, 1 day, 1 week and even 1 month

Look forward to hearing from you to assist further.

Kind regards,
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

tipperary
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed here in April. Not a cheap option in this town. Rude receptionist named Brendon who was unhelpful and uninterested. Met a nice concierge called Jordan who apologised for his colleague's bad manners. Poor food. Thai curry was a special that tasted like bad soup.Old smelly bedrooms. The only positive was it's location as we were doing business nearby. We were due to stay 3 nights but checked out after 1. A big let down to a usually consistent budget hotel group. Sack the receptionist and reward the charming concierge.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TheTippTwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear TheTippTwins

Thank you for providing your valuable feedback.

I have addressed your comments in regards to the team and I thank you for bringing this to my attention in detail.

I will pass on your comments to the Head Chef in regards to the food.

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations on this occasion and hope we can improve and you can give us an opportunity to show our true service next time you visit Sydney.

Kind regards,
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

Very close to train station yet not to noisy and crowd. Walkable distance to the opera house and few supermarket around for us to buy basic necessity. Don't expect too much on the room and services but if u just want a clean place to sleep, it should be what u need.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vincent Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Dear Vincent Y,
The team at Travelodge Wynyard are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Wynyard in the near future.
Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Stayed two nights on business.
Pros: The room was really big for a hotel in Sydney, had an absolutely fantastic steak from room service, staff are really nice.
Cons: rooms are tired, really chipped enamel in the bathtub (how does that happen? what do people do? My bathtub at home never gets like this!), lots of scuff marks on walls in lift areas, etc., there is a small gym - I went there several times but never found a treadmill or bike free, room had individual heating - which I Like, but room was actually hot and I couldn't find a way to make the room cool enough to sleep comfortably.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SampaulMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Dear SampaulMelbourne,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Wynyard.

We do strive to maintain the upkeep of the hotel, however I will pass on your comments regarding the room and bathtub to our Executive Housekeeper & Maintenance Team.

It was great to read you loved our location and the friendly staff. Our kitchen team will be thrilled with the feedback on the steak.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,498 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#45 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Address: 7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Wynyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing