We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in central Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Ranked #97 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 22 August 2012

By hotel standards this is an average hotel. What makes it very good is its location. It is a very easy walk to Darling Harbour, the Rocks and Circular Quay and many nearby attractions. It is also is right on Wynyard Station which gives you a direct link the Sydneys rail network and the domestic and international airports. For the location you can get a room at a good price. Our room was nice, clean and comfortable although the bathroom was a little on the small side. Staff were good and helpful. Despite being 7 floors up and having shutters on the windows the traffic noise kept me awake at night. My only real complaint is the expensive cost of wifi and cable internet access. Wifi should be free and this can be easily managed by limiting traffic flow, etc.

Room Tip: Away from the road if possible and as high as you can go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yelwah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Yelwah,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate the time you have taken to write it and I will share your feedback with our team.

With regards to internet prices the hotel uses a third party provider therefore our pricing is driven by the costs we are charged.

I am pleased to hear that you found our location convenient and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,137)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,425 - 4,431 of 5,137 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

We bought a "deal" that included breakfast for this hotel. Its main virtue is that it is in the centre of the city almost directly above Wynyard station which is 20 mins from the airport. We had booked a standard queen room and when we arrived we were told "you have been upgraded to an executive suite". Hold the excitement as this turned out to be a room with a queen and single bed and very little space to move. The furnishings were dated and in need of a refurb. Hardly an executive suite. Having said that we were very comfortable and the breakfast was excellent sitting by the window watching the city come to life. Our bus home left from outside so we had an easy trip home.

Room Tip: We were on floor 14 and heard very little city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Whitehavengirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Whitehavengirl43

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

In regards to your upgrade, our team member must to have explained themselves properly which I apologise for. Our Executive rooms are located on the higher floors of the hotel and have a view of the city but in terms of size are the same as the Guest rooms on lower floors. We do not have any Executive suites. Once again, my apologies.

I will share your feedback in regards to breakfast with the team and I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

A last minute change to my itinerary brought me to the Travelodge Wynyard and I am really pleased that I made the change. A superb location for a visit to Sydney, a two minute stroll to the buses and trains to get around the city. The room was excellent, met all my needs. Clean, comfortable bed, excellent bathroom and power shower. The onsite restaurant was handy but service was not always brilliant- on one occasion I had to wait for 35 minutes after being seated for someone to come and take my order! However the food was good quality and reasonably priced for Sydney. The reception staff were brilliant, a special mention for Brendon- he was really helpful and welcoming. A good ambassador for the hotel. Will definitely be staying here again on my next trip to Sydney and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vince H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Vince H

Thank you very much for you positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team and especially with Brendon who will be thrilled you enjoyed your stay. Our Restaurant Manager will also brief the team in regards to your comments on where we failed to impress.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the Travelodge Wynyard.

Kind regards
Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Travelodge is a great place to stay overall ! being on york street, is just perfect, as I flew down from Brisbane with no car. I walked everywhere and used public transport (the nearest trainstation is wynyard which is less than 500 meters away!). Although train tickets are expensive and very confusing we managed. The hotel was a perfect size for me and my partner although little things could have been fixed to make the hotel just perfect (like simple fixing of grouting of tiles and cleaning of small mould or changing door hinges but none of that bothered me) bed was clean and so was the bathroom. Check in was easy and so was checking out. A very big recommendation is the restaurant and bar down stairs ( Citrus Grove) ! cheap but absolutly great! Would stay there again and recommend to all ! p.s I found no trouble with aircon or traffic noise

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kala S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Kala S,

Thank you for your recent review. We always appreciate positive guest feedback and I will share yours with our team. I will pass on your comments to our Housekeeping team.

Look forward to welcoming you back to the Travelodge Wynyard

Kind Regards

Victor Faisca
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

Good value for money . Good location withing walking distance to Opera House , Harbor Bridge . Rooms very clean. Helpful staff. Very noisy from street traffic all night long.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Hannelore C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

The team at Travelodge Wynyard are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I would like to thank you for sharing this feedback with us.
I have passed your comments onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

With this hotel, the name over the door says Travelodge, and that is what you get - a three star chain hotel. What is outstanding is the location - right in the heart of the city and a five to ten minute walk from The Rocks, Circular Quay, the Qeeen Victoria Building and other major sites. In ten to fifteen minutes you can walk to Darling Harbour. It is next door to a major railway station (Wynyard) so it is a simple matter to get to most places you would want to visit. Our room was on the 17th floor facing the street, however there was no traffic noise. The hotel has limited parking available (AUD30 per day) however you cannot reserve a space.

Rooms were pretty much standard for a Travelodge, although a good size for Sydney. Ours was well fitted and maintained. We did have some problems with sloppy housekeeping however. We reported this to the front desk staff who arranged for the duty manager and housekeeping manager to inspect the room. They agreed that the maid's work was not up to standard and the room was remade immediately. The state of the room was something that would have meant that we never stayed at the Wynyard Travelodge, but the way the issue was handled ensured that we will be back. Problems happen in all hotels, it is the way in which they are handled that keeps clients happy. On the whole, a good three star chain hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors often have (limited) harbour views and little traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ROHCanberraAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear ROHCanberraAust,
The team at Travelodge Wynyard are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

Good location. Close to Sydney harbor, the rocks, draggling harbor and other areas of the CBD. There is a subway right across the street. There is also a Starbucks right next to the hotel. It is not a fancy hotel, but it is comfortable. It was a good price. If you want a cheap place that is near many things and is clean this is what you want. We did seem to smell cigarette smoke a couple times even though the hotel is non-smoking. It wasn’t that bad. We didn’t eat at restaurant but the room service food was not that good. Cheap, convenient hotel in the hear t of the city. Great place if you are staying one or two nights and plan on spending your time out sightseeing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TIm C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vfaisca, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2012

Dear TIm C,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your recent stay at Travelodge Wynyard.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be a good location.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future and do not hesitate to contact the hotel if we can be of any further assistance.
Kind Regards,
Kristin Alderman
Relief Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#105 of 179 in Sydney
5,266 reviews
Mercure Sydney
#65 of 179 in Sydney
4,957 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#107 of 179 in Sydney
1,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#23 of 179 in Sydney
6,129 reviews
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard

Address: 7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £91 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Toga Hotels, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Wynyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing