We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Ranked #93 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Satisfactory”
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Perhaps that description under-rates the hotel, which I would describe as good, but TripAdvisor only has a very good category and I wouldn't be that generous!

Certainly the hotel is very popular, judging from the number of people always moving through reception and checking in/out. It has an extremely good location being within walking distance of many of the city attractions including Circular Quay, the Opera House, Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour and the main shopping centre. It is also just a short walk to Wynyard Station, providing easy access to the rail network and especially the Syndey airports.

We stayed for 6 nights over the New Year period in what was classed an executive room. My wife thought it was OK but I felt it fell short of what I have come to expect of this category of room. Some of the furnishings seemed to be rather dated, the sliding wooden window blinds (which replaced curtains and were rather stiff to move) appeared odd, and the bathroom was extremely small. Although serviced daily toiletries weren't always replaced when they ran out. No free wifi access in the room fell short of what I have experienced in other rooms of this category.

Overall satisfactory but probably not somewhere I would put at the top of my list to return to.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear John R,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Travelodge. I appreciate your genuine assessment of your stay with us and the team and I are truly grateful for the feedback. I am sorry that we fell short in some areas and hope that this did not detract too much from your time with us in Sydney. I am working feverishly to have the WIFI rolled out this year and hope to have some positive news for our guests in the following weeks in relation to an installation date. We hope to see you again and show you what we are capable of.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,466 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    812
    1,930
    1,125
    391
    208
See reviews for
800
1,534
413
1,017
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This hotel is situated within easy walking of many of Sydney's tourists attractions - especially the Opera House,Circular Quay,harbour bridge,the rocks etc. The location therefor could not be better.
It is very easy to get to. Just take the city train from the airport to Wynyard Station (change at Central) take the York Street exit and you will see the hotel 50m to your left.
Rooms are a decent size,with a king size bed,a round table with two chairs,safe and fridge. The bathrooms are however a little small and dated. The only free wi available is in the lobby and for 1/2 hour a day. This seems pretty standard in Australia.
There are a number of good restaurants in the vicinity.
This is a very good choice for first time visitors to Sydney.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter_sue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear peter_sue20,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights over new year! It cost us a fortune with it being NYE, I wouldn't have normally paid that much as it is literally just a travelodge! On arrival the staff were quite rude, they checked us in and off we went to our room! We were pretty tired from flying and ready for a lie down! However our key would not open the door! When we went down to reception one of the staff came up and still could not unlock our door! We were waiting a good 20minutes before we could get in! However no apology or anything complimentary!! Wifi is very expensive!!! You get 30mins free, however it was down most of the time!!!

The best morning for breakfast we said our room number, the staff said that breakfast wasn't included in our stay! However we had it in black and white that we had paid for it!! Eventually we got breakfast, however the bowls were dirty, if you were lucky to find one! Same breakfast each morning which was very boring! The room was okay, not the cleanest bathroom! The only real good thing is the location!!!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear James C,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. Please accept me apologies for the short falls in both service and maintenance. I appreciate you highlighting these points with me so that I can she with the team and improve the overall service standards of the property. I trust that all in all you had a great New Year in Sydney and we wish you all the very best for the year ahead.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I stayed here 3month ago.
I had lots of requests for my staying, and emaild them.
They were happy to follow my serveral requests, and those makes my staying very compy.
Staff were so kind , they always keep smile during duties.

lLocation is also very nice. It located just next to quey!

But, I found some bugs in their baggage room.
It needs to be clean perfectly.
Also breakfast was...just simply.
I was enough for my BF, but it was not reasonable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlish_Charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Springleejh,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted that our team was helpful and supportive both in the lead up and during your stay. Thank you for highlighting the cleanliness of our storage room and some inconsistencies with our breakfast; this is valuable feedback which we can act upon swiftly.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

The hotel is in a convenient location, and the rooms are spacious and comfy. But the service is very poor. For example, I asked a staff member at the front counter what time the gym would open the next day, to which he simply replied "I don't know", and made no effort to follow it up. Also, when I checked into our room at about 3pm, there was another room just in front of the lifts with dirty plates and cups out front on the floor waiting to be picked up. When I left for work the next day at around 8:15am, they were still waiting to be collected. The lack of free wifi in the rooms was also disappointing.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Ryan46,

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the confusion in relation to the gym opening hours. Our team have been briefed and I feel confident that all team members are now aware of the correct operating hours (Open from 630am – 1030pm daily). I am pleased that you enjoyed the hotel and our location and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back and show you what we are truly capable of.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

There is absolutely nothing wrong with this Hotel. It is clean, comfortable, fridge in room, tea, coffee and milk left for you too. Little toiletries, fluffy towels, efficient room cleaning! The reception staff are welcoming and helpful. Breakfast good and while I was there another guest took the time to thank Chef before she left. I can't think of a better recommendation than that. The Hotel is perfectly located for opera house, rocks area or shopping at QVB area bad Darling Harbour. If you don't want to buy internet go buy a coffee at Starbucks across street and get a code, stop whinging! Thanks all at Travelodge for a great stay, I loved it!,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Bernadette K,

Thank you for the kind words in relation to the hotel and the team. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we wish you safe travels and hope to see you again in the future.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

This is a great base to explore Sydney and all it offers. We were out most of the time but this hotel offers a fantastic location for all the major places to visit, it's safe, clean, comfy beds and travel to and from the airport is so convenient due to wynyard station almost next door and the $14 shuttle bus in offer. I celebrated my $40 this tear and the trip was a gift to celebrate and we received a beautiful bottle of wine to the room which was a kind thought and lovely touch. I would have no hesitation on returning to this hotel or recommending to others for value and location alone. Sydney was a blast!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Boyllba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Boyllba

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. We are delighted that you had a fantastic Birthday and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards
Sean McKinnon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#97 of 175 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,687 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
The Tank Stream Hotel
The Tank Stream Hotel
#46 of 175 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Central Business District
The York by Swiss-Belhotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard

Property: Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Address: 7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#79 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard 4*
Number of rooms: 277
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Wynyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing