We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location & price, very noisy rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Ranked #97 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 8 August 2014

This hotel has a good location, only a minute from Wynyard train station or a short walk to most areas in the CBD. Unfortunately that's about the best thing about it. The rooms are average, but this is reflected in the price paid.
The room walls are very thin, which means you can hear pretty much everything that your neighbours (and their neighbours...) are doing - particularly in their bathrooms. I also expect some street noise when staying in an inner city hotel, but I considered the city noise to be excessive, even though we were staying near the top of the hotel, the windows are not sound-proofed at all. Every room door appears to be designed to slam closed as well. The plumbing in the bathrooms is also very noisy - notably the bath taps, which sound like a jet taking off.
The other area that let the room down was the lack of ventilation - the bathroom was not ventilated, which meant that any smells or steam had no place to go other than into the room. The air conditioning didn't seem to do anything either - it didn't matter what temperature the thermostat was set at, the room was always cold.
Finally, many other reviewers mentioned the lifts//elevators and I can see why - we spent a lot of time waiting for them. There simply isn't enough for the size of the hotel and it doesn't help that staff use them a lot to carry stuff up & down, preventing guests using them.
Overall, you get what you pay for, but not somewhere I'd choose to stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aldous D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Aldous D

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and felt that our rooms were not up to scratch. We do pride ourselves on supplying great value, clean and comfortable accommodation in a fabulous location. To have fallen short on this occasion is disappointing and I hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the future and show you what we are capable of.

Regards
Sean McKinnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,948)
There are newer reviews for Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,509 - 3,515 of 4,948 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

Good location, but a bit worn down. Also no wifi in rooms - an essential traveling tool nowadays. Bathrooms were small and a water faucet not working at times. We were recommended a shuttle service from the airport to the hotel. I advise others not to take the co-op shuttle, as driver was very rude. They squeeze you in a bus to maximize their revenue space.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Martin L

Thank you for the feedback and I am sorry that your perception of our hotel was damaged due to an external shuttle bus company. We wish you safe travels.

Regards
Sean McKinnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Hotel overall and the room I stayed in were shabby. Room in particular smelled damp. Heating/aircon good and the room was reasonably quiet.
Bed uncomfortable. Unlikely to stay again or recommend to anyone else.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Terry B

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us and felt that our rooms were not up to scratch. We do pride ourselves on supplying great value, clean and comfortable accommodation in a fabulous location. To have fallen short on this occasion is disappointing and I hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the future and show you what we are capable of.

Regards
Sean McKinnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had an overall excellent experience. Would definitely stay there again. Was close enough to walk to where we needed to go. The staff where very helpful with all aspects from making a reservation to giving directions on where we wanted to go

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Angela M

We greatly appreciate this feedback. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and the team and I wish you happy and safe future travels. See you again soon.

Regards
Sean McKinnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We are NRMA members, got a great rate, great service. 2 for 1 breakfast. Nice rooms. Bed was a bit to soft for me. We wanted to stay in Sydney till lunch time, staff allowed us to leave the car parked after checkout.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Karen H

We greatly appreciate this feedback. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and the team and I wish you happy and safe future travels. See you again soon.

Regards
Sean McKinnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Comfortable stay. Clean & tidy rooms. Within walking distance to most attractions (e.g. Circular Quay, Darling Harbour, QVB). Chinatown is just a train ride away. Easy access to train services to and from airport.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jun Shi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear Jun Shi L

We greatly appreciate this feedback. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and the team and I wish you happy and safe future travels. See you again soon.

Regards
Sean McKinnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Look for good value, such as Tuesday specials, ring the Hotel with any questions, very helpful. Pay by cash or debit card as unlike cheaper country Motels they charge a credit card fee. Parking in Sydney everywhere is too expensive, $35 at Travelodge maybe good for Sydney but compared to $8 on the Gold Coast not good. They advertise a $15 shuttle bus to the airport if you fly.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David And Janic... W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SM_McKinnon, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Dear David And Janic... W

We greatly appreciate this feedback. Thanks for choosing to stay with us and the team and I wish you happy and safe future travels. See you again soon.

Regards
Sean McKinnon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#104 of 178 in Sydney
5,057 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Martin Place
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard

Address: 7 - 9 York St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia (Formerly Corus Sydney)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £103 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Wynyard Sydney Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Sydney
Travel Lodge Sydney
Sydney Travelodge
Sydney Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Wynyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing