We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family loved the location, room and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Grace Hotel Sydney
Ranked #17 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Family loved the location, room and staff”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and fully enjoyed the visit. Staff here is very courteous and helpful. I was specially impressed by Joshua at concierge- he was very helpful in dealing with our heavy luggage.

Reception staff was quick to respond to our request for 2 single beds and they gave us a spacious street facing room. Room was spacious, minimalist, very clean- we liked it a lot.

Location was a big bonus as we could walk to the most of Sydney attractions like Circular quay, Darling Harbor, QVB etc. Lots of cafés around including a subway for vegetarian folks.

I strongly recommend this hotel. Thank you Grace Hotel staff.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank RV70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,875
    2,061
    463
    123
    71
See reviews for
788
2,252
362
1,465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
139 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I had stayed here years ago so it was interesting to come back. I had one of their special rooms which was lovely and had all the things that I need. I am a fussy traveller so I like things to work. Good bed - good shower (except the diverter valve for the rain forest shower head didn't work). Very nice coffee machine. I had a lovely massage at one of the places there - really nice at the end of a long day. I didn't eat breakfast here as there are lots of options close by and I prefer a small breakfast rather than a buffet. We had a drink at Vapiano's but didn't eat there although reports from others in the group were that it is OK. One sour note there was the unwrapped sweets on the counter - goodness me! we were shocked to see this as it is a common cause of gastro bugs. Sadly the staff didn't appear to be interested in this issue and told us that the manager would be cross if they removed the problem - do get this sort out, it is a bit of a no brainer!

Room Tip: Try for one of their special rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

I've stayed at the Grace a couple of times, the rooms are nice, the bed comfortable and the wireless is a reasonable speed. Breakfast is included, and there's a bar downstairs. My only (minor) complaint is that they don't have any yoga mats to borrow. The staff are very helpful.

Room Tip: Higher floors, and not near the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Stayed four days at the Grace in early April 2014 as part of a stop over in Sydney after a New Zealand cruise. Our room (633) was quite large with a large walk-in shower. Housekeeping was excellent. Our package came with breakfast in the in-hotel restaurant. There were restaurants in the same building (italian and an Irish pub-very-noisy). Convenience store just across the street. Easy walk to Darling Harbor quay to pick up the ferry to downtown or a 15 minute walk on George St. to reach downtown. Check in was smooth and fast. Lots more restaurants in Darling Harbor which, as I mentioned is a 5 minute walk (although an uphill walk on the way back to the hotel.)

One complaint was the fact that the hotel wi fi was ridiculously expensive and the use was measured as soon as it was turned on and kept going until the time purchased was exhausted. No way to shut off if you were not using it. Thought by now most upscale hotels had complimentary wi fi and Grace does position itself as upscale.

On the whole good stay. No complaints except for the wi fi

Room Tip: There is a restaurant in the same building that has free wi fi though you need a password. Stop in f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ctree31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We always like to go a bit 'up market' when staying in cities and to go cheaper on road trips when we travel. The Grace was our choice for 4 nights in Sydney and we were not disappointed. It's an ex-department store very close to the Queen Victoria Building and Darling Harbour. It has a high level of charm with all the room amenities you might expect. Our fourth floor room overlooked the street and was quiet, spacious and clean. Staff were friendly and eager to assist. The hotel was always busy but never noisy. I would recommend this hotel to couples, singles and those wanting a bit of style and good value. We stayed in Australia for over four week and this was probably the best all round hotel for quality and value.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SimonPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed at this lovely art deco hotel for two nights before our return trip to the UK. The building was built by the Grace bothers in the 1920s. The Hotel is located in the centre of Sydney’s central business district, on the corner of King and York streets, and is only minutes away the bustling areas of George Street, Pitt Street Mall, the Queen Victoria Building, Darling Harbour, Martin Place, Circular Quay and The Rocks.
When it was built the hotel must have had fine views of the Harbour Bridge. The high rise office building now obscure the view. However the beautiful interior and fine detailing of the exterior of this building make up for this. The rooms are beautifully presented. From the moment you walk in you cannot help but be impressed. The staff are very helpful and eager to please.
A very short walk is the Darling Harbour with its many fine restaurants where you can sit out and people watch. A very entertaining pastime in this cosmopolitan area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Nebraska
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

The Art Deco style was beautiful and the hotel has a central location making it handy for shopping and sight seeing. The concierge, Shaun, was especially good. He was so helpful and even remembered my name after meeting once. A short walk to the Harbour, restaurants and shopping and you couldn't ask for more.

Room Tip: The sixth floor was a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 178 in Sydney
1,655 reviews
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grace Hotel Sydney

Property: The Grace Hotel Sydney
Address: 77 York Street | corner of York & King Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel
Grace Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing