We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No attention to service, its all about the money” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grace Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grace Hotel Sydney
Ranked #17 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No attention to service, its all about the money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is clean and well located but it just wants to squeeze money from you without offering any sort of service.

A host of small(ish) down sides has left the whole stay being very disappointing. I did not feel welcome from the start when upon arrival I was asked to pay for all 4 nights up front plus a deposit of $100per night! Apparently this was a great deal a usually its a deposit $200 per night! Never ever before have I been asked to hand over $1300 before even stepping into the room.

As I was paying well over $200 for my room it did not even occur to me internet would not be included. Upon asking, I was told it was $5 per hr or $15 for the day! This is awful especially considering the connection speed is half that you can get in the pub next door.

Keen to get out as soon as possible my taxi driver had mentioned a fireworks display in the harbour, I went to the concierge to check a few things. For all my questions he just went on google.....and even then be got the info wrong, telling me there was no firework displays that evening. Choosing to believe my taxi driver over the concierge I was treated to a full on massive light and fireworks display.

The "gym" did nothing to release my disappointment the next morning as it doesnt have as much as a mat or a gym ball.

Dinner the following evening in the attached pizza restaurant confirmed my suspicion it is all about the money when a 12.5% surcharge was levied because it was a public holiday, especially suprising as it is self service!

The nail in the coffin was the noise late evening in my room as I was next to the service lift with trolies constantly rattling in and out.

The hotel did relent to giving me free wifi upon pointing out the issues but it was too little too late (especially as the connection was too slow to even get Facebook).

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank L0ve2trav3l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Executive Assistant Manager at The Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear LOve2trav31,

Thank you for sharing your comments and please accept my apologies for any shortcomings that you experienced during your stay.

It is our policy to request full prepayment of your accommodation as well as a deposit of $100 per night for any additional charges billed to your room when cash is the chosen payment method. This is a standard policy and is not negotiated or varied. We do not ask for a $200 deposit for additional charges. If you prefer to leave a credit card imprint on check in then settlement of your account will be processed upon your departure. Additionally, all excess funds from cash deposits are returned to guests upon departure and does not represent any earnings or revenue for the hotel.

I would also like to confirm that we do offer a period of complimentary internet to all of our guests on a daily basis. This may be utilised in the public areas of the hotel.

The Italian Restaurant that you refer to is not owned, managed or operated by the hotel. However, I have passed on your feedback to the owners and management of this business for their consideration.

Should you be returning to Sydney, please contact me directly so that I may assist you with your arrangements.

Yours sincerely

Andrew Allen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,660
    1,923
    440
    114
    64
See reviews for
716
2,081
341
1,373
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Just spent a perfect long weekend at Grace Hotel with friends. Situated right in the heart of the city, minutes walk to George and Pitts Street for shopping, 10/15 minutes to The Rocks, 5 minutes to Darling Harbour, couldn't ask for more. We had a Deluxe Twin Room on Level 5 and it was amazing - spacious with 2 double beds, beautifully appointed bathroom with the best ever shower, we could have stayed in it for ever. Excellent value for money, next time we will include breakfast which our other friends said was to die for. Highly recommend this hotel, we will definitely come back when next in Sydney.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melbournegirls09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, SC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

The Grace Hotel is a beautiful classic hotel. Marble and brass and lovely dark woodwork are everywhere. The staff is exceptional, uniformed and very professional. The rooms are spacious, very modern and have quality fixtures and furnishings. The room service offerings were very good and reasonably priced. They have on site parking and valet assistance.

We had only two issues with our stay. The first was Wi-Fi Internet. The Grace has no business center or even free Wi-Fi in the lobby. It is charged by the hour and we just couldn't justify that for the brief interactions we needed so it was inconvenient. This should really just be a cost of doing business for a modern hotel. To their credit and our gratitude, they did print an email for us that had tour details we had misplaced. Again, great staff.

The other issue was location. All the better restaurants and attractions were always blocks to kilometers away. We didn't have a car during our stay and ended up walking a lot. There is a free shuttle bus that runs up and down George St (a block over from York) up to the Circular Quay. But it doesn't begin until 10am and stops at 4:30pm weekdays and 6:00pm on weekends(Winter hours). That frequently started too late and ended much too early for us. We took a cab one early morning for our tour of the Sydney Opera House for $11. If you have your own car, don't mind paying for a taxi all the time, or plan to walk in every direction to see the sights anyway you'll be fine. The hotel is a very convenient walk to the aquarium wharf where you can catch the ferries or the fabulous hop-on hop-off explorer cruise (recommended) so with some planning it would have been easier than the way we did it. Enjoy Sydney, it's a beautiful city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DugRau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew A, Executive Assistant Manager at The Grace Hotel Sydney, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear DugRau,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Grace for your recent visit to Sydney.

I was pleased to note your overall positive comments about the hotel and our staff. I would like to confirm that the hotel does in fact have a Business Centre at one end of the lobby. Additionally, we do offer a period of complimentary internet to all guests which can be utilised in the public areas of the hotel on a daily basis.

Thank you again for your comments and I hope that he have the chance to see you again soon.

Best regards

Andrew Allen
Executive Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Arrived at 11am and asked to leave luggage until the 2pm check-in and was told could check-in and access room immediately - great bonus! Check-in and check-out very efficient. Staff on desk helpful and positive attitude, as were the room cleaners. Rooms spotless and good size, beds comfy, pool, sauna and steam room excellent working order. Breakfast was excellent quality and variety (included in room rate). Very handy for Pitt Street Mall, theatres, Darling Harbour and Circular Quay. Would happily return, excellent value.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ando_Adelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

This is a really beautiful hotel in the heart of the city. We had a king room with a rollaway in it and there was still plenty of room. My only complaint was that the dishes of those in neighbouring rooms were left out in the halls all day. Still there at 4pm.

This hotel is central, close to Pitt st and within walking distance to Darling Harbour and Circular Quay.

We didn't try the restaurant. There are restaurants and pubs close by. I would definitely recommend this hotel which has so much character. I will definitely return.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tantakesatrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Located in the heart of the city, close to the shops, and only a 15 minute walk down to Circular Quay area, and the same for Darling Harbour,this is a perfect place to stay in Sydney. It was great value for money, our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and well equipped. We had a modern bathroom with a huge shower cubicle. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful, and the hotel has a really nice feel to it. The only downside is that the bedroom walls are a bit thin, so if you have a noisy neighbour you would certainly hear them! We ate breakfast there once..it was ok..but we prefer to have breakfast out, as there are some good places and better value. Hotel breakfasts are expensive! We didn't use the lap pool..maybe next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The location for this hotel is very good but that is it. However I found the staff at the reception unfriendly. We had reached Sydney early in the morning and hence had requested over email (ahead of time) that if they could prepare the rooms a little before the usual 2 pm entry as we would leave also by an early flight the next day. The staff had completely ignored the request and did not even bother to try to make the room ready even at 1 pm. The decor is dated and needs to be upgraded. The breakfast is just standard fare. The only saving grace was that we had chosen the family option and hence got free tickets to the Zoo and aquarium.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarita2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,526 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#20 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grace Hotel Sydney

Property: The Grace Hotel Sydney
Address: 77 York Street | corner of York & King Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelbag so you can book your The Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel
Grace Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing