We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Winter Family Getaway in the City”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grace Hotel Sydney
Ranked #17 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Winter Family Getaway in the City”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We would like to thank you for our stay over the weekend. We had a great time and the staff, service and atmosphere were excellent.

A little disappointed we couldn’t get interconnecting rooms (my parents came with us, and we were placed on different floors). We had room 838, while my parents had room 738. We have a small child (15 months old) and this would have been convenient for us all to have rooms interconnecting.

We had a very quiet night with little disturbances, while my parents (who were in an interconnecting room), had a loud TV thumping until 130am, with no one in the room, as they returned very loudly at 130am.

The rooms we had were large and spacious and we were very happy with them. Having a shower over bath was great, as we were able to give our daughter a bath (splash time). The toiletries are a nice touch too, especially the mouthwash. The bed was amazing, best nights sleep I have had in over a year !!! We did have to ask for additional towels, and these were brought to our room immediately.

We purchased a package which included passes to 2 Sydney attractions. Your staff should make customers aware that both attractions must be visited the same day. We visited the SYDNEY WILDLIFE ZOO first (prior to lunch) and was planning on visiting the AQUARIUM after lunch, however, our small daughter was restless and needed sleep, so we returned to the room and planned on visiting the Aquarium on the Sunday morning prior to our 12pm check out. We were not told of this when checking into the Hotel, or when the tickets were issued at Sydney Wildlife Zoo. We were extremely disappointed, as this was one of the reasons we had come to Sydney for the weekend. We left much early than anticipated.

The breakfast was amazing, a huge selection, although we did find some of the hot food was cold (particularly the eggs and bacon), however, we enjoyed it thoroughly what we did eat. The staff (special note to DADA), was pleasant, friendly and assisted us with any needs we had, especially for our young daughter.

We would like to return later in the year, and hoping you will have similar packages/offers available then, possibly stay for 2 nights this time, and must have an interconnecting room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,787
    2,013
    452
    122
    68
See reviews for
754
2,186
354
1,433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was an amazing hotel inside and out. The building itself it very distinct and beautifully kept. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful and spacious with comfortable bedding. We were able to check in when we arrived, just after 9am as our flight had been an early morning one. The toiletries smelled awesome and were above and beyond what I was expecting.This is definitely a hotel that I would stay in again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianH1822014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Located in an historic building in Sydney CBD, many public areas of the Grace Hotel have kept their art deco style, and these parts are great to explore. The rooms are modernised, so they are pretty stock standard these days, which was disappointing (I'm getting a bit tired of hotel rooms all looking the same no matter how much you pay or how old the building is, it would be great if there were hotels that committed to putting some character in their rooms). It was clean and comfortable, but nothing really stood out. Great breakfast set up, although the staff didn't seem to be too pleased to be there (staff were friendly otherwise). This is one of the few hotels where I have taken advantage of the pool, which was lovely, but give the public spa a miss. Great location. For the price I paid, however, I was hoping for more as far as the room was concerned, but it's still a lovely hotel in a really good location.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CynWasHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights ( Fri / Sat ) and thoroughly enjoyed it. The building itself is beautifully renovated - Art Deco architecture. It is in the CBD so in the midst of all the major shopping sites- The Strand Arcade, Pitt St Mall, Westfield Shopping Centre, David Jones and Myer etc. An easy walk to Hyde Park, and about 20 mins to Moore Park ( near the Sydney Cricket Ground ) where we attended a Rugby Test Match.
The hotel has several great food places on the lower ground or you can walk to a myriad of places nearby. The room we had was very comfortable with everthing you needed. We were out and about most of the time, and were within walking distance to Wynyard Station to catch a train and a short taxi ride to Surrey Hills to a restaurant. Very central and would highly recommend it. We arrived around 1000hrs from Melbourne and the room was ready- no wait at all- what a bonus. We have stayed here before- hence our return. Although we didn't really use any of the hotel services this time- due to meeting up with different friends each day and the afternoon game, we found its proximity and restful design fantastic. This was a beaut place to stay and we will return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 15mattocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Having recently stayed at a few CBD Hotels, I will be keeping the Grace on my list of favourites. I had a fairly typical room, if not a little larger than some others. Very clean and possibly even recently re-furbished. Bathroom modern and well appointed. A bonus for some may be PJ O'Brians pub in the same building (accessible from the foyer) - and with the ability to charge to your room (for the advantage of less receipts if travelling for business). Not far from Wynyard station, with lots of food and drink options nearby - including Cockle Bay and Darling Harbour.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room "facing into the atrium in the middle of the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed here with my 2 children in a interconnected room.
Initially rooms locked but we went out for a while and they were opened on our return.
rooms larger than some hotels in Sydney, modern and clean.
The toiletries were awesome in the bathroom, loved the soap.
Have stayed in lots of hotels but the Grace has definitely got the best breakfast.Loads of choices, eggs cooked to request,kids loved it.
only downside was parking costs, overnight 8pm -8am cost us $42 !! Bit steep when we already payed $500 for 2 rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed at The Grace Hotel for 8 days during the Rotary International Convention in June 2014. We found our room to be comfortable and have sufficient room to be able to spread out and not feel cramped. We enjoyed being in the heart of Sydney and found the hotel's location to be central, thus making it really easy to get around Sydney whether by train, bus or on foot. Apart from one dinner at the hotel (which, as with Sydney generally, was quite expensive), we didn't eat at the hotel although we found plenty of cafes and restaurants nearby to eat breakfast and dinner. The hotel has a guest laundry (A$10 to wash a load (including powder) and A$8 to dry our clothes) which was very handy. We also swam in the hotel's lap pool on the 11th floor which was relaxing and enjoyable. We loved the Art Deco architecture and found the staff helpful.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wheresthebarandcafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,614 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#23 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grace Hotel Sydney

Property: The Grace Hotel Sydney
Address: 77 York Street | corner of York & King Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel
Grace Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing