We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Classic Hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Grace Hotel Sydney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Grace Hotel Sydney
Ranked #17 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Classic Hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

After a very long trip back from an overseas holiday we arrived at 9 am at the hotel keen to drop the bags so we could fill in time around Sydney without them. The receptionist was so understanding but insisted on checking if there was a room ready so we could check-in. thank goodness there was so we could refresh before heading out for coffee. All the staff at the hotel were helpful and pleasant. the room had everything we needed, a lovely comfortable bed to sleep, was very clean and quiet. The building is amazing and has a lot of history - good that it has not been changed too much. Close to city shops, Circular Quay, Darling Harbour and the trains.

Shame that Australian hotels still charge for WiFi in rooms. All our overseas hotels had it for free.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bellevue03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,650
    1,919
    437
    114
    64
See reviews for
715
2,076
341
1,367
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Stayed one night and found this beautiful hotel an absolute treat! Room was large with king size bed, desk and sofa and a well appointed bathroom. Impeccably clean, fluffy towels, and ample tea/coffee for a cuppa. The hotel is in a great location for shopping and close to the Queen Victoria Building and Pitt Street. Check in and out just a breeze. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suratkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cairns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Was in Sydney for business. Loved this Art Deco hotel, great customer service and well appointed rooms. Given its location in the centre of Sydney's CBD you are close to shopping and tourist attractions. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterqld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Stayed for 5 nights start of June during vivid light festival. Great location and friendly staff. Room was of good size and clean. Free wifi in the lobby was a bonus. Just potty it rained for the duration.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Biddy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Spent 2 great nights. You are overtaken by the old world charm of the well refurbished 1930s decor. Reception service was very friendly and smooth. Breakfast was a treat. It was large and roomy. It catered for Gluten free with a separate station for g/f toast.It also had eggs and pancakes to order. Room Service dinner was also well done. Must try the Irish hotel for Great Irish food and ambience. It has charge back to your room as well. The Grace is well worth a stay and is walking distance to shops, Churches, Darling Harbour and a 15 minute walk to The Rocks (or a short cab ride). Try it!!!

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a superior room on Clarence Street which had wonderful large windows and plenty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEFFJOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We would like to thank you for our stay over the weekend. We had a great time and the staff, service and atmosphere were excellent.

A little disappointed we couldn’t get interconnecting rooms (my parents came with us, and we were placed on different floors). We had room 838, while my parents had room 738. We have a small child (15 months old) and this would have been convenient for us all to have rooms interconnecting.

We had a very quiet night with little disturbances, while my parents (who were in an interconnecting room), had a loud TV thumping until 130am, with no one in the room, as they returned very loudly at 130am.

The rooms we had were large and spacious and we were very happy with them. Having a shower over bath was great, as we were able to give our daughter a bath (splash time). The toiletries are a nice touch too, especially the mouthwash. The bed was amazing, best nights sleep I have had in over a year !!! We did have to ask for additional towels, and these were brought to our room immediately.

We purchased a package which included passes to 2 Sydney attractions. Your staff should make customers aware that both attractions must be visited the same day. We visited the SYDNEY WILDLIFE ZOO first (prior to lunch) and was planning on visiting the AQUARIUM after lunch, however, our small daughter was restless and needed sleep, so we returned to the room and planned on visiting the Aquarium on the Sunday morning prior to our 12pm check out. We were not told of this when checking into the Hotel, or when the tickets were issued at Sydney Wildlife Zoo. We were extremely disappointed, as this was one of the reasons we had come to Sydney for the weekend. We left much early than anticipated.

The breakfast was amazing, a huge selection, although we did find some of the hot food was cold (particularly the eggs and bacon), however, we enjoyed it thoroughly what we did eat. The staff (special note to DADA), was pleasant, friendly and assisted us with any needs we had, especially for our young daughter.

We would like to return later in the year, and hoping you will have similar packages/offers available then, possibly stay for 2 nights this time, and must have an interconnecting room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbP77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

This was an amazing hotel inside and out. The building itself it very distinct and beautifully kept. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful and spacious with comfortable bedding. We were able to check in when we arrived, just after 9am as our flight had been an early morning one. The toiletries smelled awesome and were above and beyond what I was expecting.This is definitely a hotel that I would stay in again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GillianH1822014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
City West
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grace Hotel Sydney

Property: The Grace Hotel Sydney
Address: 77 York Street | corner of York & King Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#17 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel
Grace Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing