We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Grace Hotel Sydney
Ranked #19 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Location and comfort”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed four nights at the Grace Hotel. As everyone remarks, the location is excellent for visiting Sydney - 200 metres from some of the best shopping in Westfield and Queen Victoria Building, five minutes across to Darling Harbour, and a 15 minute walk or the shuttle bus down to Circular Quay - what's not to like? The room was a good size, very clean and well-kept with the most comfortable, large bed. But the staff at the hotel were what made it for us. Nothing is too much trouble, there's always a smile and a greeting - and often someone to open the door for you. They make a feature of their history, which adds to the aura of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolJ436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,825 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,012
    2,137
    474
    129
    73
See reviews for
826
2,348
373
1,531
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I booked a deluxe twin room for a few nights and it was great! The beds were large (for twins) and the room was very spacious. The only downside was that the window didn't open and there was no view (but you get what you pay for).
The location was very central. Two blocks to the left and you were at Darling Harbour, four blocks straight to Wynyard Station, and two blocks to the right was the start of the shopping precinct. It was also any easy walk to Town Hall and China Town.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rebecca F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
267 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The Grace is excellent. Service, outstanding. Delightful staff, rooms good size, had everything I needed, really clean, nothing was tired and broken which I find common. The location is central. It was super quiet, bed, pillow etc comfortable, and even large fluffy towels. I'd stay again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Rounsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I just returned from a 2-night stay at the Grace. We had been in Sydney on business at the Intercontintental Hotel and moved over to the Grace for our final weekend in Sydney.

I booked my room on Expedia and was pleasantly surprised when I was "upgraded" upon check-in. The front desk assistant said he'd been able to secure me a premium room. Imagine my disappointment when I got to the room and found the darkest corner of the building. I had one small window overlooking the courtyard. I don't need a view but would prefer something that allows in some natural light. It made waking up in the morning very difficult.

The location is great; 15 minutes to Circular Quay, 10 minutes to Darling Harbour and right smack in the middle of the shopping/downtown district. We felt quite safe walking around at night which was a major plus. There's also a Woolworth just down the block which was quite convenient for stocking up on snacks.

Overall our stay was fine; met our expectations, didn't fall short and didn't exceed. I'd stay again if the price was right.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanElizabeth1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Got a great deal from agoda and my experience with this hotel definitely surpasses the price I've paid. Location - perfect, centre of everything (shopping just round the corner, walkable distance to Chinatown, Darling habor, Circular Quay); Authentic outlook and personally love the design of the hotel; Staff was helpful enough and attentive; Breakfast was not included but lots of wonderful cafes nearby. There wasn't a view from the room but it was clean and tidy and got everything I need. No free wifi in the room but in the lobby for 30mins free usage. Nothing to complain especially with the relatively cheap price.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BanananaPancakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oatley NSW
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at the Grace. It is positioned perfectly; one block from the Queen Victoria Building, one small block from George Street bus route; coffee shops everywhere and a short walk (east) to the Botanic Gardens, NSW Art Gallery, Hyde Park, Sydney Tower, plus the hundreds of retail shops that make up The Strand Arcade, the Mid City Centre and Myer Centre to name a few. Walking the other way (west) takes you to Darling Harbour. For Circular Quay and the harbour just take a bus from George street or do a long walk.
Walk south for two blocks and you are at Town Hall station and beyond that the cinema district.

The room was clean, spacious with good lighting and a big comfortable bed. I prefer softer pillows but they were okay. Great shower.

Not overly priced at AUD350 for 2 nights.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We have stayed several times & usually we stay at least 3 nights. A huge plus is the location which enables you to head in all 4 directions to places like The Art Gallery, The Quay, down to Darling Harbour or up to the QVB - such a variety. Our room was noisy the original time we stayed, but thereafter we have requested a quiet room - perfect sleep. The staff we have found to be very friendly & accommodating to any needs we may have. The breakfast served is very good offering an excellent choice. From time to time they offer good packages.

Room Tip: Inside rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamela_hempel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#16 of 178 in Sydney
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#68 of 178 in Sydney
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grace Hotel Sydney

Property: The Grace Hotel Sydney
Address: 77 York Street | corner of York & King Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#19 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#24 Family Hotel in Sydney
#34 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel
Grace Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing