We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grace Hotel Sydney
Ranked #22 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We stayed for 3 nights. The building was amazing. The bathrooms have dated and the bed was quite hard, but the rooms were otherwise very nice. Fantastic location for shopping and very helpful concierge. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tracy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,993 - 4,999 of 6,427 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Hotel is right in the middle of where you want to be. Its walking distance to everything - cathedral, restaurants, queen victoria mall, woolworth grocery, circular quay, the rocks darling harbour. Wow we had a great time discovering Sydney and having a perfect hotel location helped a lot. Not to mention the good enough room space and good variety of breakfast food. The concierge was very helpful in providing directions. The only thing weird i guess is the hotel doesn't have parking spaces. Overall if you want to enjoy Sydney try this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Flipper1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We found the staff friendly and helpful and the room clean and comfortable. The Hotel is situated in the heart of the CBD and is very convenient to Darling Harbour and Circular Quay. The hotel's Restaurant menu had a good variety of options and prices were reasonable. Staying in an iconic, historic, art deco building was a bonus.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 836MaryT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We were very surprised when we found out we were basically 5 min from the major attractions in Sydney! Historical building, great range of services, clean and quite welcoming. Room service is cheaper than eating out in restaurants in the city, pretty different for European visitors. ON Christmas eve it was pouring down so we couldn't go anywhere but luckily one of the nicest pubs is located in the same building. Highly recommended

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Vallla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We arrived at the Grace Hotel to check in after 30 hours of travel, so tender and efficient treatment at the front desk would have been greatly appreciated. Instead, it took us about 20 min to check in (this with a reservation and a prepayment of the night before the day we arrived!), in interaction with an only modestly responsive desk clerk. The $100 deposit charged to the credit card for incidentals was aggravating; you had our card number, and were completely covered in case we were planning to skip out. The rooms offer EITHER a bath or a shower; after 30 hours in transit it would be really nice to have the option of a soak without forfeiting the shower. There was a strange hair on the amenities tray in the bathroom -- yuck! The bed was really good, on the other hand, and the concierge was very helpful. The hotel affiliated pub is loud and full of fried food and unappealing, but Vapiano (next to the lobby) is a decent, informal meal option. One should never arrange to meet in the lobby -- it is huge and cold and drafty and there is no place convenient, let alone comfortable, to sit and wait.

Room Tip: The desk clerk promised us a quiet, INTERIOR room but we ended up looking out on Clarence St. Not t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Or our standards have gotten higher. We've usually stayed here for a night during our stays in Sydney. It's affordable, and it's in a great location, especially for Darling Harbour. On our last stay, though, it just felt dingy. It had been six years since we had been there, and I felt as though nothing had been updated. The carpeting was filthy--and not just from wear and tear--there was dust and dirt build-up in the corners, and bits of food that hadn't been cleaned up. It made me not want to take my shoes off in the room. That being said, it is still a good location, and it's not a terrible hotel; we would just not stay there again. It's worth paying more to stay somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JSplain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Check-in was smooth, rooms were very comfortable, and clean.....beds very comfortable! The hotel has a lot of information on the history of the hotel on the walls around the hotel....very interesting! All staff were very helpful and concierge was just great, as we had just arrived in Sydney and were getting our bearings after a very long flight! The hotel was walking distance to Darling Harbour and lots of shops and restaurants. Tour picked us up right out front. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hatetofly4273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#21 of 186 in Sydney
2,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney
Central Business District
Hyatt Regency Sydney
Hyatt Regency Sydney
#76 of 186 in Sydney
1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grace Hotel Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grace Hotel Sydney

Address: 77 York Street | corner of York & King Streets, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Sydney
#20 Family Hotel in Sydney
#22 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#23 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
#35 Business Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: £110 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Grace Hotel Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Sydney from its heart at The Grace Hotel and be steps away from Darling Harbour and King Street Wharf, plus the best shopping, theatres and entertainment on offer. Standing beautifully restored today, the heritage listed 4 1/2 star Grace Hotel offers warm, personalised service and a unique blend of Art Deco charm and contemporary elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Grace Hotel Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sydney Grace Hotel
Grace Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing