We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Ok!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central
Ranked #87 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in november.It was just ok.The room was on the 12th floor but because the windows were only single glazed we had street noise constantly.Especially at 5 in the morning when the refuse collectors arrived it was so noisy you could imagine they were right outside the window!The hotel is ok location wise and it only took us 15 minutes to walk to darling harbour.Its a just ok hotel and suited us because of its location but thats all really.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesmcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear Julesmcfc,

Thank you for the constructive feedback regarding your recent visit in our hotel. Although we are glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay and service provided, we are disappointed to hear that you had issues with noise from the street.

Metro Hotel Central is centrally located in Sydney CBD and offers the benefits of living in close proximity to most that Sydney has to offer. In respect to our location, it is rare for our guests to report noise issues, especially on the higher levels such as the floor that you stayed in. I will forward your feedback to our management team for their consideration. Also, I would suggest, in your future stays with us, to request a room facing the courtyard away from the street. These rooms are more quiet and more appropriate for guests who are light sleepers.

Our reservations team is always happy to try and assist with all guest requests regarding their booking and room allocation.

I hope that this reply has addressed your concerns.

We will be looking forward to your future stays with us.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,101)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,009 - 1,015 of 1,102 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

After staying at another Metro hotel in August, I thought I would try another one. Whilst the price was similar, the twin room was a lot smaller than Metro on Pitt. The bathroom is noticeably small and difficult to negotiate in some aspects. Staff were efficient on check in. Plenty of food venues on the doorstep. Excellent access to transport. Still decent value for a stay in the city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brendan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear Brendan S,

Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotels and for the time you took to leave your feedback. We are happy that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us.

Metro Hotels always try to offer a great value for money option with a friendly and efficient service. Our hotel is in a great location and an ideal destination for both business and individual travelers.

I will make sure to forward your feedback to the relevant department heads for their consideration. We are looking forward to your next visit in our hotels.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Overall a solid hotel experience. Got a good deal on special - had booked a twin room and was put into a triple which made the room a bit cramped but my friend and I were in Sydney to run around and play tourist so it didn't matter much. We didn't have any sort of view from our room (literally looking at a grey wall) but from the location/height of the building, don't think view would've been a factor in many of the rooms, if any.

It's a pretty great location if you're wanting to be central - a couple of blocks from Central, a block from World Square shopping centre, which has a Coles, a block from George Street where the free 555 bus runs, and a stones throw from a variety of dining options, a lot of them Asian cuisine as it is in Haymarket.

We had breakfast included in our room rate and both of us thought it was pretty decent - I've seen more elaborate buffet breakfasts in hotels but if you're used to coffee/cereal/toast at home then you'll enjoy the extra variety, as we did. Staff were pleasant, not particularly warm and friendly but they got the job done. If you're more interested in the personal touches that come at other hotels then perhaps won't be your cup of tea. The room wasn't completely serviced each day - for example, I can tell they didn't run a vacuum through the room, but the bathroom was refreshed which is the important part I suppose!

As a young professional on a budget who is used to youth hotels, I thought the hotel was solid and quite enjoyed my stay; but there were certainly flaws and it would depend on where your priorities lie (location versus service versus price) whether this hotel would be for you.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielleraeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Danielleraeg,

Thank you for your recent stay and review regarding it. We always try to offer a great value for money option for accommodation in Sydney and we are happy that we managed to achieve this in your case.

Please note that due to our location in the city, only a limited number of rooms have some district views. We always try our best to allocate these rooms to longer staying guests and to those who have requested them, although this might not always be possible, especially on very busy days.

We also offer the option of our Suites that can guarantee street facing rooms and partial district views from all of them.

It is true that our property is centrally located in Sydney CBD and close to most attractions of Sydney either on foot or by public transport. This makes us a great option for both business and leisure travelers.

I will forward your comments to the relevant department heads for their review and information.

We will be looking forward to see you again in the future.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights with a friend on a weekend away trip in Sydney.
We picked this particular hotel due to it having a pool, however if this is one of your main reasons for staying here, be warned, the pool is VERY cold. it was mid 30's both days we were there (middle october a couple of days before the lithgow fires started so had been hot for awhile too) and the pool was like ice.
It doesn't get much sun due to surrounding buildings, but a great way to wake up in the morning and nice to sit out on the deck next to it.

Check in was a bit weird, you have to specifically state you want pool access otherwise your key is not coded and they seemed a bit flustered by our arrival, room was simple, beds were comfortable, bathroom was simple but did everything you needed.

Rooms were clean and well maintained, and location was great, could walk to everything, darling harbour, centro shopping, train stations.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mish84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Mish84,

Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central and for the valuable feedback that you left. We are glad that you have had an overall good experience from your stay here. We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation option and it seems that we achieved this in your case.

Regarding the pool access, for security reasons, the staff need to verify your age before activating your room keys as children and teenagers need to have adult supervision in the pool.

I will pass your comments to the relevant departments for their review and follow up. We will be looking forward to your future visits in our hotel.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Average! Stayed here with two girlfriends last weekend, rooms are tiny, basic and poorly lit. Our room was really dark as the windows backed onto an alley way with a massive building next to it, so no views, no sun, just a giant wall. Walls are thin, can hear everything going on in the hallway and the rooms next to you. Service is pretty poor, staff weren't very friendly or interested. Bathroom was tiny. Location was the only positive, within walking distance of Sydney CBD, only about 15 minutes walk from the Opera House etc and 5 minute walk from Central Station. I would only look into this hotel if you are on a budget and just need a bed, otherwise don't bother.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashleigh7713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2013

Dear Ashleigh7713,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay in our hotel. We are happy that you have enjoyed the hotel central location and its proximity to all the major Sydney attractions.

Following our last year renovation, all our rooms are now up to a great standard for our hotel category. Unfortunately, being a City hotel, not all our rooms can provide district views. We do our best to accommodate our guest requests and provide longer staying guests with the rooms that have a better view. For your next stay I would recommend you to request for a room facing the street and our friendly reservation team will try its best to accommodate this.

I am disappointed that you did not find our customer service satisfactory. I will pass your comments to the team for their review and avoidance of similar incidents in the future. We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation option with a friendly service. It is a pity that we did not achieve this with your stay.

I hope that this reply has addressed your concerns. We wish you all the best with your future travels.
For all further enquiries, feel free to contact us.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

Was at this hotel for three nights in Sydney. It was clean, quiet, had a safe and refrigerator which were big pluses. It is very convenient to all methods of transportation within Sydney. The staff at the front desk were a bit underwhelming.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navidad_not
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Navidad_not,

Thank you for your recent stay in Metro Hotel Central and for the time taken to leave your review. We are glad that your recent experience was a positive one.

In order to offer a great value for money accommodation our hotel had a major refurbishment in all the rooms over the past year. This, combined with the great location of our property, make our hotel an excellent option for accommodation in Sydney CBD.

We are only minutes away from all major Sydney attractions, and public transportation suitable for both leisure and business travelers alike.

I will make sure to forward your feedback to all the relevant departments for their review.

We hope to see you again in your future travels.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

For some reason, my usual haunts were booked out. I booked Metro expecting basic but not something as bad as I got.

The rooms are very basic and poorly lit. Quite small, but roughly what I would expect for the price. The service at check in was basic at best. They took a swipe of my card, and then gave me a hard time when I came back to actually get a room key, to charge me for the second night. Which clearly couldn't be done at the same time as my original paperwork.

The doors are paper thin. I could hear every word from the room next door including one lovely lady having sex on the Sunday night. Loudly. A couple of times.

For the price, I should have booked into a basic business hotel like the Menzies instead. Do not recommend.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
5  Thank natleongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Front Office Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Natleongue,

Thank you for taking time to leave some feedback about your recent experience. We understand that although you enjoyed your stay in general, you had some issues with the room allocation and noise levels from the next door guests.

Please note that all the rooms in the hotel have been recently refurbished to offer a better value for our guests. Unfortunately, we cannot do something about the room size, due to building restrictions, but on average our rooms are quite comfortably spaced compared to other properties in Sydney. For guests that need more space, we also offer suites that are bigger and have separate sleeping and lounge areas.

I have passed your concerns about the customers service to the relevant departments for their review and action. We always try to offer a friendly service to our guests and it is unfortunate that this was not achieved in your case.

Regarding your noise concerns, please note that the hotel has a no noise policy from 21.00 to 09.00 daily. Our staff regularly patrol the common areas during these times and we encourage our guests to report any noise issues to our staff in order to take action.

I hope that this reply has assisted you with your concerns. For anything further, please feel free to contact us.

We wish you all the best to your future travels.

Kind regards,
Stefanos V.
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#82 of 179 in Sydney
2,524 reviews
Inner West
28 Hotel
28 Hotel
#24 of 179 in Sydney
154 reviews
Metro Aspire Hotel Sydney
#39 of 179 in Sydney
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Square Hotel
#155 of 179 in Sydney
513 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#107 of 179 in Sydney
1,957 reviews
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central

Address: 431-439 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £73 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central is minutes away from all that Sydney offers. Located opposite the Capitol Theatre and walking distance to China Town and Darling Harbour. Boasting 220 well appointed guest rooms & suites, this hotel with its rooftop pool is an oasis in a busy gateway city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing