We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Metro Central Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central
Ranked #83 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Metro Central Sydney”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Recently stayed at this Motel, walking distance from Central Railway station makes it very easy to get to and not have to worry about car parking. The staff are friendly and efficient, room was nice and clean and very comfortable. Although it is the southern end of the Sydney CBD it is still within walking distance to the city shops and restaurants. Would stay there again when in Sydney.

Room Tip: Catch the train - don't worry about a car, the Motel is a block away from Central Station -close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Laurel D,

Thank you for your feedback and recent stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central. We are glad that you have enjoyed your accommodation and service provided. We always value our customer feedback as it helps us improve our services.

It is true that our hotel is in an ideal location for business and leisure travelers alike. All our rooms have been recently refurbished making our property a great value for money option in Sydney.

We will be looking forward to your next visit in our hotel.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    374
    237
    60
    38
See reviews for
226
230
85
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Narooma, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Travelled to Sydney to see the Lion King with my Mother in Law and Daughter.We were pleasantly suprised by the position and Decor of this Hotel. Everything was at our finger tips ( shops,restaraunts,theater) so need need to use the car. The hotel itself was beautiful and staff were brilliant accomodating us.All areas of the hotel were very clean and well laid out.Rooms were modern and spacious and the beds were oh so comfortable.Love the fact that it's only a five min walk to Paddy's market and Chinatown.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 229bobk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Mumoffive,

Thank you for the great feedback. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central. Since we always try to offer a great value for money accommodation with a friendly service, positive reviews help our team try harder.

I will forward your comments to our front office team for their information. For all further comments feel free to contact us.

We will be looking forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A great location close to Capitol Theatre, trains stations and light rail. Room was excellent except for the terrible damp smell as you entered. There must have been water damage to the bathroom and the carpet underlay was not replaced. Room 412 - to the Management PLEASE have the carpet repaired. You can't ask guests to pay for a room with this smell. We would stay here again for location and value for money but not in this room. I did read the same comment from other guests and I'm just wondering how many people need to remark on this smell before something is done? Apart from this, we had a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Please ask for any room except 412
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Melissa,

Thank you for your recent stay and review. We are glad that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us. We always try to offer a great value for money accommodation to all our guests.

Rest assured that our maintenance team will look into the issue that you reported to us and rectify it if necessary. I will forward your feedback for their review and action.

We will be looking forward to your next visit in our hotel. For all further comments, feel free to contact us.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our stay at this hotel was our night out for dinner and to see The Lion King. On arrival staff were semi friendly but were more attentive to the Asian travelers checking in. On our way out we asked where a particular restaurant was and they were unable to give any sense of direction and told us that we could look it up. The next morning breakfast should ahve been included in our package stay but they said I hadnt booked it properly and no incoling of favouring us with breakfast and said we could put our complaint in writing to management. Other than the closeness to the Captial Theatre , nothing special about this Hotel !!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Narelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Narelle B,

Thank you for your visit and feedback left regarding your stay. We are glad that you have enjoyed our hotel's location, room amenities and cleanliness.

In our hotel we always try to offer a good value for money accommodation with a friendly service and I am sorry to see that you did not manage to have an overall positive experience with your last stay.

Please note that regarding the packages on offer, the hotel has many available options for guests who want to have breakfast and for those who do not. Packages are priced according to what is on offer. Unfortunately, if a package does not include breakfast we cannot offer complimentary breakfast to guests.

Our reservations and front office staff are here to assist you with your enquiries if you find it hard to find a suitable package for your needs. Feel free to contact me should you have any further enquiries regarding this.

I will forward your feedback to the relevant teams for their review.

We hope to see you again in your next visit in Sydney.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sydney hotels

kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
534 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed in this hotel a few years ago. I checked into the hotel as I came in an early wee morning 9 hours flight. I could not opened my eyes for lack of sleep & the hotel reception was kind enough to let me check in earlier than usual. As soon as I saw the clean & comfortable bed, I fell into a deep sleep oblivious what was happening around me.It was a good location & China Town was just a stone throw away.Price was also reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carsam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear carsam c,

Thank you for your stay with Metro Hotel Central. We are glad that you have enjoyed your time in our hotel.

Following our recent refurbishment, the feedback from our return guests has been overwhelmingly positive.

We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose Ca
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Metro Hotel central is located near a majority of "backpacker hotels" and the surrounding area on Google Earth appears a tad on the "rough side". But do not be "put off" by the photos on Google. This is a safe area to be in at night. After reading other Tripadvisor reviews I decided upon the Metro Hotel Central and the choice was perfect for our trip. Value priced for Sydney, centrally located with super easy access to buses, trains, light-rail and the subway. Walking distance to many points of interest and right across the street from the Capitol Theater. The Hotel and our room was clean, comfortable with modern stylish decor and decently appointed rooms including a room safe, small refrigerator and a kettle. Although a microwave oven would have been a helpful addition.
I had little interaction with the staff during my two week stay, but when I did, they were friendly and helpful. Breakfast is available for an additional charge.
Thumbs-up: value, location
Thumbs-down: no microwave, charge for internet access

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traverler1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Traverler1515,

Thank you for your stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central and for the review regarding your stay. We are glad that you have had a positive stay and that you enjoyed our location, amenities and service. As we always strive to offer a good value for money accommodation, it very positive for us to receive helpful feedback.

It is true that our hotel is in a great location, close to all amenities and destination that Sydney has to offer. There are many things to see and do in Sydney and our staff are always happy to give their feedback and help you plan your stay.

I will forward your feedback to all relevant departments for their review. Should you have any further enquiries/comments, feel free to contact us.

We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our purpose to go to Sydney was to see the Lion King show, and the hotel is just the opposite the Capitol theatre, very confinient. It's not a luxury hotel, so dont expect a luxury treatment, standart hotel enough for 4 days just to go around the city. Staff are very helpful, arrive early and they let me check in the room, thanks for that. Close to main attractions, 5 to 10 minutes walk to Darling harbour. The hotel close to restaurant and cafe, dairy shop and 10 minutes walk to Central station, so no need to rush in to go to airport, just take the train and avoid the traffic. Will recommend to people that wants to go around the city and dont mind walking around, bus stop are everywhere. The negative part that the elevator can be so slow to go down or to top floor for swimming pool, can be waiting for a long time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmrid0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Mmrid0220,

Thank you for your stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel and took full advantage of our great location to explore Sydney. There are many transport options near our hotel for those who want to move around the City.

I will forward your feedback about our front office staff to them for their information. It is our pleasure to help early arriving customers with a room if we have one available.

We will be looking forward to your next visit. In the meantime, feel free to contact us should you require any further information.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#55 of 178 in Sydney
1,329 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,340 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#98 of 178 in Sydney
4,788 reviews
Capitol Square Hotel
#149 of 178 in Sydney
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central

Property: Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central
Address: 431-439 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central is minutes away from all that Sydney offers. Located opposite the Capitol Theatre and walking distance to China Town and Darling Harbour. Boasting 220 well appointed guest rooms & suites, this hotel with its rooftop pool is an oasis in a busy gateway city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing