We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location decent price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central
Ranked #83 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Bunbury
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Location decent price”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night in July to see the Lion King. The Capitol Theatre is across the road so great location for that. The rooms were ok bathroom ok, but the toilet was crushed into one corner, when I sat down my knees touched the wall in front of me. They were clean and reasonably quiet.
Staff were ok but the check in area is small so if there are a few people you may wait.
It's a bit of a walk to most tourist attractions but Central station is about 300m away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Rod H,

Thank you for your stay and feedback left for our hotel. It is good to learn that you had an overall positive experience from your stay.

I will forward you feedback regards the room amenities to our Maintenance team for their review.

We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    371
    235
    60
    38
See reviews for
222
230
85
148
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We needed to spend a single night in the city and this was perfect. I found the room very clean and the bed comfortable. Don't really understand the complaints about small rooms, was suitable for us. Single complaint - they must have re-done the bathtubs with inserts making it a challenge for tall people.
It is a very short walk from Central, easily done unless you have excess baggage. Close to amenities. Roof top pool that we couldn't use as it was winter..
We had a room on a high floor, may be noisy on lower levels.
I would stay again.

Room Tip: Higher levels better to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CdnDiveGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear CdnDiveGal,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your stay. We are glad to learn that you had a nice stay in our hotel.

We receive a lot of positive feedback regarding our location that is close to most attractions in Sydney and only a short stroll away from public transportation.

We will be looking forward to your next visit.

Warm regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

stayed here for 5 days and their services was excellent. the staffs are friendly, helpful and the location is very strategic. close to the capitol theatre, and in walking distance all the way upto darling harbour and circular quey as well..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jabberwocky91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Jabberwocky91,

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us in Metro Hotel Central. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and service provided by our staff members. It is our goal to offer a great value for money accommodation with a friendly service to all our guests and we are happy to receive positive feedback when we achieve our goal.

I will forward your review to our team for their information. We will be looking forward to your next visit in Sydney and in our hotels.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed here just over a week mainly for The Lion King at the Capitol Theatre on July 18th since it's right across the road from the theatre, it's pretty much walking distance to everywhere!

We stayed in a good room where we were lucky enough to look down at the capitol theatre! Smaller than I expected but with comfy beds, bathroom, TV, hanger and cupboard, iron and board, and a refrigerator. Noise factor was a slight concern since I could hear some banging and clanging and laughter on some nights outside the door trying to sleep. But I suppose all hotels would have that issue.

Only little problems we had was that we had to get water from the bathroom tap since their was no 'kitchen' tap in the hotel room and we weren't going to spend money every day on water bottles so we simply saved some empty bottles of our own and kept them in the fridge available. We were worried about getting sick from bathroom water but that turned out fine. A little peeved I had to pay extra for Wi-fi access as well.

Sometimes the lifts were a little dodgy inserting the hotel cards we were given and we were worried getting stuck in the elevator at times, but that might've been just us inserting them at the wrong time since we got better at it.

Despite these two (small) problems I would recommend staying here, especially for a show at the theatre.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Gemma H,

Thank you for your stay in Metro Hotel Sydney Central. We are glad that you have enjoyed your recent stay and that you took advantage of our great location. We have had many guests staying in our hotel to watch the Lion King Show as our property is located just across the street from the Capitol Theatre. A lot of positive comments for the show and the performers!

Regarding your comments about the internet access, please note that following our guest reviews we are now offering free internet access of up to one hour daily to all our guests in the hotel business centre.

We will be looking forward to your next stay with us. In the meantime, should you have any further enquiries feel free to contact us.

Kind Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a triple deluxe room. Arrived 30min early but were able to check in early. The reception staff were really friendly and helpful.
Our room was really neat and tidy. Was small for 3 people but we werent in there the whole time. The bathroom was clean and the decor of the room was nice.
My only criticism would be the height of roof it was quite close when you stood up in the bath for a shower and the shower water pressure was really bad.
Other than that I was really impressed and I would stay again

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rochelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Rochelle,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you had a nice stay with us in Metro Hotels and that your trip in Sydney was an enjoyable one.

We always try to offer a good value for money accommodation with a friendly service and it seems that we have achieved this with your stay.

I will forward your feedback to our front office team for their information.

We will be looking forward to your next visit in our hotel.

Regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wauchope, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here when in Sydney to see a show at the Capitol Theatre. Could not get a better location for this. We arrived at Central station which is only about a 10 minute walk to the hotel. We were also walking distance(about 20 minutes) to the shopping area. We walked from the hotel to a restaurant in George street before the show.
The room was fine, enough space, nice toiletries, and quiet (we were on the 10th floor). No free wifi. The bathroom basin was bit skinny with the low overhanging shelf. Not a lot of space in front of the toilet so did sit slightly sideways. These things were not a great issue and would not put us off staying here again.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue Russell K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Sue Russell,

Thank you for your review and recent stay with Metro Hotel Sydney Central. We are glad that you had a positive experience from your latest visit in our hotel and that you have enjoyed our great location and service.

Please note that following our guest reviews, the hotel will be offering 1 hr free internet access daily in our business centre to all our guests.

We hope to have you stay with us during your next visit in Sydney. In the meantime, if you have any further comments feel free to contact us.

Kind regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at the Metro on Pitt Street while attending a training course at the Sydney Masonic Centre. The hotel was in a great position fro this venue and other attractions nearby. I was very fortunate to be upgraded to a Junior Suite, which was a nice surprise when checking in. The hotel was clean and the room was in mainly good condition. it was starting to show its age with some of the paint starting to flake. Generally though I can not fault the room other than that. I had a corner room looking out over Pitt Street and towards Central Station. You could also see the Capitol Theatre across the road. If i was staying in the city to see a show at the Capitol Theatre, I would stay at the Metro. The main drawback for this hotel was I had the park the car in The World Square carpark. It is ok if you want to leave it there, but can be expensive if you want to go in and out. Other than that i enjoyed my stay at the Metro.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefanos V, Manager at Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Dear Glen,

Thank you for your recent stay with Metro Hotel Central and for the time taken to leave your review.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your recent stay with us as we always try to offer a good value for money accommodation with a friendly service.

I will have our maintenance team have a look in the room that you stayed and make sure that it is repainted if necessary. All our rooms were refurbished a year ago and we have had very positive feedback from our return guests.

We will be looking forward to your next stay with us. In the meantime, should you have any further enquiries, feel free to contact us.

Kind regards,
Stefanos V.
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Metro Hotel on Pitt
Metro Hotel on Pitt
#55 of 178 in Sydney
1,323 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney World Square
Chinatown
Pensione Hotel Sydney - by 8Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Central Station Hotel
Central Station Hotel
#81 of 178 in Sydney
2,339 reviews
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#98 of 178 in Sydney
4,777 reviews
Chinatown
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#97 of 178 in Sydney
961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central

Property: Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central
Address: 431-439 Pitt St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central 3.5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central is minutes away from all that Sydney offers. Located opposite the Capitol Theatre and walking distance to China Town and Darling Harbour. Boasting 220 well appointed guest rooms & suites, this hotel with its rooftop pool is an oasis in a busy gateway city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Metro Hotel Marlow Sydney Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro Hotel Sydney Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing