We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overnight business stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Ranked #23 of 176 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Albion Park, Australia
Level Contributor
261 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Overnight business stay.”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This hotel is in a good location for those wanting to visit Darling Harbour and Sydney central.
The room was a good size for two to 3 people and was clean, mine had two double beds. Unfortunately the pillows were very large which made sleeping a bit uncomfortable.
The bathroom was clean and well presented, but for those who want a hair dryer you should bring your own as the room does not cater for this. I should mention the shower head as it is a big as a dinner plate.
For anyone who is looking for a long stay you will have trouble with finding anywhere to hang or store your clothing as there is a lack of storage.
The motel has busy motorways around it but I could not hear the traffic noise at night.
The staff were friendly and ensured that my bag was in the room as soon as it became available. You should take advantage of the Valet Parking as the price is as good as any other in this area, if not better.
The breakfast was as standard as most hotels, having a reasonable range of selections.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Mark C,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay with us here at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour.

I am delighted to read that you appreciated our great location as well as our refurbished rooms which we are very proud of.

I would like to share with you that we have hairdryers in each of the guests rooms and these can be found in the top of the wardrobe. Also, we are about to add additional storage facilities for guests, allowing a more comfortable environment.

We hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future. Thank you once again for providing a positive review.

Warm Regards,

Craig Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,364
    930
    230
    66
    53
See reviews for
578
1,039
81
550
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (609)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The Parkroyal, Darling harbour is very well situated, close to the beautiful Darling waterfront.
The rooms are well appointed and very comfortable and the staff very friendly and helpful. I found that it was very centrally situated and perfect to explore the city from there.
My only concern was that i have to agree with worldly2013 in saying that the lack of drawers in the cupboards was somewhat strange.

However my overall experience was really good - first class place and ready to reccommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lefthandseat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear lefthandseat,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the comments and feedback from your most recent stay at the PARKROYAL Darling Harbour. The responses our guests provide us with are an invaluable source of information and allow us to improve our standards and service.

I was pleased to hear of your positive experiences at the hotel. As part of our ongoing commitment to Creating Memorable Hotel Experiences we completed a multi-million dollar refurbishment in February. The refurbishment included enhancements to our guestrooms, restaurant, bars, event spaces, gymnasium as well as our PARKROYAL Club Lounge and lobby.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future for any of your business or leisure travels.

Kind Regards

Craig Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Once again I was booked in by my company to this hotel and once again the service let me down.

I have written a review around 6 months ago on this property and upon checking in this time, I thought the feedback must have been read as the girl at check-in informed me I had been put in a club room and had been given access to the club lounge for breakfast and evening drinks / canapes. It was a good start, and the room, facing the city, was brilliant, quiet and comfortable.

Breakfast in the club room was accessed by my room key and was quite a good selection. However, when I returned to the club room in the evening and had poured myself a drink, I was asked for my room number, which I provided. The girl then came back about 2 mins later asking for my full name and room number, which I again provided. Another 2 mins later she asked the same thing, saying that she had to check a list. 2 mins later she came back and said I was not on the list and would have to leave - I discussed with her that during check-in I had been informed I HAD been given club access and that surely if I wasn't supposed to be there, my room key shouldn't access the lounge. Despite this, I was told I was not welcome, and to have this happen in front of colleagues was highly embarrassing.

I simply cannot recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cottboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The extremities of constant traffic noise (being over the busy freeways) make it almost impossible to sleep as the rooms don’t have double glazing, plus the lack of any drawers in the rooms to enable unpacking your suitcase if you plan to stay more than one night, plus the lack of a reasonable sized wardrobe or hanging space in the rooms.

After prepaying in excess of $315.00 per night based on a Qantas 4 star recommendation, we believed we would at least have the basics for a 5 night stay. Sadly this wasn't to be. In other words don't prepay Qantas and assume you are getting the best.

We have traveled extensively not just in Australia, but around the world and have never encountered a hotel room 'anywhere' that didn’t provide some basic drawer space, similarly where traffic noise was an issue the hotel windows had always been double glazed or double sashes and door seals had always been installed. Unfortunately this wasn’t the case at the newly renovated Parkroyal in Sydney.
One further point of observation was the lack of a hotel services directory in any of the rooms.

After complaining to the manager who was extremely compassionate, we were upgraded to the Club Rooms floor at the back of the hotel away from serious traffic noise, and where basic facilities are provided as standard.

As a consolation to the hotel, I would like to pass comment that the breakfast was excellent, the general decor throughout was very good and all of the hotel staff were extremely polite, friendly and very helpful - a true asset to hotel management.

Room Tip: Avoid bookings on the top floor - it hasn't been renovated. Also avoid bookings on the Darling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, 27 August 2013
Dear Worldly2013,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the comments and feedback from your most recent stay at the PARKROYAL Darling Harbour. The responses our guests provide us with are an invaluable source of information and allow us to improve our standards and service.

I would like to share with you that we will be adding extra drawers and storage in our guest rooms, adding extra comfort for our guests.

I do apologise that you were unable to find a hotel services directory in your room. A full hotel directory can be found on our televisions, but we will be adding a physical hotel directory into our rooms shortly.

I thank you again for your feedback and do hope that you might consider staying at the PARKROYAL Darling Harbour in the future.

Warm Regards

Craig Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Green Point, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This property is brilliant in every way shape and form. From the minute you arrive, you have the feeling that the hotel is first class and that the team are really there to make your stay the best possible, no matter if it is for business or pleasure.
The rooms are stunning, all have been refurbished to an unbelievable high standard, fitted with the best possible inclusions and creature comforts.
If you get a chance dine in the restaurant, the meals are A++ grade, the quality and presentation is equal if not better to any of the high class restaurants in the CBD. The food coupled with the service and the choice of wine makes the experience unbelievably good.
Naturally the proximity to Darling Harbour and the CBD is a win win situation.
Honestly I cannot recommend this hotel high enough, it is just is the best in Sydney.
When I need to stay in Sydney for business or pleasure, the only choice is the Park Royal.

Room Tip: High Floor, over looking Darling Harbour is you are at the property with the family. If not all the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Dear Pete C,

Thank you so much for highlighting our excellent location - PARKROYAL Darling Harbour is close to some of Sydney's premier attractions, bars and restaurants.

We have an ongoing commitment to Creating Memorable Hotel Experiences for all of our guests and I was pleased to note that you found our facilities and services excellent.

Once again, I was delighted to hear your feedback and I will make sure that this is communicated to all of our teams.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to PARKROYAL Darling Harbour in the near future.

Warm Regards

Craig Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paducah, Kentucky
Level Contributor
124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

The hotel was very nice. The concierge desk and reception could not have been nicer or more helpful. The gymnasium was the best in any hotel we have stayed. We were on the 9th floor with access to the club lounge. It was well worth the extra $ because the lounge is open 6:30am-9pm and it includes Breakfast, evening drinks and food as well as free internet in the room. The bed and pillows were so comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jschaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear jschaberg,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with the comments and feedback from your most recent stay at the PARKROYAL Darling Harbour. The responses our guests provide us with are an invaluable source of information and allow us to improve our standards and service.

I was pleased to hear of your positive experiences at the hotel. As part of our ongoing commitment to Creating Memorable Hotel Experiences we completed a multi-million dollar refurbishment in February. The refurbishment included enhancements to our guestrooms, restaurant, bars, event spaces, gymnasium as well as our PARKROYAL Club Lounge and lobby. Also as part of our product upgrade, we implemented new pillows, duvets and state-of-the-art televisions to ensure extra comfort for all of our guests.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor and I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future for any of your business or leisure travels.

Kind Regards

Craig Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suva, Central, Fiji
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Great food, friendly staff, cozy and excellent rooms, complete facilities, nearby malls, and everything you would ask for in your second home is in the famous and first-class, The Park-royal Hotel. Even though I only got to experience the cheapest but also of high-class room, I enjoyed the glamour of the place and felt like a very important guest.

First to talk about is the food. "Wow!" I think this expression summarizes everything about the food and in room service. Almost every kind of breakfast food was served in the buffet. I was amazed by the food, delicious juices, and the unfamiliar fruits that taste so good, not to mention the excellent staff that assisted me. My stay atParkroyal was really awesome and satisfying.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosaiaCama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig B, General Manager at PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney, responded to this review, 20 August 2013
Dear JosaiaCama,

Thank you so much for highlighting our excellent location - PARKROYAL Darling Harbour is close to some of Sydney's premier attractions such as China Town and Darling Harbour with a number of the city's best bars and restaurants nearby.

We have an ongoing commitment to Creating Memorable Hotel Experiences for all of our guests and I am glad that you found our facilities and services excellent.

I was also pleased to note that you enjoyed our expansive breakfast buffet in BARKERS restaurant and that our staff were attentive throughout your stay.

I hope that we can welcome you back to PARKROYAL Darling Harbour in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Craig Bond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#15 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,462 reviews
Central Business District
Sydney Harbour Marriott Hotel at Circular Quay
Central Business District
InterContinental Sydney
InterContinental Sydney
#24 of 176 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney

Property: PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
Address: 150 Day St, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Sydney
#23 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#29 Business Hotel in Sydney
#48 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Pan Pacific Hotels Group, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkroyal Darling Harbour Sydney Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing