We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent base in a great area, but noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Ranked #61 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Decent base in a great area, but noisy”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

As a family of four adults we based ourselves here for five days. Surry Hills is a fabulous are full of shops, bars and cafes. This is great but at nighttime it is very noisy, especially at weekends, particularly as our room was overlooking some busy spots on Crown Street.

THe room itself was modern and spacious with decent furniture and comfy beds. The kitchen was good enough to be self contained but was a bit sparse on kitchen stuff. Two bathrooms between four was great though hoever there were a few niggly issues with the shower door and loose taps. THis is being a bit pedantic but i would say overall it is in need of a bit of attention.

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking Crown St
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjwilln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Rjwilln

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel to be modern spacious and comprise comfortable bedding. In relation to your comment regarding the kitchen utensils please note we have many spare items. Next time you stay please feel free to call reception if you require any additional items, they would be more than happy to organise them to be brought up. I am disappointed to hear that you found your room noisy, if you do choose to stay at the hotel again enquire about our city view rooms. These rooms are on the opposite side of the building offering stunning views of the city.

Thank you once again and hope to welcome you and your family to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Crown St, Surry Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    364
    371
    123
    41
    28
See reviews for
306
150
37
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We based ourselves here for a week while my husband was working nearby in Surry Hills. We have two small children (aged 3 and 5) so I had initial reservations about being further away from the main tourist sites, but it actually worked very well. Surry Hills is a nice area with lots of shops and cafes, there's a playground just down the road. It's on a bus route direct to circular quay and also to Coogee beach. It's a 10 minute downhill walk to the Central train station (probably quicker without children in tow) though too steep for my children to walk back after a day of sightseeing, so we tended to catch taxis and buses back. Lovely pool for children. Room was great - had a laundry, two bedrooms both with ensuites, great lounge. Kitchen was well equipped - missing some obvious things (e.g. grater) but when I asked for them, they were delievered within 5 mins. This was a fantastic family base. It was comfy enough to base ourselves at and feel homely, yet still smart enough to feel like we were somewhere special.

Room Tip: We were told we had a city view, but being on the first floor, we could only see it from one balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foxtrot-tango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear foxtrot-tango
Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. Myself and the team are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that you found the hotel homely but still tasteful and modern. Our mission is to deliver a home away from home and it sounds as if you and your family experienced this. Our location is some what iconic the shopping and the café culture in Surry Hills is something that should not be missed when visiting Sydney.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family once again to Adina Crown St

Many thanks

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Crown St, Surry Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We have stayed at the Adina twice both for around 3 weeks. I can only praise the whole set-up. All the staff have always been polite, helpful and respectful. We have always been happy with the apartments and service we have received. Surry Hills has great shops, restaurants and nightlife. Moores park is really near as which lead onto great walks. The city and beaches are easy to get to. Access to general transport is quick and easy. .So how some people can criticise the whole set-up and advise people to stay away is totally beyond me understanding. The write-up titled 'Beware - thieves and liars' reads like a bad novel and does not represent the Adina from my experience.
We are staying there again for 2 weeks in November and looking forward to the experience. We would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Taffy00,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. On behalf of myself and the team we very much appreciate your review regarding the service you receive. Your positive comments regarding the team are read with much delight as this is what they work so hard to achieve.

We look forward to welcoming you in November and please do come and introduce your self as it would be a pleasure meeting you.

Kind Regards
Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Our expectation was that the Adina would be a 'serviced apartment' style hotel rather than an hotel so we were not disappointed. We were upgraded to a two bedroom apartment although we had booked a one bedroom. The open plan living/kitchen area was light, bright and airy and the small laundry area was a welcome bonus as we were able to wash and tumble dry our clothes overnight. The bathroom was well equipped and included a decent hair dryer.
We found our apartment clean and the only niggle we had was that there was no tea towel in the kitchen!
The location on Crown Street is convenient both for restaurants and grocery stores so we were able to self cater easily as well as eating out. We stayed for two nights and would return.

Room Tip: Choose an apartment overlooking the pool at a high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuthatch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear Nuthatch1

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback!
We are happy to hear that the hotel and service met your expectations. Staying at Adina Crown St gives guests the comfort of extra space making it feel like a home away from home, we are happy that you experienced this.

We look forward to welcoming you once again to Adina Crown St

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 February 2012

I recently stayed at the Adina on Crown and highly recommend it.

Staff were friendly and attentive and more than helpful.

I stayed in a One Bedroom Apartment that was very comfortable and full of natural light.

Great location, within walking distance to public transport, the CBD and Darling Harbour. The food next door at Bills was excellent.

Have already recommended this hotel to family and friends.

Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Corinne0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear Corinne0308
Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. We are all delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your kind words regarding the team. They are very happy to hear that you found them friendly, helpful and attentive, as this is what we strive for in guest services.

We look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends to the hotel we appreciate your recommendations.

Warm Regards
Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2012

We stayed here with family. We had a two bedroom apartment.

Pros.
The location is very convenient, within walking distance of the city - about 15 - 20 min walk.
Also close to great restaurants and a fun vibrant part of town.
Bills - the restaurant downstairs is a great place for breakfast and the service at Bills is great.

Cons
The bathrooms were not very clean - there was black mould growing in the bathtub. Just looked like slack cleaning to me.
I found the decor rather stale and depressing.
The staff are not that friendly - you feel like you are staying in a youth hostel, not a hotel.
Internet is not free
Some rooms are very noisy due to street traffic
I thought it was very expensive for the level of service and quality of hotel - but maybe that is just sydney!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank global_nomad_pacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Dear global_nomad_pacific
Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location. In relation to your concerns about your bathroom I am pleased to advise that we have been re grouting all our bathrooms. Guest’s impressions of our team are of most importance I have addressed your feedback directly with our front office manager.

Many thanks for your feedback once as it gives us an opportunity to improve. If there is anything else you wish to discuss regarding your stay please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel

Warm Regards
Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2012

I too was part of the group that had the luggage stolen, actually it was a backpack with valuable goods. We left our luggage for no more than an hour and by time we got back there was a bag missing. The concierge had no remorse or empathy for the situation and offered little help until we got the police involved.
Our bags were not left in a secured room, rather a banquet room with an unlocked door to the street which was clearly the getaway where there were no cameras.
Not only did we lose luggage but we lost a day arguing to be compensated and in the end received nothing but a smile and a [--] off.
Aside from this, for the 15 minutes we did spend in the room, there were bugs on the counter top in the kitchen and the showers were dirty. We were thrilled to get the hell out of this hole they call a hotel.

Do not waste your money, spend a bit more and stay in a reputable place that isnt in the middle of a residential area with nothing to do.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
#1 of 2 in Baulkham Hills
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Address: 359 Crown St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street (formerly Medina on Crown) is situated only 2km from the CBD and approximately 6km from Sydney airport. Major sporting facilities of the Eastern Suburbs, e.g. Royal Randwick Racecourse,Entertainment Quarter, Sydney Cricket Ground & Sydney Football Stadium are 3km away. This apartment style hotel offers a choice of 84 fully equipped one and two bedroom apartments with ensuite bathrooms, most with balconies.The six storey building completed in 1994 and refurbished in 2008, surrounds a landscaped courtyard with swimming pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium, and barbecue area. A variety of trendy restaurants are located on the ground floor and in the local area of Surry Hills.Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street specialises in small meetings with a choice of four meeting rooms catering for up to 180 people.Adina on Crown is right in the centre of Crown Street, Surry Hills, voted food `burb of the year for 1998 according to Terry Durack - editor of the Sydney Morning Herald's Good Living Section. This food extravaganza begins with Bills 2 on the ground floor of Adina on Crown and extends through to Billy Kwong, Marque, The Dolphin, Fifi's, The Organic Grocer and the refurbished Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing