We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Ranked #57 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
1 review
“Superb Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

I stayed for two nights, and received spectacular service from reception at check in to check out.

The apartment had city views that you would expect to pay a fortune at other hotels, and the I did not even feel I was staying in the one of the busiest cities in the world. The balcony was amazing and the room had everything I needed to make the stay a comfortable one.

I highly recommended this accomodation to anyone who likes a home from home, and close to Sydney's best spots including restaurants and party spots.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charbz Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Charbz Z

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. The team at Adina are delighted to hear that you were pleased with their service as this is what we strive for.

Reading your review its sounds as though you truly experienced the Adina concept providing our guests a “home away from home” but still giving that feel you are staying in a stylish hotel. Crown St is a vibrant and cultured St and it looks like you took advantage of our great location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St soon!

Warm Regards

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Crown St, Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    330
    355
    110
    36
    25
See reviews for
278
137
37
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

I stayed here when it was the Medina.
I loved the hotel but have only been the once, several years ago.

The one bedroom suite was nice and stylish, couldn't be happier.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbedByCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. We are all happy to hear you that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Crown St soon.

Warm Regards
Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Crown St, Sydney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
194 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Staying at the Adina was perfect. Close to all the city apointments I had in Sydney and at night the number of great restaurants around was fantastic.
My apartment had great space. Good size kitchen with all brand new appliances. Silent room with a balcony to the internal part of the building, looking at the pool.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maurorisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Maurorisch

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. Reading your review brings much delight to myself and the team at Adina Crown St. We aim to provide a product that is “a home away from home” in a well positioned locations and it sounds as though you experienced this. On your next trip to Sydney be on the look out for new locations of our Adina Apartment Hotels. We have two under construction at the moment, one being in the iconic suburb of Bondi Beach.

We look forward to welcoming you once again!

Many Thanks

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Crown St, Surry Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We stayed at The Adina Feb.2012. The hotel was very clean and rooms included lounge and kitchen area and was suprisingly spacious, only slight moan was it was very business-like in appearance with battleship grey walls, but the best thing is the area it was in was very trendy with great little boutique style shops and lots of good restaurants away from the hustle and bustle of the main shops but still close enough to walk to Darling Harbour-would recommend

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tess317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

As a family of four adults we based ourselves here for five days. Surry Hills is a fabulous are full of shops, bars and cafes. This is great but at nighttime it is very noisy, especially at weekends, particularly as our room was overlooking some busy spots on Crown Street.

THe room itself was modern and spacious with decent furniture and comfy beds. The kitchen was good enough to be self contained but was a bit sparse on kitchen stuff. Two bathrooms between four was great though hoever there were a few niggly issues with the shower door and loose taps. THis is being a bit pedantic but i would say overall it is in need of a bit of attention.

Room Tip: Avoid a room overlooking Crown St
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rjwilln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, 20 March 2012
Dear Rjwilln

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. We are happy to hear that you found the hotel to be modern spacious and comprise comfortable bedding. In relation to your comment regarding the kitchen utensils please note we have many spare items. Next time you stay please feel free to call reception if you require any additional items, they would be more than happy to organise them to be brought up. I am disappointed to hear that you found your room noisy, if you do choose to stay at the hotel again enquire about our city view rooms. These rooms are on the opposite side of the building offering stunning views of the city.

Thank you once again and hope to welcome you and your family to the hotel in the near future.

Warm Regards

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Crown St, Surry Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We based ourselves here for a week while my husband was working nearby in Surry Hills. We have two small children (aged 3 and 5) so I had initial reservations about being further away from the main tourist sites, but it actually worked very well. Surry Hills is a nice area with lots of shops and cafes, there's a playground just down the road. It's on a bus route direct to circular quay and also to Coogee beach. It's a 10 minute downhill walk to the Central train station (probably quicker without children in tow) though too steep for my children to walk back after a day of sightseeing, so we tended to catch taxis and buses back. Lovely pool for children. Room was great - had a laundry, two bedrooms both with ensuites, great lounge. Kitchen was well equipped - missing some obvious things (e.g. grater) but when I asked for them, they were delievered within 5 mins. This was a fantastic family base. It was comfy enough to base ourselves at and feel homely, yet still smart enough to feel like we were somewhere special.

Room Tip: We were told we had a city view, but being on the first floor, we could only see it from one balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foxtrot-tango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, 12 March 2012
Dear foxtrot-tango
Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. Myself and the team are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are glad that you found the hotel homely but still tasteful and modern. Our mission is to deliver a home away from home and it sounds as if you and your family experienced this. Our location is some what iconic the shopping and the café culture in Surry Hills is something that should not be missed when visiting Sydney.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family once again to Adina Crown St

Many thanks

Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Crown St, Surry Hills
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We have stayed at the Adina twice both for around 3 weeks. I can only praise the whole set-up. All the staff have always been polite, helpful and respectful. We have always been happy with the apartments and service we have received. Surry Hills has great shops, restaurants and nightlife. Moores park is really near as which lead onto great walks. The city and beaches are easy to get to. Access to general transport is quick and easy. .So how some people can criticise the whole set-up and advise people to stay away is totally beyond me understanding. The write-up titled 'Beware - thieves and liars' reads like a bad novel and does not represent the Adina from my experience.
We are staying there again for 2 weeks in November and looking forward to the experience. We would not stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffy000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph S, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear Taffy00,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. On behalf of myself and the team we very much appreciate your review regarding the service you receive. Your positive comments regarding the team are read with much delight as this is what they work so hard to achieve.

We look forward to welcoming you in November and please do come and introduce your self as it would be a pleasure meeting you.

Kind Regards
Joseph Stipo
Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown St
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sydney
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Medina Serviced Apartments Martin Place
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
#1 of 2 in Baulkham Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills

Property: Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Address: 359 Crown St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street (formerly Medina on Crown) is situated only 2km from the CBD and approximately 6km from Sydney airport. Major sporting facilities of the Eastern Suburbs, e.g. Royal Randwick Racecourse,Entertainment Quarter, Sydney Cricket Ground & Sydney Football Stadium are 3km away. This apartment style hotel offers a choice of 84 fully equipped one and two bedroom apartments with ensuite bathrooms, most with balconies.The six storey building completed in 1994 and refurbished in 2008, surrounds a landscaped courtyard with swimming pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium, and barbecue area. A variety of trendy restaurants are located on the ground floor and in the local area of Surry Hills.Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street specialises in small meetings with a choice of four meeting rooms catering for up to 180 people.Adina on Crown is right in the centre of Crown Street, Surry Hills, voted food `burb of the year for 1998 according to Terry Durack - editor of the Sydney Morning Herald's Good Living Section. This food extravaganza begins with Bills 2 on the ground floor of Adina on Crown and extends through to Billy Kwong, Marque, The Dolphin, Fifi's, The Organic Grocer and the refurbished Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing