We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every expense spared but just fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills
Ranked #60 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Very well located but you pay a lot for absolutely everything and they only just deliver. That said, the staff service must be commended. They were helpful, professional and friendly. It irritates me to pay AUD 26 per day for wifi - surely one of the most expensive rates in the world. The one bedroom apartment is spacious and I chose it for the washing machine (!!!) and also enjoyed a well enough equipped kitchen with dishwasher. There were no extras though - no lamp in the lounge, no bedside clock, $4.50 for a sachet of washing powder, worn out towels and an old shower head that barely dribbled water, although they did replace it when I complained. There was no blanket in the bedroom and the heat pumps blew out cold air. Billy's downstairs is a well known and excellent cafe and there are wonderful restaurants along Crown Street. My room faced Crown Street but this was only a noise issue on Friday night. Great to have parking although it added up at $35 per day but this is cheap by Sydney standards. I would stay at Adina again for the service and location but expect the bare minimum out of the room and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Crown street is noisy on a Friday night so opt for another outlook if staying there the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin A, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Elizabeth T,
Thank you for taking the time to post your detailed comments about your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street.
We apologise for failing to provide you with a fully enjoyable and memorable experience. We do value your constructive feedback as it allows us to improve the service which we deliver to our valued guests.
Thank you for your comments in regards to the service I will make sure this is passed onto our team.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Kristin Alderman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,077)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 1,077 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2013

The Adina is in a great location in Surry Hills. The main shopping/cafe area of Surry Hills is right outside your door. It is also in close location to the football stadium, the city and the shopping area of Paddington.

We shared a two bedroom apartment with friends. The set out is really good - one bedroom as you walk in (no ensuite) and the other bedroom on the other side of the lounge/kitchen, with an ensuite so there are no privacy issues.

Self contained kitchen, mini-bar for us overnighters and washing machine/dryer if you were staying longer.

We were on the 6th floor and on the street side but traffic was not an issue. I am a light sleeper and did hear the street-sweeper in the morning but that was about it.

Basement parking for free which is a plus in the city. Only down-side, and this is a problem Australia wide, no free wi-fi.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nessams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin A, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear nessams,
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments about your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street.
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your experience in our Self-Contained Apartments. The extra space certainly ensures a convenient and more comfortable stay for all of our guests.
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards,
Kristin Alderman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

stayed in a two bedroomed apartment- great location. A lovely walk through Hyde Park down to the Opera House.
Excellent facilities for laundry, cooking etc. Nice pool to sit by and enjoy the sunshine.
Lots of great eating places right there.
Only annoying factor was the high price for internet access- really should be part of the room.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin A, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear Deborah W,
Thank you for your recent review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street, we really appreciate the time you have taken to write it and your fantastic comments.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel to be the perfect location to explore Sydney.
I will share your feedback with the team and hope we will see you again when you are next in Sydney.
Kind Regards,
Kristin Alderman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013 via mobile

We were booked into here for almost four weeks whilst working in the city. It's a great location and the staff are great, very helpful and friendly. We loved the Clock Hotel pizzas down the road (2 for1 on Tuesdays!) and there are loads of other great restaurants, shops and delis. It's a little mean to get a tiny milk bottle on day one and not day twenty one but hey that's ok but I did have to ask for the linen to be changed a few times and could've done with some better bathroom cleaning on occasion but nothing I couldn't live without. Great for a long stay as you can make it feel like home.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AFTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin A, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2013

Dear AFTLondon,
The team at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.
I’m so pleased that you discovered some of the excellent restaurants we have within a few minutes walk.
I sincerely apologise that the housekeeping you received was not up to standard, I will be sharing your comments with our housekeeping supervisor to ensure our standards are being met.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Adina in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Kristin Alderman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We had heard good reviews from family who had stayed here but it didn't live up to expectations.

Partly that was because with 3 children we had to have the romm rearranged on arrival (although the booking was clear), partly because of poor room service - my wife complained and we did get a better clean the next day - but also because of real challenges with Wifi.

We arrived with US phones that would not work so were dependent on wifi and a tablet to arrange stugff - the wifi was expensive, of very poor quality and intermittent at best. Being told by the front desk that $20 a day was normal in Oz and/or that we could move because wifi wasn't great at the extremities of the hotel didn't help.

This is a great location and a reasonable price for a two bed apartment but this is a service industry and that part was sadly lacking.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin A, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Peter R,
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street.
With regards to internet prices the hotel uses a third party provider therefore our pricing is driven by the costs we are charged.
I can assure you any feedback is of the highest value to us and I will share yours with our team.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Kristin Alderman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

We enjoyed the proximity of these apartments to the multitude of restaurants in Surry Hills. The mix up with our reservation was not a good start. We are annoyed by the Wi-Fi price gouging - $12.50ph or $24.95 pd. Why can't Australian Hotels and apartments offer free Wi fi like most European accommodation providers? Even a little old family Hotel in Spain can offer free Wi-Fi why can't the Adina conglomerate? Their key cards need an upgrade as they didn't work on the first attempt, or sometimes on the second and sometimes even the third attempt. The lack of blinds or heavy duty curtains in the living area causes the western facing rooms to be too warm on sunny days and glary when attempting to watch TV. We thought $4.50 for a little sachet of washing powder to be a rip off especially when other Apartments we have stayed at in Sydney are cost free. The choice of movies and TV channels was very limited when compared with other similar establishments. We shall give it another try - maybe we just struck it on an off weekend.

Room Tip: Some tenets complain about the noise on the Crown street facing rooms - aren't the windows doubl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wangary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin A, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear Wangary,
Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, we really appreciate it.
Lower costs for internet usage is something in Australia we are trying to battle and seem to fall behind as a country compared to others. We hope this will change in the future so we can offer the kind of internet service our international guests are use too.
We hope you will stay here at Adina again next time you are in Sydney.
Kind Regards,
Kristin Alderman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We recently arrived from the UK for a 5 night stay here. We had a 2 bed apartment and it was very spacious, clean and airy. A couple of initial minor problems were immediately sorted out by the very pleasant and efficient staff. It's in a great location, just a short walk from the centre but just enough distance away to be that bit quieter than the noise which inevitably comes with city centre stays. Still plenty going on in this very pleasant Surry Hills suburb. We would definitely stay here again.... IF the Adina were to provide free wifi in the rooms. The current charges for wifi in the room is totally unjustifiable considering what we paid for our 5 day/night stay. The so called "free" wifi in the reception lobby is rubbish and we ended up getting free, open to all, access stood outside a McDonalds and in many of the bars, restaurants and cafes, with a password. There is no excuse in todays world to profit from providing a service which is now expected as the norm. Come on Adina - sort it!
OK, rant over. It was a most enjoyable stay and I would highly recommend this establishment. Hats off to the staff.

Room Tip: high floor, city and pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phil p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristin A, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear phil p,
Thank you for your positive review of Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street.
I appreciate your comments regarding the cost of WiFi and should you return for another stay in future, you also have the option of using complimentary 30 minute WiFi in our Lobby on Ground Floor.
I have shared your feedback with our team and we hope to see you back at Adina one day in the future.
Kind Regards,
Kristin Alderman
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Town Hall
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#2 of 186 in Sydney
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Surry Hills
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
Cambridge Hotel Sydney
#39 of 186 in Sydney
4,583 reviews
Inner South
Meriton Suites Waterloo
Meriton Suites Waterloo
#26 of 186 in Sydney
2,283 reviews
Surry Hills
Rydges Sydney Central
Rydges Sydney Central
#79 of 186 in Sydney
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills

Address: 359 Crown St, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: £113 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills 4.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street (formerly Medina on Crown) is situated only 2km from the CBD and approximately 6km from Sydney airport. Major sporting facilities of the Eastern Suburbs, e.g. Royal Randwick Racecourse,Entertainment Quarter, Sydney Cricket Ground & Sydney Football Stadium are 3km away. This apartment style hotel offers a choice of 84 fully equipped one and two bedroom apartments with ensuite bathrooms, most with balconies.The six storey building completed in 1994 and refurbished in 2008, surrounds a landscaped courtyard with swimming pool, spa, sauna, gymnasium, and barbecue area. A variety of trendy restaurants are located on the ground floor and in the local area of Surry Hills.Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney, Crown Street specialises in small meetings with a choice of four meeting rooms catering for up to 180 people.Adina on Crown is right in the centre of Crown Street, Surry Hills, voted food `burb of the year for 1998 according to Terry Durack - editor of the Sydney Morning Herald's Good Living Section. This food extravaganza begins with Bills 2 on the ground floor of Adina on Crown and extends through to Billy Kwong, Marque, The Dolphin, Fifi's, The Organic Grocer and the refurbished Clock. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Sydney Surry Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing