We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cleaning was not done during our 6 day stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regents Court Sydney
Ranked #15 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cleaning was not done during our 6 day stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013 via mobile

The staff at reception were very friendly and helpful. The room we had was attractive and spacious. The location is close to King's cross station and a very good "market" type of shop. We thought that someone would have come in at least once to clean or take away rubbish. We're not too untidy and we found a place to empty our bins. The carpet in the room felt sticky if walking barefoot! As the days went by I thought it would be very unlikely that carpet could be clean in that room. We had never stayed in these "serviced apartments" before and we saw something about cleaning only being done on a once weekly basis if people were staying for one week or more, so we weren't sure what to expect. After our visit to Sydney we spent 5 days at the adina apartments in Queen st in Melbourne and the difference was amazing! Cleaning was done every day and the apartment was fantastic.
This could be a good place to stay but the owner needs to replace that carpet and organise regular cleaning!

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Dear Catherine B,
Thank you for you review on Regents Court.
We are blessed with very spacious studio apartments and close by markets / shops / café’s and bars. We are glad you enjoyed these close-by features.
The cleaning service we offer at Regents Court is a limited service, however, a 6 night stay would usually receive servicing. We sincerely apologise if this was not the case. We encourage our guests to come and see our friendly reception staff with any extra requests that would make the stay more enjoyable.
We would like to thank you once again for your review and hope to have you again in the future.
Kind Regards,
The Regents Court Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    85
    28
    11
    10
See reviews for
48
77
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We really loved staying at Regents Court. We stayed for a full week on a holiday and both the staff and accommodations were excellent. John was particularly helpful and assisted us promptly with whatever we needed. Our room was large and clean - we really enjoyed the full kitchen and dining area. Free access to the nearby fitness center was great. Also, the rooftop garden is exceptional and not to be missed! Many nights, we got take-out from the market next door and ate while watching the sun set from the rooftop. Perfect ending to the day. Would definitely stay there again next time I'm in Sydney.
Something to consider: If you're traveling with kids, the area immediately around the hotel (Kings Cross) can look a bit dodgy at night. Not necessarily dangerous - just not child-friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivelyJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Thank you for your review LivelyJen,

We’re so glad you enjoyed your time at our unique property and made good use of some of the facilities we offer at Regents Court.

We believe a morning coffee on our picturesque rooftop garden is the perfect way to start a day!

The Fitness First in Kings Cross is a fantastic gym and we are glad you were able to make use of your complimentary passes, during your stay.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff. We have a very friendly and approachable team who are only more than happy to help guests with any queries or requests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Regents Court in the future!

Warm regards,

The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2013

We visited our daughter who lives in Potts Points on the Australia Day weekend. The Regents Court Hotel was the best rated hotel in the area, and far enough away from Kings Cross. They certainly lived up to the high ratings. Very spacious and confortable rooms. Friendly staff - minor problems were attended to promptly including having umbrellas for rainy days. Great location. Very quiet and peaceful in the heart of a vibrant part of Sydney. Lots of great restaurants nearby. Perfect for couples staying if you are staying for a few days.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Max Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, 30 January 2013
Hi Max Z,

We’re pleased to read that you enjoyed the long weekend in Sydney as well as your stay at Regents Court, Potts Point.

We also love the vibrant bars and restaurants that Potts Point has to offer. Each of our staff members have their own little favourite spots and are only more than happy to suggest these to our guests.

Thanks for your review and we will look forward to having you stay again!

Kind regards,

The Regents Court Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

This is a great find. Great location, good rooms with kitchenette, absolutely fantastic supermarket/ butcher/ fish shop next door. We had Freshly cooked Prawns, gorgeous cheeses and dips. Easy booking and check in. Very hands off after that, although happy to assist if you ask. Rooms are clean. We stayed in a queen with twin. Very quiet but could open windows which was great. Air con was great in the heat. Table was very worn and should probably be replaced. Not the full complement of utensils. Bed was too soft for us. This is not five star but for independent travellers who want a clean, quiet and comfortable place in an excellent location, you can't go wrong.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellers408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, 28 January 2013
Hi travellers408,

Thank you for providing feedback on your visit to Regents Court. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and also enjoyed our convenient location. We are very lucky to have a really good fresh food, meat and fish market so close to us. I’d like to inform you that our rooms are in the process of receiving new kitchen tables and chairs! The majority of our rooms have already received these and the remainder should be replaced next month. We have also recently fitted our beds with MicroCloud mattress protectors. These are designed to make the beds feel extra soft and comfy, which may not be to everyone’s taste. When you next stay with us, we will be more than happy to change the mattress protector in your room.

Warmest regards,

The Regents Court Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maleny, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

I stayed in the Hotel just prior to Christmas to celebrate my son's 21st birthday. He lives next door to Regents Court so the location was perfect for that reason but equally so because of the proximity to public transport, restaurants and the city. During our stay I was so impressed by the assistance given by the guys in the front office during what was I time when I could not realy have been away from my own office. They were so obliging and helped so much to alleviate the stress that this could have caused. We had a brilliant stay and I just loved my apartment, the beautiful old lift and popping next door to Harris Farm for beautiful fresh foods to enjoy at those times when we were not eating out. The apartment had recently been refurbished and the use of space was excellent - especially the kitchen. Also the best bed I have ever slept in. I will certainly request the same apartment again for my next stay. Highly recommend Regents Court especially for those who prefer self-contained accommodation with excellent service.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regents C, General Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, 3 January 2013
Dear Kerrie K,

Thank you for taking the time to review Regents Court.

At Regents Court we believe that service always comes first, which means our guests are always looked after to the highest standard. We are happy that this has been appreciated. We are also happy to read that you enjoyed the area we are located in, our refurbished rooms and our extra comfy beds. It may interest you to know we have recently added special mattress topper to all of our beds. These are designed specifically for Boutique Hotels such as ours and provide extra comfy nights rest.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Regards,

The Regents Court Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
178 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed at the Regents Court over Christmas this year so things were a bit quite as expected. On the plus side: (1) there is a great market/grocery store (Harris) right next door at which we got all our groceries, (2) you are one block in from the Cross and all its colourful residents, (3) the apartment is spacious, (4) there is a view of the Opera House off in the distance. On the negative side: (1) we had an ant infestation in the kitchen and the only response was to look at the kitchen and provide us with a can of ant poison, (2) the internet coverage was intermittent at times.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has been renovated more recently. We rented two rooms and one was much newer tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmcnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, 26 December 2012
Dear gmcnab,

Thank you for taking the time to review our unique property.

We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay and the area that we are located in. We are well known for our generously sized rooms and are tucked away from the hustle and bustle of trendy Potts Point.

We were surprised when you notified us that ants had started to enter your unit from the window. We did have housekeeping go into your room to clean down the surfaces, while you were out. The issue seemed to be resolved; however, we did want to provide you with ant sand, as a extra precaution.

We did experience issues with our internet dropping out during your stay and sincerely apologise about this. This was an issue with the telecom provider’s connection and was resolved a few hours after you reported the issue to us.

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Warmest regards,

The Regents Court family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed for our last three nights in Sydney, great place, brand new redecorated rooms, all modern, great location in central Sydney and lovely roof gardens. Three reception staff all an absolute delight, young, friendly, chatty and couldn't do more to be helpful, ask them for recommendations about dinner and the local area. Fantastic value given the high quality and central location too.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regents C, General Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dan F,

Thank you for your latest review.

We are very pleased that you were able to take advantage of the location, our great refurbished rooms and our wonderful roofgarden. Potts Point is an amazing spot so close to many excellent food options and boutique shopping.

We believe that service always comes first which means the guests are always looked after to the highest standard and I am glad to read that the team looked after you.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back very soon in the near distance.

Warmest regards,

The Regents Court family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#41 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Quest Potts Point
#70 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regents Court Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regents Court Sydney

Property: Regents Court Sydney
Address: 18 Springfield Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Regents Court - by 8Hotels)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Regents Court Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regents Court Sydney is located in an original 1920s Art Deco building in the heart of Potts Point and just a stone's throw away from the CBD. Enjoy the perfect privacy of an oversized studio apartment in a building that has retained and enhanced the original features reminiscent of New York brownstones. More than just a hotel, Regents Court evokes all the charm and soul of a personalized inner-city pad. A fusion of old and new, each studio has abundant space, muted colours, classic modern furniture and contemporary artworks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regents Court Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regents Court - By 8 Hotel Sydney
Regents Hotel Court
Regents Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing