We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regents Court Sydney
Ranked #14 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
202 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

I loved the art deco style and general ambiance of this place, spacious rooms and tastefully decorated. Really comfortable bed, useful kitchen and the online deal I received made it terrific value. Only downside was the wifi was poor and apartments aren't serviced on shorter stays. It's tucked away behind the main drag at Kings Cross which makes it convenient but not for everyone, so only stay here if you're comfortable walking through the Cross. There's no noise and it's surprisingly quiet though. Very impressed

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Glyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hello Wililamsontheroad,
Thank you for your recent review of Regents Court. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us.
We are glad to read you enjoyed the deco at Regents Court. The building is very art-deco and it’s great to read that you appreciated it. Did you know that Regents Court was and still is the hotel of choice for many performing artists? Before a hotel, Regents Court was an artist’s commune.
Although we don’t provide an every-day room cleaning service, we always encourage our guests to see us with any requests that may make their stay more enjoyable.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Warm regards,
The Regents Court Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    85
    28
    11
    10
See reviews for
48
77
25
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed here in march, stayed about 9 days, traveled North for a few days then came back for 5 more days . Great place. Even though it is minutes from Kings Cross it is quiet. Recommended place to stay. you won't be disappointed

Room Tip: no pool but no matter,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Hello J L,
Thank you for your review of Regents Court. We’re sure readers will appreciate your personal insight.
We pride ourselves on friendly customer service so we are so glad to read that you appreciated this.
We are located in Potts Point, only a short walk from Kings Cross. Although the area is known for it’s lively night life, we are tucked away from it, so guests can be guaranteed a good night’s rest.
We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Best wishes,
The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel is well located, only 5 min to Kingscross station.It took approxiamately 20 min to get to Circular Quay. Although it is not 24hr service you have your own keys & a contact number.The staff were exremely polite & efficient.

Room Tip: The room was a great,plenty of room for our luggage & a good size bathroom.It even had a kitchen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Christa28,
Thank you for your recent review of Regents Court.
We are so glad to read that you found our location handy! We agree that Potts Point offers some of the easiest access to Sydney’s great sights, along with a retreat from the crowded and busy CBD.
We are extremely flattered that found our customer service impressive. We pride ourselves on customer service that is second-to-none so we are glad that this has been appreciated.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Regents Court in the future.
Best regards,
The Regents Court Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Regents Court for 2 weeks for a work trip. I got a beautiful third floor apartment with a bay window that looked down onto a tree lined street. The room was spacious and clean. A little old, but it had character and nice Art Deco features. The rooftop garden was beautiful and a relaxing escape after a busy day. The only shame is that it closes when the reception does at 8pm. Very close to transport or a 30 min walk to the
middle of the city or harbour. The staff were really helpful and friendly. I checked out a few other places while I was in Sydney and this place was the best value I saw. It felt like home. I would definitely stay here again. Right in kings cross but quiet. Thanks for a very nice stay.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubisolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Rubisolo,
Thank you for your recent review of Regents Court. We are sure readers will appreciate your insight.
Unfortunately, due to liability reasons we are unable to leave the rooftop open after reception hours. Although this is the case, guests can spend as much time on the roof a they would like during reception hours and can also utilise the bbq facilities on the roof. We have cooking utensils at reception for guests to borrow.
Wehoep to greet you again at Regents Court inthe near future.
Best wishes,
The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I reached the Regents Court in Sydney as part of the last leg of my Holiday with my Family after being to Melbourne (Kyneton Bushland Resort) & Gold Coast (Tiki Village). Obviously I was a little disappointed when I started to compare my stay at the other 2 places. My disappointment vanished slowly but steadily mainly due to the very Friendly Staff (I must give a special mention to all the 3 of them whom I interacted with). The Hotel is a very old building and we had squeaky floors in both the rooms I had taken. I was hugely disappointed that even though I had booked 2 units 2 months in advance and I had made special requests for adjoining rooms since we were a single family I was still give rooms in 2 different wings of the same floor. This led to us walking across the wings every time we had to meet each other within our family itself. This apart I felt the place deserves a good review in terms of location (Kings Cross Station is just about 2 minutes walk). The location of the Hotel is very quite and surprisingly just 1 street away is very busy with lots of night life. The place is definitely value for money and since I was comparing initially with the other places I stayed in (Melbourne & Gold Coast) I felt later that I was not justified in comparing like this. Since we are from India & we were a Family of 6 we needed some cooking utensils extra & the Staff were very quick in helping us out with a smile on their face. My special mention once again to the staff there. Over all I must say that I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PREM_LUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Prem_Lux,
Thank you for leaving your review of Regents Court. We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are pleased to read that you found the property to be good value for money, but we are most flattered to read that are staff looked after your family during your stay. We strive to offer the best customer service and are pleased that this has been appreciated.
We must apologies for not having room’s side-by-side for your family. Not all of the apartments at Regents Court are apart of the hotel pool, so this can be quite tricky to offer. We hope that having the rooms on the same floor helped any inconvenience this may have caused.
We hope to see you at Regents Court again in the future.
Best wishes,
The Regents Court Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

I can recommend room 44 and catch a glimpse of the opera house. You can nip up the stairs to the roof deck, which has a Beefeater gas BBQ, check the postcard views of Sydneys cityscape, bridge, harbour glimpses and opera house peaks. A great place to sit with a bottle of pinot gris no matter the weather. There's a harris farm markets next door which has a wet bar seafood. Yes the dodgy cross is only 200 metres away but its not a worry

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hello Mark B,
Thank you for your recent review of Regents Court.
It's nice to read that you enjoyed the views from your room, as well as our Rooftop Garden. Did you know that there are over 100 pot plants on our rooftop garden?
We look forward to having you stay with us again.
Kind regards,
The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We felt very welcome from the moment we stepped into the building. Reception staff were friendly and explained services and features clearly. Our room offered great views of Sydney and - most importantly - the hotel is right in the heart of Kings Cross, but just far enough down a side street to be quiet at night. The building and our room were well presented, clean and attractive with a historic feel. Would definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor room at the front for the best views and quietest sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regents C, Front Office Manager at Regents Court Sydney, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Hello Warren R,
Thank you for your recent review of Regents Court. We are so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Did you know that we also have a lovely rooftop garden? This is open to guests during reception hours and we think this is the perfect spot to enjoy a hot drink over the coming cooler months.
We look forward to having you stay again soon!
Best wishes,
The Regents Court Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#40 of 174 in Sydney
801 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 174 in Sydney
1,035 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
5,274 reviews
Quest Potts Point
#71 of 174 in Sydney
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regents Court Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regents Court Sydney

Property: Regents Court Sydney
Address: 18 Springfield Ave, Sydney, New South Wales 2011, Australia (Formerly Regents Court - by 8Hotels)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 137 Speciality Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Regents Court Sydney 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Regents Court Sydney is located in an original 1920s Art Deco building in the heart of Potts Point and just a stone's throw away from the CBD. Enjoy the perfect privacy of an oversized studio apartment in a building that has retained and enhanced the original features reminiscent of New York brownstones. More than just a hotel, Regents Court evokes all the charm and soul of a personalized inner-city pad. A fusion of old and new, each studio has abundant space, muted colours, classic modern furniture and contemporary artworks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regents Court Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regents Court - By 8 Hotel Sydney
Regents Hotel Court
Regents Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing